Find companies:
Cargill
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
562 reviews

Cargill Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Deboner (Former Employee), Beardstown, ILOctober 23, 2014
I enjoyed the coworkers and learning how to cut various parts of the meats.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, not much for advancement tho
Microbiologist Technician (Former Employee), Butler, WIOctober 22, 2014
Pros: good peoplethat know their positions well
Cons: poor pay, no advancement opportunities, al actions monitored because they hire felons, very harsh hr work environment
Solid company but flew out for several positions and had them dissolved before anyone was hired this occurred a couple times in different states
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production supervisor/project engineer
Production Supervisor (Current Employee), Guntersville, ALOctober 21, 2014
Pros: large potential to learn and grow
Cons: work/life balance
A very good company to work if you wish to grow within the same company. the biggest thing Cargill seems to suffer with is work/life balance. I have met multiple new hires during my training who seem to have the same complaint. Most of the plants are located in small towns and around 50 hours per week is expected out of the job. With that being said, – more... Cargill places a lot of responsibility on the production supervisors. So you are exposed to a lot of aspects of production and project management early on in your career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
former employee eddyville ia
PLANT SENIOR TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), Eddyville, IAOctober 18, 2014
Pros: great people and team atmosphere
Cons: sometimes hours were tough working swing shifts
I worked for Cargill for 14 years and have regretted leaving . They take care of there people and genuinely care about there employees. The best part is you always feel safety is job #1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ventured
Saw Operator (Former Employee), hazletonOctober 17, 2014
Short sweet and to the point, make your money, i wouldn't advise long term employment, everyone is headed for the door, and don't really care what it takes to get out of there.

Over-all my experience with the office workers, and corporate was fantastic, however --- on the floor, short and to the point there were obvious discrepancies in how things – more... were handled on the day to day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard dirty work at a place that took care of you
Grain Elevator Operations & Night shift supervisor (Former Employee), Gilman, ILOctober 15, 2014
Pros: good benefits, great safety training
Cons: long hours with no warning and minimum time off
Cargill grain elevator knows what they're doing. This is a company that cares allot about the respect and safety for their customers and employees. A typical day at work at Cargill was always a hard working day. This was a down and dirty job. Everything was covered in dust at all times. I didn't mind it. I have always had the attitude that if I had – more... work clothes on, then it's time to work no matter how hard or dirty the situation is. I was responsible of inspecting grain, and how to mix and blend good and not so good grain into loading trains and trucks to meet requirements. I had also earned the responsibility to do allot with the railroad, and driving trains, hooking up rail cars and such. Every week we would change or fix conveyour belts, elevator shafts, motors, guards, bearings, and even hydraulics. Cargill helped me not only learn, but improve my skills in many different areas. Management wasn't the most knowledgable person in the field but at least was hands on help to get things done. Co-workers at my facility were decent with a few drama issues that would arise with the he said, she said stories that I did the best to stay out of. The hardest part of this job would be the long hours with minimum off time in such short notice. For example, we would get a call on a random saturday to come in to work on loading a train. We would work that day for 16 hours with 8 hours off until showing up the next day for another 14 hour work day, all without any kind of warning. At the time I had lived 45 minutes from home which got to be real tiring after a while. the most enjoyable part of this job would be learning new trades and being able to just show up and do my own thing, knowing that if I got stuff done and worked hard, no one would ask questions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNOctober 15, 2014
Management tends to allow users to complete their work without looking over their shoulder constantly. Work/Life balance is great with flexibility to work from home/remote when needed. Great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Nightshift Dispatcher/Loader (Former Employee), White House, FlaOctober 14, 2014
Pay was very low for what I did. This was the hardest job I had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Livestock Floater/Production/Inventory Clerk (Former Employee), Ottumwa, IAOctober 14, 2014
The benefits were great and the co-workers were wonderful to work with. Would probably still be there if I hadn't moved out of town.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working place
Senior Network Engineer / Architect (Current Employee), Wayzata, MN 55391October 14, 2014
I have learned a lot and explored new things in the company

a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the greatest of places
Maintenance Tech (Former Employee), Dodge City, KSOctober 13, 2014
I felt as if what ever i was doing wasn't to their standards and was constantly being pushed to the side.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience to work in IT domain
Windows L2 Administrator (Current Employee), Hopkins, MNOctober 13, 2014
Pros: free lunches and outings
Cons: good caring
Good Experience, fun with co-workers and management.
Had a great challenges to achieved
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to work in.
General Laborer/Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIOctober 11, 2014
Pros: discounts on meat
Cons: short breaks
I liked working there everybody was friendly. Everybody helps each other out and you learn more about agriculture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Line Packer (Former Employee), Harrisonburg, VAOctober 10, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: hot work
It was a good place to work, promoted from within, good pay, I became supervisor within a month
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere and great place to work
R&D-Corp Food Safety, Quality, Regulatory Affairs (Current Employee), MicrobiologistOctober 8, 2014
great 401k, health benefits, fun place to work. place of work to see advancements and they have 2 cafeterias for breakfest and lunch
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with a lot of benifits
Processing (Former Employee), PAOctober 8, 2014
Pros: insurance, paid vacation, paid holidays, meat trailer.
Cons: very hard work
I would recommend working at Cargill to others. While working in sanitation I got the satisfaction of seeing my hard work. When you walk into a room it has blood and meat everywhere. When you walk out everything is clean and it shines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A stepping stone
Line Worker (Former Employee), Ottumwa, IAOctober 7, 2014
This company was a stepping stone between jobs. First shift position from 5 am to 2:30 pm Monday through Saturday. Politics consumed this company even with a union present for workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, Global leader in production
Level III Corn Syrup Operator/Dedicated Trainer (Current Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 4, 2014
Pros: great perks, fair employer, nice benefits
Cons: swing shifts
Cargill, Inc. is a great company. There is a just culture at Cargill, inc. The employees are awesome. I have a cast knowledge in corn milling and production being that I have worked at Cargill, Inc. for 14 years. Management is really easy to get along with. They address issues in a professional manner. The hardest part of the job is working swing shift. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job is making customers by making sure that they receive the various products that they need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some management are not in fields they belong in.
Automation/Electrical/InstrumentationTechnician (Former Employee), Hammond, INOctober 2, 2014
Cons: eliminating the maintenance department
Cargill does not believe in inhouse maintenance thus they are eliminating the department and using all outside contractors. No one at this point feels much motivation. Very poor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miss working for Cargill.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Hugoton, KSSeptember 30, 2014
I loved working with Cargill. I was able to travel often and the company was very good at communicating.

About Cargill

Cargill provides food, agriculture, financial and industrial products and services to the world. Together with farmers, customers, – Read more