Find companies:
CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
49 reviews

CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Politics and favoritism
Supervisor (Current Employee), MDAugust 25, 2014
Great place to work if you "know" the right people. Otherwise, you'll just be spinning your wheels.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive client to work for, they take care of their employees, and members.
CSR (Former Employee), Augusta, GAJune 20, 2014
My daily routine was to assist members with benefits information, explain in detail questions they may have had with denial of claims. I would take payments, prepare audits, medical billing and coding. Over all management was great, I enjoyed my co-workers and the environment. The Hardest part of the job for me was not being able to have insurance reinstated – more... for members at times, it was a heart breaker for me. The feeling and knowing I have made a difference in someone's life for the better is one of the greatest moments in any customer service and assisting people. job, I truly enjoy conflict resolution, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place!
Broker Liaison, Broker Contracting & Compliance (Current Employee), Washington, DCJune 1, 2014
Outstanding company. You learn a lot and the environment is very progressive
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with very intelligent technical staff
Senior Disaster Recovery Project Manager (Current Employee), Columbia, MDMay 12, 2014
Great place to work. CareFirst is a matrix type of organization that facilitates team work and team building across all facets of the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teleworker. Benefits are good.
Service Specialist Representative II (Current Employee), Owings Mills MDApril 10, 2014
Pros: compensation/benefits
Cons: minium growth
My typical day at work is processing and adjusting claims, along with servicing inbound and outbound calls.

I have learned to builed relationships internal and external with clients.

Management has a lack of communication within my organization.

The hardest part of my job is working from home. I love to interact among people.

The most enjoyable – more... part of my job is helping a client resolve an ongoing issue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Owings Mills, MDApril 8, 2014
Customer service representative assisting both member and providers with claim issues
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, Busy, Busy
Enrollment Specialist/Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Washington, DCMarch 18, 2014
Pros: wonderful co-workers and excellent benefit packages
Very busy work environment. Your either on the phone from the time you sit down at your desk, or your working on case loads that are pending. If you are interested in keeping busy CareFirst is the place for you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work overall
IT Development Director (Current Employee), Washington, DCMarch 13, 2014
Pros: job security
Reliable place to work with mostly the usual day to day activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Project Manager (Current Employee), Owings Mills, MDFebruary 10, 2014
Great place to work and grow. The management is very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and understands family
Accounting Services Technician (Current Employee), Owings Mills, MDJanuary 28, 2014
Training is always provided. I really enjoy coming to work each day and my team has by back and we work together. We are like a family and I enjoy working with them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fufilling place to work.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Washington, DCJanuary 3, 2014
Enjoyed assisting patients and providers with submitting claims, claims questions, and regulation information. Co-workers were always pleasant. Very professional and organized environment. Truly rewarding to ensure that patients concerns and problems were met in a courteous and efficient manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great professional work experience in a corporate environment
Market Research Analyst (Intern) (Current Employee), Owings Mills, MDJanuary 2, 2014
Company values ethics to a high standard. Overall great company and work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• Managed revenues of $105M across 125 accounts consisting of 11,400 lives
Underwriter (Current Employee), Washington, DCJanuary 2, 2014
• Managed revenues of $105M across 125 accounts consisting of 11,400 lives
• New Rating System design, testing, and implementation
• Trained new associates for reporting purposes
• Developed client risk levels through application of actuarial formulas and data aggregation
• Worked closely with sales to sell new and retain existing business
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits
Assistant General Counsel (Current Employee), Washington, DCDecember 6, 2013
Fairly congenial if somewhat isolating work experience. Could be improved if more training were provided.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Software QA Analyst (Former Employee), Columbia, MDNovember 27, 2013
I have learned a lot from my previous project.our management was great. co-workers were very helpful and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Large Group Underwriter (Current Employee), Washington, DCNovember 13, 2013
Conduct analytical studies of policy issues and topics to better assess feasibility and consistency of policies and to determine extent and effectiveness of accomplishments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Company with Great Benefits
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Owings Mills, MDOctober 27, 2013
Pros: paid lunches, pto buy up program, on-site trainings
Cons: bureaucratic
Carefirst provides compensates well, but benefits provided are top notch and included perks you don't always see elsewhere, like the opportunity to purchase additional vacation time and a 37.5 hour work week. They also provided training on-site for employees looking to grow their skill set. The culture can seem almost government-like however due to – more... the size and the tenure of some of the staff. Overall, a great place to work however. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to retire
Communications (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDSeptember 28, 2013
If you're looking for stability and to retire - this is the place to go. If you're looking for advancement - get your experience here and go elsewhere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not valued (current)
Senior FA (Current Employee), MarylandSeptember 19, 2013
If you would like to work for a company that treats you like you have no worth ...WORK HERE! I have been a contractor for a few years at Carefirst and they kind of value their associates but not there contractors. They don’t care about improving work situations. They invest heavy in new technology but not in its people. Most of its IT staff is in INDIA! – more... I hate coming to work each day. Luckily I work with nice people but the politics is crazy. Also they usually hire their friends! Yes I have often been told that open positions are for designated people. I would quit yesterday if I financially could. The most enjoyable part of my day is when I’m leaving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informatica mappings
Sr. Informatica Developer (Current Employee), Baltiimore ,MDSeptember 19, 2013
• Responsible for developing complex Informatica mappings using different types of transformations like UNION transformation, Connected and Unconnected LOOKUP transformations, Router, Filter, Aggregator, Expression and Update strategy transformations for Large volumes of Data.
• Implemented slowly changing dimension Type 1 and Type 2 for Change data – more... capture.
• Responsible for Error Handling in Workflows and sessions using Informatica workflow manager and monitor the workflow run and statistic properties on Informatica Workflow Monitor.
• Responsible for Defining Mapping parameters and variables and Session parameters according to the requirements and performance related issues.
• Wrote test plans and executed it at UNIT testing and also supported for system testing, volume testing and User testing. Also provided production support by monitoring the processes running daily
• Doing Change Requirement for complex Informatica Mappings with transformations like lookup, router, aggregator, expression, update strategy, joiner and etc.
• Involved in complete understanding of business requirement and involved in analyzing the sources to load in Oracle warehouse.
• Designed Sources to Targets mappings from Mainframe, Flat files, to Oracle using Informatica Power Center.
• Responsible for working with DBA and Data Modellers for project coordination.
• Created Connected, Unconnected and Dynamic Lookup transformations for better performance.
• Created sessions, workflows for the mapping to run daily based on the business requirements.
• Extensively used Parameter files, mapping variables in the process of development of the mappings for all the dimension tables.
• Worked on handling performance issues of Informatica Mappings, evaluating current logic for tuning possibilities.
• Involved in unit testing and fixing the bugs identified, provided data to the reporting team for their daily, weekly, monthly and quarterly reports.
• Involved in team weekly and by monthly status meetings. – less

1 2 3

About CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield

CareFirst makes health care its No.1 priority. The firm is a not-for-profit, non-stock holding company with subsidiaries providing – Read more