Find companies:
CAPTEL
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

CAPTEL Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Captioning assistant (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIMarch 31, 2014
Pros: scheduling, easiness, work environment
Cons: pay for parking downtown ($3 daily), boring
I word at Captel from May 2013 to March 2014. Great Supervisors that offer help. VERY FLEXIBLE schedule, perfect if you have another job or if you are a student. You can take off anytime really as long as you give 24 hour notice. You can leave early most of the time. Its a great job but...... BORING.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management staff and good work experience
Captioning Assistant (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIMarch 29, 2014
Captioning telephone calls for the deaf and hard of hearing, flexable hours and a friendly work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant work and job environment.
Captioning Assistant (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIMarch 20, 2014
Overall, a positive experience. Staff was pleasant, job was rewarding .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going place to work
Captioning Assistant (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIJanuary 1, 2014
Great working environment, friendly atmosphere, advancement opportunities. The pay is really good for the amount of work being done and you can get 2 raises a year!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking to find somewhere closer
Captioning Assistant (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIDecember 18, 2013
Pros: holiday pay separate from pto, double pay on worked holidays, flexible schedule
Cons: very strict adherence policy
While my overall job experience with CapTel has been satisfactory, I am looking for someplace that is a little closer to home as the commute to and from Milwaukee is getting to be a little more difficult than it has in the past. I have greatly enjoyed my time with my coworkers and the service I provide makes a difference in people's lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very laid back, easy to manage.
Captioning Assistant (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WINovember 24, 2013
Pros: double-time holiday pay, no-reason policy when calling in, convenient shift availabilities, ability to leave early, paid time off, 401k plans, easy work for decent pay, no dress code
Cons: low advancement opportunities, point-based system, pricey healthcare
I enjoyed this job because it was fun to me. I captioned telephone calls for the hearing impaired and I liked doing so because I was helping people. The atmosphere was laid back and casual, there was no dress code as long as you were not wearing anything offensive/inappropriate. Supervisors were often very nice and easy to talk to, ask questions, helpful, – more... etc. Co-workers were equally the same; generally a very interesting bunch of people worked here. I learned about working on a team, and even random facts through clients. The only time the job was difficult was when you were stuck on calls such as conferences where multiple people were talking, someone who was difficult to caption when they spoke or stayed on the phone for a long period of time.

My only complaint about the company is that they don't give you the feel that they genuinely care about you as an employee. They make it seem like you're easily replaced, and their strict point-based system made it harder to have someone be understanding/work with you when you were in a rough spot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place!
Captioning Assistant/CA Supervisor (Former Employee), Madison, WINovember 5, 2013
Cons: everything!
CapTel is a great stepping stone for any college student who needs to pay their bills, but other then that, it's AWFUL! I have never worked some where that has more drama than this place! The upper management is extremely inconsistent, and you can't trust anyone!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable place to work with good benefits and excellent training.
Captioning Assistant (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIOctober 19, 2013
Pros: a lot of extra time to get homework done.
Cons: attendance policy.
A typical work day would start of type of slow seeing that I worked morning shifts, which I really enjoyed. Employees sign into a cubical when you first punch in. You take calls for about 2 hours until the first 15 minute break. After the first break, time starts to fly past! You become very energized and get ready for whatever type of calls come your – more... way. The most enjoyable part of the job is early morning when its slow, I got a lot of homework done! I really enjoyed my co-workers, they were very enthusiastic. The management was a pleasure to work with because they worked with you and helped in every way possible. I would say the hardest part of the job for me was keeping up with the attendance points system the company had. When you accrue a certain amount of attendance points its becomes automatic termination. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay, not so good on hours
Captioning Assistant (Current Employee), Madison, WISeptember 26, 2013
Pros: $9.50/hr weak days $10.00/hr weekends
Cons: short break, only received 22 hours a paycheck (wanted full time)
CapTels work environment was very quiet peaceful. They offer paid holidays off and if you chose to work on a holiday you received double pay. I learned so much about working with clients with disability. I learned and mastered the computer voicing program called Dragon. My co-workers were really friendly. There was no hard part to this job. The most – more... enjoyable part of working as a Captioning Assistant is that at the end of the day I know that I helped a number of clients with hearing disability gain independence with being able to use a telephone by themselves again. They did not offer a lot of hours but insisted in hiring more employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, caring, helpful
Captioning Assistant (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WISeptember 24, 2013
Pros: casual dress
Cons: short breaks, sometimes long intervals between calls
I have learned to listen with a very careful ear. All of the management I have met to date and all of the co-workers are caring individuals who feel like I do in that I believe I am giving back by helping other who are not as fortunate and have hearing disabilities.

The hardest part of the job is listening very carefully to revoice conversations verbatim.

The – more... most enjoyable part of the job is helping others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Phone Center
Captioning Assistant (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIAugust 28, 2013
Employees have cubicles. A typical day is spent at the phone using voice recognition software to caption phone calls for the hard of hearing. The employer offers food on busy days. There are advancement opportunities to become a coach or supervisor. We get frequent breaks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse workplace with a positive impact in the community
Call Floor Supervisor (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIAugust 20, 2013
Communication is very open here with some room for initial advancement. Friendly work environment with flexible time off. The only downside is the compensation package.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy call center
Captioning Assistant (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIJuly 27, 2013
Pros: training provided.
Repeat phone calls using Dragon voice recognition technology.

Listening, and speaking clearly skills needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company
Captioning Assistant (Former Employee), Madison, WIJuly 23, 2013
Pros: you can quit
Cons: everything else
The pay is okay for hourly but that is the only good thing that can be said. The people they hire are either in school and working part-time or one step away from a drug deal or prison. People dressed in pajamas and smoked weed on the grounds outdoors and barely seemed awake. These were the people they chose to listen to elderly and deaf people's confidential – more... information on the phone-- such as social security numbers, bank info, etc. If you have this service, cancel it because your information is not safe. The supervisors were children and idiots with no ambition, and the job itself is sitting in a cubicle all day listening-- and repeating word-for-word-- what is often racist, vulgar, sexual, homophobic, or mind-numbingly boring one-sided dialogue. Uncomfortable? Tough. They treat everyone who works there like morons and to work in any position higher than captioning assistant you have to work at this hellish place for years. Not worth it, and they should be reported to someone for their hiring practices and how they handle sensitive information from their clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working for Captel
Captionist Assistant (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIJuly 22, 2013
Captel was one of my best jobs. I enjoy working in a call center setting. I learned alot about the captel system and revoicing calls for the elderly and hard at hearing. we had a very large work group so I was able to get to know any of my co workers. There was no hard part about this job. The most enjoyable part was being able to complete my calls – more... knowing i just helped someone out that could not hear on the phone years ago. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, professional, yet relaxed environment
Captioning Assistant (Current Employee), Madison, WIJuly 21, 2013
Pros: workers bring in food, flexible hours for students, decent pay
Cons: short breaks, cold work environment
My work day begins after the sun goes down. Working third shift, CapTel provides a much quieter, relaxed workplace. The call volume is reduced which makes for a less stressful shift. Also, working at CapTel, you are in close quarters with a lot of very nice, sociable people. The hardest part of the job for me sometimes involves a challenging call where – more... it can make you flustered. I do enjoy working there especially with all the wonderful people I have met over the years and I've learned that it's okay to mess up sometimes, just as long as you don't dwell on it and snap back from it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing and helpful work for those in need.
Captioning Assistant (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIApril 22, 2013
Pros: benefits, frequent breaks, relaxed atmosphere, good compensation, flexible schedule
Captel offers a cubicle environment that lets you have time to yourself as well as a controlled environment to work in. Just as many call centers, a call will chime in and you take it while focusing. During downtime you can do homework or read a book. It is a mentally challenging job as it takes a lot of focus and effort to maintain verbatim, through – more... a voice recognition software, what clients are saying. This work helps those with hearing disabilities. Helping those in need is easily the most rewarding aspect of this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Captioning Assistant (Current Employee), Madison, WIApril 12, 2013
Voice phone calls quickly and accurately. Nice company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy spending countless hours in a cubicle talking to yourself ???
Telephone Captionist (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIMarch 20, 2013
Pros: consistent schedule, voyeuristic, opportunities to read
Cons: boredom, supervisory inconsistency, low pay
At Captel days are spent in a cubicle captioning telephone calls. Your captions are scrutinized at one random point during your day and your entire performance is awarded a score which you can't contest or confirm. This is because all calls have a "privacy policy" which includes a confidentiality agreement. Management is inconsistent, the job site has – more... the atmosphere of a sad airport and the computing equipment is eternally in need of cleaning and repairs.

Your coworkers are a motley crew of all walks of life and can occasionally be one of the better parts of the position. There is virtually no dress code; piercings and tattoos are virtually required. The hours in the cubicle are long and desolate and the breaks are 15 minutes every 3 hours, like clockwork. Scheduling is very flexible with the hours you'd like to work, although adjustments to the schedule take over 2 months.

Overall this job is basically as-advertised. If boredom doesn't bother you, and you need a consistent job this might be a good fit for a while. For everyone else you'll start looking for another job as soon as you're transitioned to the cubicle field. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
captel not bad....
Captioning Assistant (Former Employee), madisonOctober 16, 2012
Pros: hours and flexibility
Cons: nature of the job
I liked working here, they have a good group of people that genuinely care for the deaf and hard of hearing. It's a super laid back atmosphere where the management doesn't harass you for whatever reason. As long as you do what's right they leave you be.