Find companies:
Cargill
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
726 reviews

Cargill Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cargill An opportunity to thrive and develope your career
Yard and Hides Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort Morgan, COJuly 1, 2015
Pros: Every day you learned something new, never a dull moment
Cons: Constant change of management
Cargill is a place where challenges became your adrenaline and motivation to improve your skills, and quality of work. Learning to take pride in the beginning process only makes best for the final product. Having your management's support when challenges would arise and pulling for you to improve for a better future in your career. Walking on to the production area is a little piece of the world with such a diverse culture. As you taught and worked with employees and co-workers you too learned many things as every day passed. Adjusting to diverse cultures could be challenging as language differences caused a barrier, but there was nothing more exciting then walking into work and being greeted by your employees and ending a hard days work as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
o Master Mechanic (Current Employee), Butler, WIJune 30, 2015
not a bad place to work, management are OK but still have to preform there job, usually we work on turning off fires as a maintenance crew but still preform preventive maintenance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forklift/line puller
forklift (Former Employee), white marsh,mdJune 27, 2015
Pros: wage was ok
Cons: management
here u pull finished pallets off the line with a gas powered lift.

i would recommend this job if your very good on a gas lift and your not of a different culture..these racist pigs are incredible. in there handbook its says they will provide a prayer space under reasonable accommodations i asked for one and it was down hill from there.


The operator manager is disrespectful telling me they should replace MLK holiday with Superbowl Sunday then when i made one mistake by leaving a lift on i said sorry this dude came back looked me in my face and said "don't let it happen again" its funny how they love to talk tuff to the same ppl they would be scared of on the streets.dudes a bit of an A-hole so anyway lets move on to the warehouse mananger.

first the manager told one of the old guys(tap dancer for the man) that was training me on first shift about my religion and he(the tap dancer)started asking me religious questions then because i was struggling with the gas powered lift they kicked me off in put me in production after 5 DAYS.

i thought that was normal there until they told me it happened to the white boy also but he was knocking down walls lol,i was just going a slow plus i wasn't properly trained.so anyway i spent 5 more days(you heard that right 2weeks total) on a standing production line and then was fired..this racist fool told me i didn't fit cargills culture(aka your Muslim and your not white)and when he sent me to production he didnt see a great deal of effort keep in mind with this job u stand there watching bags on a conveyor belt lol

so anyway if your white and your good on a GAS powered lift i would recommend this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Friendly
Data Analyst Intern (Former Employee), Hopkins, MNJune 23, 2015
A friendly diner with amazing co workers.Working at this this little joint was great and gave me a beautiful perspective to great customer service even when rush hour arrives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depending on which division
Material Handler 3/Machine Operator (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJune 20, 2015
Depending on which department or division you are in management really don't care for their employees. No room to grow inside nor with the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ability to see the world
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Blair, NEJune 18, 2015
Large Privately Owned Company with many diverse jobs all over the globe. Excellent benefits. Safety culture is highly regarded. Something for everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and under staffed
Industrial Electrician (Current Employee), westwego, LAJune 18, 2015
Pros: decent pay, benefits
Cons: No work/life balance, Poor communication, Under staffed, Poor safety practices
Work weeks are typically 7 days with long stretches with no days off. Pay is below average but Saturdays are time and a half and Sundays are double time. There is a lack of communication and empathy between management and employees. Management gets regular time off and expects production to remain at a high level even though employees have to work long stretches (2+ months) of 7 day work weeks with no time off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work/Life balance
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Hopkins, MNJune 14, 2015
Pros: cafeteria, coffee shops, awesome co-workers
Cons: people became unhappy and it showed in attitudes and work
Supported various Executives in a division of Human Resources, supported HR Communications is worldwide learning presentations and interactive town halls.

Company started outsourcing and reducing their workforce starting with IT, so everyone beame disengaged.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good environment to work.
Pallet Jack Operator (Former Employee), Springdale, ARJune 10, 2015
I a good place to start working a progress in life. The work is very flexible and i was able to get a promotions. I could have a successful professional life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ethical company
Sr. HR Assistant (Current Employee), Wayzata, MNJune 8, 2015
Pros: Very friendly people
Cons: Not a lot of free things
I enjoy working at Cargill because it's the most ethical company I have the privilege to work for. The best part about working for this Global Powerhouse company is the People. The people is what makes Cargill great! In fact, many will say that the reason they continue to stay working at Cargill is because of the people and the long lasting friendships that are made there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good money for location
Production Supervisor (Former Employee), Ottumwa, IAJune 5, 2015
a lot of days and hours, once you find the appropriate setting for yourself then could be a good fit, not always good for family person
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Up, Down and a bit Sideways
Mill / Marine Tower Operator (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJune 2, 2015
Pros: The Memphis plant is a very interesting place to work. I did like doing my job very much also. I really learned a lot about complex systems and operated them for many years.

Cons: This plant covers up and will NEVER admit its ragged and dangerous rotted structures are a death trap. It has been this way for many many years. Some of the structures and equipment crash to the ground and this company use fear as to make the people in the plant feel as though they are the ones that caused these things to happen. Many of the workers are so brainwashed and afraid to speak out due to most of the management team looking down on them and have actually said "they are dumb"out in the plant. Also complacency makes it seem true for some. This management group lie a lot and seem to be afraid of one another also. Speaking out with the TRUTH can get you in a lot of trouble out there. If not fired, then Blackballed for life. Good to know your civil rights at this plant also, because its union is a joke and dance on the puppet strings of lies that management whisper into their ticklish ears.

BLACKBALLED and feeling great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast-paced environment
Whole Bird Injection Pump Operator (Former Employee), Waco, TXJune 1, 2015
Pros: Good benifits
Cons: physically demanding
Cargill is a wonderful place to work. They value there employees. Work is not hard but you will be sore at first till you get use to it. Cold environment. I did have a hard time communicating with my fellow employees because I didn't speak Spanish. The job is very physical. You will get dirty. Good pay and good hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficiency and work flow
Production Supervisor (Current Employee), Nebraska CityMay 31, 2015
Pros: Free lunches
Cons: Long hours, Working in a Union environment
• Oversees day-to-day operation of assigned area including workflow, management of work in process, job assignments, and rotations.
• Ensuring improvements are made, metrics are tracked, and process improvements are implemented through actions resulting effective and efficient process flow.
• Ensuring all employees ideas are respected and valued, and their unique diverse perspectives are leveraged to improve business results.
• Using helix and MOC’s to track production efficiency and operations.
• Actively participate on safety issues, incidents reviews and project reviews.
• Partnering up with management to resolve work orders by using MOC’s to identify solutions.
• Improving production model assumption rates and efficiencies by collaborating deeply with on-site production scheduler planners and supply chain to identify and implement opportunities.
• Managing and administering employees Kronos
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cargill prison
HR Assistant (Current Employee), NebraskaMay 28, 2015
Pros: discount on products
Cons: horrible management
Their structure is antiquated and they manage like it is the 1950's. Long hours, and you often work weekends and holidays. Owned by a family so it is a private corporation, they can do whatever they want. Cargill does not have to answer to stockholders or divulge what they are doing around the world to the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF THE JOB
SYSTEMS OPERATOR (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMay 22, 2015
Pros: 4 DAY WEEKENDS OFF
Cons: ROTATING SHIFTS
THE ABILITY TO TAKE ON AND OVERCOME PROBLEMS THAT ARE WITHIN AS WELL AS OUTSIDE OF MY CONTROL BY WORKING WITH OTHER EMPLOYEES AND EXPERIENCES OF MYSELF AND OTHER SENIOR OPERATORS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co-workers
Blending Operator (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 21, 2015
Pros: great place to work
Cons: pay does'nt compensate for the hard work
great bunch of guys to wrk with, management is ok. Employee's should be better compensated, Cargill has a really good safety rating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cargill had it ups and downs
manpower temp (Current Employee), sindey ohMay 19, 2015
over all its a grate place to work at but as team I make more money per HR then a full time employee and the only way to get hired in is by chance but is you can the place has grate benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with high standards of customer care.
Global Product Manager (Former Employee), Minnetonka, MNMay 18, 2015
Pros: Good company with high standards of customer care.
Cons: Work life balance
Good company with high standards of customer care. A large company with significant synergies amongst different business units.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, with focus on employees.
Grower 1 (Former Employee), Fort Collins, COMay 15, 2015
Typical day was managing canola plants grown in greenhouses for research purposes. Facility management could have stringer leadership and consistency. Good family oriented culture with co workers.

About Cargill

Cargill provides food, agriculture, financial and industrial products and services to the world. Together with farmers, customers, – Read more

Cargill Salaries

Machine Operator
$13.75 per hour
Maintenance Mechanic
$20.88 per hour
Operator
$17.39 per hour
Production Worker
$11.13 per hour
Process Technician
$14.38 per hour