Cardiovascular Institute of the South

Cardiovascular Institute of the South Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as worried about their employees as they used to be
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAJuly 12, 2017
Enjoyed working here, but the company is all about the $. The benefits are great, but management doesn't have a clue as to what really happens on a day to day basis
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great at first
LPN (Licensed Practical Nurse) (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJune 27, 2017
The coworkers here are absolutely fabulous and the company seems to care for their employees. That is, until you want to spend time with family and take off to see them. Management for individual offices needs to develop some emotions and realize that an employee's family is most important in their life. The fact that they won't let an employee take off without pay is absurd and inhumane. There seems to be some favoritism in this area. It would have been a long time place of employment for me had this not been an issue.
Pros
Benefits, pay, great coworkers
Cons
Management has no heart (no pun intended)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Insurance Claims Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAMay 16, 2017
Great place to work with great benefits however office manager is hard to work with and not understanding . The office staff is great and easy to work with and CIS is great at conpensating employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult to work for
Nurse Practitioner (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAApril 5, 2017
Learning experience. Would never do it again at this location. No family time, unrealistic. Expectations of NPs. Great for single person with no kids who does not mind working long days many days a week. Would be better if NPs were a part of the team
Pros
Office staff is great
Cons
Lack of congruence
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love helping people
Medical Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAApril 2, 2017
Love dealing with patients on a daily basis. Don't mind challenging I always stay goal focus for success. And being able to help my fellow colleagues is great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taking care of patient's needs and providing the best patient care.
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAAugust 30, 2016
I loved my job. We would check patient into the computer system and gather their information, copay, insurance and other information to prepare them for their heart check up. Send them through to the necessary departments in a timely manner. Understanding that when patient are maybe not so much understanding that them learning of a heart condition or maybe having a heart condition is not the easiest news to except. Our management was very understanding and took care of their employees. My co workers were very much understanding on what their job titles are and worked as a team to help patients get through their difficult time. The hardest part is making sure that every patient that either came to your desk to check in or check out was pleased with the care you provided for them and that you put a smile on their face even if the visit was a pleasant one due to their condition. The most enjoyable part is knowing by the end of day we all worked as a team and with 12 receptionist and 4-5 physicians, ultrasounds, labs and other testing done in our clinic that 300-400 patients came through in one day and the task were complete for that day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what it's cracked up to be
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  LouisianaSeptember 17, 2015
The only people really valued here are the nurses. Everyone else is thought of as just another employee. The job isn't for single mothers with minimum help. You're given 6 months of probation, meaning no off days to handle business or matters with your children for 6 months. The starting pay is low and your yearly raise is only $0.30.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work experience
Assisting Nuclear Medicine Technicians (Former Employee) –  Luling, LAMay 6, 2015
good work experience overall I would rate the job a 3.5 on a scale from 1-5 great management good benefits warming family environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
insurance department
Insurance (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAApril 16, 2015
Insurance department management is a joke. They act like they are professional but they are nothing of the sort. Petty and catty department.
Pros
good pay, good benefits
Cons
management horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My uncle owns CIS and everyone is extremely pleasant. I want to work here due to money issues and loving environment.
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Raceland or Houma, LaFebruary 5, 2015
I really want to work here! I am a very personal person, who gets along with everybody. CIS is a an extremely wonderful and trustworthy clinic! I want this position ASAP😃
Pros
Nice environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 43Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience for Students
Clinical Medical Assistant Extern (Former Employee) –  New Iberia, LADecember 18, 2014
I really can't review the benefits or Job security since I was a student during my time at CIS. I did enjoy my time with everyone at CIS. The learning possibilities are imaginable with a great and friendly staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Booming Company
Medical Records Clerk (Former Employee) –  New Iberia, LAJuly 21, 2014
I miss this company. It was a very stable place to work with job security.
Pros
Desk Job, Good Daytime Hours
Cons
Sometimes Hectic
Was this review helpful?Yes 51No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting company
Insurance Payment Posting (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAApril 9, 2014
Enjoyed my years there, after all I wasn't digging ditches!
Pros
decent benefits
Cons
need to put some people on a leash
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have mixed emotions about this place.
EKG Tech (Former Employee) –  Thibodaux, LAMarch 27, 2014
I would walk into a place that didn't recognize lowered paid employees. If you weren't a LPN or higher, you were left to the side and u didn't exist
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the doctors are great cardiologist and patient and caring
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houma, LANovember 26, 2013
I would go in at 7 am check my schedule go get my coffee and start my day with my patients, I would get my patients bring them to the back do my vital signs, and EKG,etc I used to like to make sure I had my morning done before I went to lunch, I had hour lunch breaks and I would come back and finish off my day doing the same things unless something happened and I had to switch and go to the treadmill room where we done treadmills then I would go there and set my computers up and get my patients and start their stress test
Pros
free lunch at least twice a month, we had meetings on new medications and company get togethers
Cons
we would take breaks in between our patients this is an awesome company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Data Entry Clerk/Research Regulatory Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, LAOctober 8, 2013
Entering billing/coding data as well as assisting in the research department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy environment to work in, everyone makes a effort to stay positive for the sake of the office and the patients.
Cardiovascular Technologist (Current Employee) –  Opelousas, LAMay 31, 2012
My days begin at either 7 or 8 am and its one patient after another, non-stop. I also have to generate preliminary reports for the physicians between patients. I answer questions from nursing and front office staff regarding testing and scheduling all day. I also check the schedules 2 days prior to verify any issues with insurance and diagnosis codes from the physicians. Management is really good, I haven't had any critical issues to arise. They back me 100% with my decision making regarding the department. Co-workers and I work well together. We are all women with families, sowe are considerate of issues with kids and as a department we compliment eachother. I couldn't ask for a better work environment. The hardest part of the job is juggling scanning and all the paperwork and extra duties involved. The other duties at times take me away from scanning or just take up too much time in general. I enjoy the patients. I also enjoy my work family as a whole.
Pros
annual bonuses
Cons
addon ultrasounds studies
Was this review helpful?Yes 71No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Producine and fun place to work.
Houma, louisiana (Former Employee) –  medical technicianNovember 3, 2011
I worked for CIS for about a year, this is where I learned most of medical assistant training, like manual blood pressures, performing EKG'S and ETT test. I liked the job as a whole, but had another job opportunity so I left. CIS is a great place to learn and experience what most doctors like and dislike because you work with 12-15 doctors per day.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 55No 11Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cardiovascular Institute of the South. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
2.9
Culture
3.7

Cardiovascular Institute of the South Reviews by Location