Find companies:
CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
43 reviews

CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Owings Mills, MDApril 8, 2014
Customer service representative assisting both member and providers with claim issues
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, Busy, Busy
Enrollment Specialist/Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Washington, DCMarch 18, 2014
Pros: wonderful co-workers and excellent benefit packages
Very busy work environment. Your either on the phone from the time you sit down at your desk, or your working on case loads that are pending. If you are interested in keeping busy CareFirst is the place for you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work overall
IT Development Director (Current Employee), Washington, DCMarch 13, 2014
Pros: job security
Reliable place to work with mostly the usual day to day activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Project Manager (Current Employee), Owings Mills, MDFebruary 10, 2014
Great place to work and grow. The management is very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and understands family
Accounting Services Technician (Current Employee), Owings Mills, MDJanuary 28, 2014
Training is always provided. I really enjoy coming to work each day and my team has by back and we work together. We are like a family and I enjoy working with them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fufilling place to work.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Washington, DCJanuary 3, 2014
Enjoyed assisting patients and providers with submitting claims, claims questions, and regulation information. Co-workers were always pleasant. Very professional and organized environment. Truly rewarding to ensure that patients concerns and problems were met in a courteous and efficient manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great professional work experience in a corporate environment
Market Research Analyst (Intern) (Current Employee), Owings Mills, MDJanuary 2, 2014
Company values ethics to a high standard. Overall great company and work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• Managed revenues of $105M across 125 accounts consisting of 11,400 lives
Underwriter (Current Employee), Washington, DCJanuary 2, 2014
• Managed revenues of $105M across 125 accounts consisting of 11,400 lives
• New Rating System design, testing, and implementation
• Trained new associates for reporting purposes
• Developed client risk levels through application of actuarial formulas and data aggregation
• Worked closely with sales to sell new and retain existing business
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits
Assistant General Counsel (Current Employee), Washington, DCDecember 6, 2013
Fairly congenial if somewhat isolating work experience. Could be improved if more training were provided.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Software QA Analyst (Former Employee), Columbia, MDNovember 27, 2013
I have learned a lot from my previous project.our management was great. co-workers were very helpful and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Large Group Underwriter (Current Employee), Washington, DCNovember 13, 2013
Conduct analytical studies of policy issues and topics to better assess feasibility and consistency of policies and to determine extent and effectiveness of accomplishments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Company with Great Benefits
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Owings Mills, MDOctober 27, 2013
Pros: paid lunches, pto buy up program, on-site trainings
Cons: bureaucratic
Carefirst provides compensates well, but benefits provided are top notch and included perks you don't always see elsewhere, like the opportunity to purchase additional vacation time and a 37.5 hour work week. They also provided training on-site for employees looking to grow their skill set. The culture can seem almost government-like however due to – more... the size and the tenure of some of the staff. Overall, a great place to work however. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to retire
Communications (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDSeptember 28, 2013
If you're looking for stability and to retire - this is the place to go. If you're looking for advancement - get your experience here and go elsewhere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not valued (current)
Senior FA (Current Employee), MarylandSeptember 19, 2013
If you would like to work for a company that treats you like you have no worth ...WORK HERE! I have been a contractor for a few years at Carefirst and they kind of value their associates but not there contractors. They don’t care about improving work situations. They invest heavy in new technology but not in its people. Most of its IT staff is in INDIA! – more... I hate coming to work each day. Luckily I work with nice people but the politics is crazy. Also they usually hire their friends! Yes I have often been told that open positions are for designated people. I would quit yesterday if I financially could. The most enjoyable part of my day is when I’m leaving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informatica mappings
Sr. Informatica Developer (Current Employee), Baltiimore ,MDSeptember 19, 2013
• Responsible for developing complex Informatica mappings using different types of transformations like UNION transformation, Connected and Unconnected LOOKUP transformations, Router, Filter, Aggregator, Expression and Update strategy transformations for Large volumes of Data.
• Implemented slowly changing dimension Type 1 and Type 2 for Change data – more... capture.
• Responsible for Error Handling in Workflows and sessions using Informatica workflow manager and monitor the workflow run and statistic properties on Informatica Workflow Monitor.
• Responsible for Defining Mapping parameters and variables and Session parameters according to the requirements and performance related issues.
• Wrote test plans and executed it at UNIT testing and also supported for system testing, volume testing and User testing. Also provided production support by monitoring the processes running daily
• Doing Change Requirement for complex Informatica Mappings with transformations like lookup, router, aggregator, expression, update strategy, joiner and etc.
• Involved in complete understanding of business requirement and involved in analyzing the sources to load in Oracle warehouse.
• Designed Sources to Targets mappings from Mainframe, Flat files, to Oracle using Informatica Power Center.
• Responsible for working with DBA and Data Modellers for project coordination.
• Created Connected, Unconnected and Dynamic Lookup transformations for better performance.
• Created sessions, workflows for the mapping to run daily based on the business requirements.
• Extensively used Parameter files, mapping variables in the process of development of the mappings for all the dimension tables.
• Worked on handling performance issues of Informatica Mappings, evaluating current logic for tuning possibilities.
• Involved in unit testing and fixing the bugs identified, provided data to the reporting team for their daily, weekly, monthly and quarterly reports.
• Involved in team weekly and by monthly status meetings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trickle Down Effect-
contractor analyst (Former Employee), owings millsAugust 17, 2013
Pros: goal achievment
Cons: malevolent mobbing and backroom agendas
remote work. Learning potential is high if and only if you do not share what you know, it can bite you in the butt in the long term. Lots of backstabbing, mobbing, sabotaging. H1B1 overflow. If you are a critical thinker, out of the box type you would not fit in, so dont share your ideas. You drink the kool-aid and watch out for Business so-called Analysts'/Proj. – more... managers' condescending scorpion stings that will get you out the door, because they have hidden agendas. Although through much back room checking, the sabotagers work is filled with errors, but they still have consistent employment with this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it!! If you work there you must drink the KoolAid!
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDAugust 6, 2013
Pros: benefits maybe
Cons: small salary increase if promoted to new position
I left this place of work in 2008 and then the organization was going through all sorts of changes. Executives, management, and employees were fired or layed-off by association or relationship. Even though I was neither, I find Carefirst lacking integrity. Who they call managers are not fit to be a manager by far... mostly needing more education and – more... training. BTW, I receive calls all the time from recruiters for this place only to turn them down. Hoped my two cents helped you make a decision. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secured job with many opportunity for growth both personal and professional.
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Washington, DCJuly 9, 2013
Pros: great healthcare benefits, paid leave and fitness center
Cons: no flexx time.
As a Customer Service Specialist the biggest part of my time was to assist my co-workers with resolving issues that they could not resolve. I learned how to train and coach effectively. Management was always supportive and opened to new Ideals. My team of co-workers was the best. They respected me and appreciated my leadership. I strived to resolve – more... all issues on a first time call, sometimes a problem would need to be sent to another department prior to final resolution, it was hard not to satisfy the customer on the first time call. It was most satisfying when I would be able to resolve a claim and advise my customer your claim has been adjusted and your check will go out at close of business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place to Work
Enrollment and Billing Technician (Former Employee), Owings Mills, MDJune 21, 2013
Cons: awful management
I worked in Enrollment and Billing and the management there is terrible it was the most stressful time of my life. I do not recommend working in this department..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great potential to learn
Consumer Direct Member/Provider Service Rep II (Current Employee), Owings Mills, MDMay 21, 2013
There is potential to learn a lot of useful information in the overall company.

1 2 3

About CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield

CareFirst makes health care its No.1 priority. The firm is a not-for-profit, non-stock holding company with subsidiaries providing – Read more