Find companies:
Care Initiatives
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8 reviews

Care Initiatives Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very caring environment, enjoyed working with the different disciplines.
Office Coordinator (Former Employee), West Des Moines, IAJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: people i worked with, warm and caring individuals. knowledge learned.
Cons: to much to do in 40 hrs, no overtime. just do most important tasks.
A typical day involved:
Maintain accurate patient records, enter new patient information, fax doctors, work with pharmacies, order and record all medication changes. Prepare agenda for weekly Interdisciplinary Meeting and make sure all signatures required were received, and patient information updated and passed on to the required people and copies – more... filed accurately. Copy and maintain current information for the nurses Patient Care Plans. Weekly reports, employee payroll and Accounts Payable patient information. Check eligibility for patients, keep admit packets available with changing required forms, forms up to date, policy books current. We covered 7 counties, so changing schedules was a constant, keeping on call schedule updated order medical equipment (wheel chairs, bed mattresses, etc.). Other varies jobs required of an Office Coordinator, petty cash, mail, order supplies, etc.
Most important things I learned is that that it all requires TEAM WORK. The other is that it is all about the end of life wishes of the patient. It's about what the patient wants. The team works with the family to help them understand that while addressing the family members issues as well.
Hardest part of the job was transferring to a new computer system, still in the process when I left.
I loved the people I worked with! We all worked hard, but in such a caring environment. It was so enlightening to learn how they would deal with different situations.
The hardest part, always, was the family or persons having difficulty putting their loved one in Hospice. Being kind, patient and empathetic became very easy the more I learned. Worked with Wonderful people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun interacting with the staff and residents
LPN (Current Employee), Pleasantville, IAJuly 12, 2013
Pros: great staff
Cons: no breaks or lunches at times, burn out of hours
I enjoyed this job, I felt the ratio of staff to residents was a bit high, making it hard to really spend quality time with my residents. I felt at times the management team were not listening to the staffs concerns. but was pleased with the fact that most staff were there long term. I would of loved to get more time to assess my residents and answer – more... the important questions they had, however 36:1 nurse made this complicated. Loved my aids and felt the relationship we had made a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work!!!
CNA (Former Employee), Dubuque, IowaMay 13, 2013
I was a CNA for a Care Initiatives for 14 months and it was the worst nursing home/rehab center I have ever worked in! The management only cared about money and not about the well being of the residents or the staff. I was only allowed one 30 minute break and most days I didn't have time to take it as I had 20+ residents assigned to me and my nurse – more... wouldn't help and the other CNA's had 12-15 residents assigned and didn't have time to help. We had many meetings about not getting documentation correct and if we got that perfect then we had meetings on how the care was going down. The headsets for documenting rarely work correctly and take away from patient care. Not to mention the 'leadership team' that was a big joke! it was their attempt to make the place bearable to work but only made more work for those that weren't on the team. The pay is the lowest in town and the benefits are horrible unless you want to pay $200 a month for one person. We had state called on us several times because the care wasn't up to snuff, but once they had a clue that state was coming we somehow had more than enough staff and tons of teamwork. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A non-profit organization that serves several elderly Iowas throughout the state
Administrator in Training (Former Employee), West Des Moines, IAMarch 8, 2013
Care Initiatives is a non-profit organization which owns several nursing homes which serve both urban and rural communities throughout Iowa. They accept several Medicaid residents which is a great benefit for many elderly Iowans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horribly ran and has declined in quality of life over last few years
lpn (Former Employee), cedar fallsFebruary 12, 2013
incompetent management. stressful environment, alwalys under corporate review as well as constantly failing state inspection. best job if you want to hate yourself for being in the nursing field

mccurrle – March 1, 2013

Hello. I accepted RN Case Manager position 6months ago. I left a major hospital, where I was a leader, working day shift, as an oncology/chemo nurse. Being a coach, and a senior nurse, with close to 20 yrs exp. Having trained 20 RN's in my career. I had also been involved with corporate, with coaching with affiliates in Iowa. After staring my position, we were busy. I had 18 of 21 pt's. Working over 60 hrs a week, sometimes 19 hr shifts, did not save ,me from the rath of the director at weekly mtgs. She threw me under the bus, for things she could have easily taken care of. I received so many phone calls, her yelling at me without getting a background, I lost count. Corporate thought I could not function, because she did not share with them, important information. Which, she told me, "I guess I should have". Director also talks about all employees in office, in negative way. Employees were tearful, not knowing what mood she would be in. I was always receiving phone calls from her, yelling at me. "What happened to that admit", I was with pt's, she blew up my phone, wanting to know what happened, even though I told her I was with a pt. Also, a trainer from waterloo accused me of lying. Anyone Even though, I informed them when they were here. I did't give up. I kept giving all I could give. Work hard, do my best. I improved, despite having absolutely minimal computer training the first 6 weeks. My director told me that I wasnt a good fit. Not organized I said., if I can be organized as a chemo nurse in a hospital, I have the ability to learn and be organized here". She still would'nt hear what I was saying. I was nurse #8 in 4 years. I had been told that previous RN's had informe corporate of her in the past, they were let go.

Keaton – April 5, 2013

I am a RN of 17 years, coming from an acute setting. The director told me "I can turn anyone into a hospice nurse!"There was very little training/orientation by supervisors that can not multi- task. After a couple of weeks, I was told to see patients on my own. After working a few more weeks I was told that I was not hospice material and should return to an acute setting. Can you care too much for a dying patient? Poor, very poor!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back
Medicare Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), West Des Moines, IANovember 6, 2012
I was the Medicare Administrative Assistant. The job entitled many clerical duties such as filing, answering phones, and assist others in anything as well. I also filed co-insurance to many different entities and also made a weekly deposit of the insurance checks that we recieved. I would then post the payments to the residents accounts as it informed – more... us on the explanation of benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start you work experience.
Assistant DON (Former Employee), Corydon, IowaDecember 12, 2011
The potential for advancement was good and the people that worked at this facility were like family.