Cargill Employee Reviews

Found 1,150 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company
Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 6, 2017
Cargill Inc is a big american corporation, that influences the life of many Americans every single day. Its a nice place to learn and grow. I enjoyed my time there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Trimmer (Current Employee) –  Friona, TXJuly 5, 2017
very challenging as a trimmer in cargill,
work 8 hours sometimes 9 or 10 depending on cattle count.
good employees every day, no one ever hardly complains only when shorthanded
very good with management, i dont argue with anyone,
Pros
work with great people, pay is good, benefits are great
Cons
long hours, working shorthanded most of the time, product is sometimes hard to trim
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Instrument and Electrical Technician (Current Employee) –  Westwego, LAJuly 4, 2017
No Job Work/Life Balance. Scheduled to work 7-Days a week with no time off between rotating shift. Management can change the schedule at any given time without notice or agreement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the meat buisness
Technical Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJuly 1, 2017
I learned allot about the beef business. The care that goes into making beef products. The USDA protacals. I have a great interest in getting back into this buisness
Pros
love meat
Cons
very cold
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cargill Employment
General worker/Loin Trim (Former Employee) –  IowaJune 28, 2017
I started working at Cargill in the summer of 2010, experiencing cutting meat, and sharping knives. Cargill is production line, and factory life wasn't for me. I worked there for almost 2 years.
Pros
Health Benifits
Cons
No healthcare, short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Albert Lea, MNJune 28, 2017
Just don't. It's not a good place to work. They treat their employees like garbage and just don't care. The communication between group leads and supervisors is horrible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  hazelton PAJune 27, 2017
it is a good place to work but in an overall outlook you have no balance between work and family. you are primarily working 6 to 7n days a week all year long.
Pros
benifits
Cons
not much time off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you have no family life
Quality Assurance Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Friona, TXJune 27, 2017
This was a great first job as I just graduated High School and needed a good paying job. I moved up fast with the company and the pay and benefits were excellent. But as my kids got older I needed to be home more, as this is not the best place to work especially the night shift if you have a family at home. But it did provide me with a good liviing while I was there.
Pros
Great pay and benefits
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was my first job after moving to the USA. Languich barrier was biggest factor.
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Dayton, VAJune 27, 2017
It was good experience working for Cargill. I did enjoyed fast pace work environment and people from different countries. I had ability to learn quickly and move up to easier and better payable positions. What gave me desire to go to college and learn English faster.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good olace to work at
Loinbone department (Former Employee) –  Ottumwa, IAJune 26, 2017
I liked the people and the job it just was not what i wanted to do for a career. It was a good experience and i learned alot. I made good money working there...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe place
Line operator/ stocker (Former Employee) –  Lake Odessa, MIJune 26, 2017
operated a line
watched product
help prep bag sealers
managed boxing
hand stacked pallets
worked in many departments
helped fix mess ups
organized line product
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they make you work for your money
Arm Bone (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJune 25, 2017
If you like hard work and good money than this is the place for you. I work hard at this place for a year and ask myself why i'm here then i see my check and found out all over agian
Pros
weekly pay, food truck, understanding management
Cons
hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somos un conjunto unido para poder realizar un buen trabajo en armonia
Empacadora y entrenadora de gente de nuevo ingreso (Current Employee) –  Fort Morgan, COJune 23, 2017
Es muy buen trabajo con personal agradable pero la distancia es bastante y más en tiempo de invierno
Pros
Seguro medical union
Cons
Es muy lejos la distancia
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cargill
Inspector (Former Employee) –  Butler, WIJune 23, 2017
I worked for cargill through the temp service QPS. I was only paid 9.50 per hour but a lot of the permanent employees were paid 13 or more. The company was cold but otherwise I enjoyed working with the people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outsourcing Global IT forced me out
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Hopkins, MNJune 23, 2017
Great company with a record year, but in the end opted to save money by outsourcing functional work to consulting firms.

Would have loved to stay, but saving money is more important than quality work it seems.
Pros
laid back, good work/life balance
Cons
upper management crisis
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good beginning.
Grain Elevator Operator (Former Employee) –  Lacon, ILJune 22, 2017
A typical work day was not too grueling or strenuous. The stressful part of the job was the co-workers. No one was supportive and most picked on other employees. Being small plants everyone knew everyone's business and used it to start arguments. When you are 1 of 5 employees at the plant and are doing your job well, yet cannot catch a break while the others kick back and watch you do your job without the boss getting angry. Company paid for lunches frequently and provided great benefits. Only downfall was that the work environment was not suitable for me due to bullying and inconsistencies.
Pros
Free lunches, great benefits
Cons
Coworkers were not very inviting or accepting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good job and pay good
Chuck tremer (Former Employee) –  Friona, TXJune 21, 2017
Ita pretty an easy job just need to get the hang of it and have your knifes with a good sharp if your knife isn't with a good sharp you could hurt yourself.
Pros
They give you 2 breaks for you could rest and wont be tired
Cons
On the breaks you could eat go to the nurse restroom etc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still employed
Grader (Current Employee) –  Waco, TXJune 21, 2017
Still employed and work for a great company. I am looking to expand and make a higher salary within another growing company while I go back to school at nights.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Operations Analyst, Treasury (Current Employee) –  Hopkins, MNJune 20, 2017
Management for my most recent position was clueless on how to retain talent and did not provide opportunites for their most loyal employees which is causing more turnover as people move on for better pay and real development.
Pros
normal work/life balance
Cons
incompetent old school management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo medio.
Chillers (Former Employee) –  VirginiaJune 19, 2017
Es recomendable para empesar la estabilidad propia en el pais!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cargill. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,672 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6