Cardinal Services Employee Reviews

Showing all 21 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work with
Receptionist / Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saint Helens, ORDecember 15, 2016
Has good contacts in the employment industry, good at matching applicants with various openings using the skill-set information applicants provide. Excellent wages.
Pros
Good job matches
Cons
Generally not long-term positions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible people
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, INOctober 13, 2016
Would not hire me because of a misdemeanor owi in 2007. Unbelievable! Do no shipper a closed minded company like this. To only pay $9 an hour to care for others is criminal. I feel sorry for the clients and the staff. They are monsters!!!
Pros
No pros
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My story
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, INJune 12, 2016
I would pick my clients up from Day Services and either go home and eat or sometimes go out to eat, go to the park on a picnic and walk. At home they would take meds and relax before their shower. We would work on their goals, play games or watch tv before having a snack and getting ready for bed.
I learned to be patient, understanding and listen to there concerns.
Most direct leaders were good, but upper management not so much. They were unfair at times, showed favoritism, communication was bad and very seldom showed any appreciation for our work and hours that some of us put in weekly.
My co-workers were great we all got along and worked as a team to get things done.
Hardest part of the job was working 2 shifts straight with no sleep, when any of my clients were sick and when they would argue about what we were going to do whether it be where we would eat or what activity we would do. The enjoyable part is seeing a smile on their face or getting a hug for no reason, and the joy when they accomplished something on their own!
Pros
health ins, free clinic, breaks, yearly bonus
Cons
favortism, communication, pay, short of help
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
DSP / Manager (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, INDecember 1, 2015
I love working for Cardinal. They are a very caring company and work very hard to maintain a positive working environment.
Pros
Working with the consumers.
Cons
Managers work way too many hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Apartment maintainer (Former Employee) –  roseburg ,oregonOctober 23, 2015
I worked with a great group of guys. they all had a great personally and was willing to train new people on the job at hand .we always had what we needed to do the job right an on time
Pros
i liked thecrew i worked with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst decision of my life
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, INOctober 13, 2015
I worked here for 2 months. In that time I was yelled at for not doing the job right and was put down daily and when I told the boss she just said I can't get along with people. Then I was getting 70 or more hours a week then told I need to pick up more overtime. And if I didn't they would sign me up and write me up if I didn't do it.
Pros
none
Cons
horrible people to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this Job
Direct Service Person (Former Employee) –  Bremen, INAugust 22, 2015
Enjoyed the learning and growing that came from this job. This job offers a different outlook on people with disabilities. Extremely rewarding watching the consumers learn and complete goals.
Pros
rewarding, great options with hours
Cons
politics
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible schedule
Direct Care Provider (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, INJuly 24, 2015
As a PRN, I was able to finish my college degree while still working to support my family. Cardinal Services was a great company to work for!
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace!
Direct Support Professional (Current Employee) –  Plymouth,INFebruary 27, 2015
Awesome company that does well in teaching the clients the daily needs they need to know and understand. Company is very consistent on their work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the clients.
Direct support Professional (Current Employee) –  logansport, inFebruary 3, 2015
Working with the clients is fun, but can be challenging at times. Some of the clients don't speak, so I have to try to them to tell me by pointing or by sign language.
Pros
working with the clients, and other staff
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recruiting company
Administrative/Accounting Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Saint Helens, ORMarch 4, 2014
They found me a position within the first week of being there.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Direct Support Professional (Current Employee) –  Bremen, INJanuary 28, 2014
VEry fun work atmosphere. Loved working with the residents.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my favorite job to date
OBRA Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Logansport, INJanuary 14, 2014
i loved working for cardinal. sadly due to the economy my position was terminated. very rewarding
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly working environment
Direct Support Perfesional (Current Employee) –  Warsaw, INDecember 4, 2013
Loved working for the company. Great coworkers and not to mention the great friendship I developed with the clients and co workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sometimes can be stressful
Direct Support Person (Current Employee) –  Warsaw, INOctober 6, 2013
I like working there for the most part. It does feel like more work when some of the consumers don't get along or are being difficult. I did feel as if the training could have been better it was more throw me into it and figure it out. I have two small children so I feel as if I am not getting a break having to deal with the intellectually disabled and then coming home to my small children.
Pros
working with people a group effort
Cons
bad health care short or no breaks little pay for what i do.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging yet rewarding
DSP 2 (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, INAugust 29, 2013
The most enjoyable part of the job was to see the clients achieve their goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Northwood, OHApril 20, 2013
typical day at work was very pleasant. I learned how to perform many tasks which allowed me to become a line lead and supervisor. Management was supportive and worked with their employees. Co-workers was very pleasing to work with. Hardest part of job was not having proper amount of materials to perform daily production. Most enjoyable was when my team performed great.
Pros
paid vacation & holidays
Cons
no materials to perform duties
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent career
Employment Specialist (Former Employee) –  Warsaw, INJanuary 14, 2013
This was a very personally rewarding career! Working with persons with disabilities and seeing them succeed was amazing. The management was fair and there was a lot of assistance from co workers and management.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with the patients
Residential Technician (Former Employee) –  New Castle, IndianaDecember 31, 2012
I worked with MR/DD clients and loved my job. I felt as if I made a difference.
We had weekly staff meetings to keep us updated on changes with clients
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weekend Job
Direct Service Professional (Former Employee) –  Logansport, INJuly 23, 2012
I was able to complete my 40hrs in one weekend. I loved the job due to having the rest of the week to complete other tasks. I got to work with a great bunch of people and also help the mentally handicapped in the community.
Pros
completing 40hrs in two days
Cons
missing out on weekend activities with my kids.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cardinal Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.7