Cargo Transporters Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 21 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management team at Cargo was the best I've ever seen. Their employees welfare seemed to always come first.
Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCAugust 9, 2017
Cargo Transporters is an excellent place to work:
-The best equipment
-Excellent benefits
-Wonderful HR department
-Superior Management
-superior Training
Pros
See my review
Cons
See review
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
CDL Driver (Current Employee) –  Claremont, NCJuly 2, 2017
Receive load assignment from dispatch. Go to designated shipper to pick up load. Check that BOL is correct and drive to designated consignee (receiver) to make delivery. Loads are sometimes drop and hook. May do live loading or unloading. All loads are no touch freight. Communicate with dispatch that loads have been picked up or received and that trailer is empty or loaded and heading to net shipment location. All this is done while following road, DOT and company safety rules, regulations and policies. Must manage time wisely in order to make pick up and deliveries on time and not violate any DOT time requirements.

Family owned business and very friendly. They do their best to get you home when or if its necessary to do so.

The hardest part of this job is being on the road a lot but it has also been the best thing. I have been able to see places and see things that i probably would never gave seen with driving for this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As awhole
OTR Dry Van Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCJune 26, 2017
Good company to work for they need to brush up on some things however over all they take care of their employees. The have up to date trucks that they keep well maintained. They have great home terminals for the drivers to utilize.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
OTR Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Claremont, NCDecember 15, 2016
I love the company but can't stand the camera dead in my face and now you get in trouble for driving over 65 when going down a hill but other than that I feel this is a perfect company
Pros
everything
Cons
too! much safety equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive truck/cargo hauling business which required long dedicated hours on the highways.
Cargo Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Beckley, WVNovember 1, 2016
Productive and very busy cargo hauling business which required a very dedicated and discipline individual to meet company delivery requirements on a daily basis. I learned a lot while gaining good insight and friends along with safety truck driving skills.
Pros
family oriented
Cons
road conditions in winter time
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Loader/Unloader (Current Employee) –  Conover, NCOctober 11, 2016
Great work environment , everyone gets along great. Just hours are getting short. A lot of people have been laid off. The hardest part is lifting heavy safes. But it's really not that bad
Pros
Very laid back
Cons
Work is slow
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional
Driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCSeptember 16, 2016
Very good company to work for .
Some of the newest equiptment ive ever operated
The only fault I saw keeping the drivers moving
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Really Bad
Driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCJuly 11, 2016
No home time they treat you like your useless and you are forced to do about 13 training classes a year no you will not be home they work that in then you gone again for 6 days as soon as ur on ur way back home they set you up on a load 1 day at home then waiting on a load after you get ur @st 1 done they rush you hard but then you wait unorganized Co i see some of you have said good things but i have been ther and watch them talk behind drivers back watched them make a driver take 10 off when he was 45 miles from the yard then send him ti the yard the next day. the dispatchers/ secretary's really treat the driver's bad.
Pros
Too Much Safety
Cons
No home time no mile's hurry up and wait should be on the building.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok
Truck Driver Class A OTR (Current Employee) –  Claremont, NCJune 29, 2016
Spent many years trying get on with this company. Now wish I hadn't wasted my time. Not getting enough miles. Sit more then I drive most every week. They hire too many people when they know they don't have enough miles for drivers now.
Pros
Good equipment
Cons
No miles. Going broke. No miles.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They were OK.
CDL-A Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCJune 8, 2016
It was OK working for this company. I didn't typically enjoy it but I did my job. My codriver was really rude and the company doesn't exactly care anything about their drivers. Nothing was hard about this job, I enjoyed every minute of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, Trucks and Trailer
4 Safety Awards & 2 Superstar Driver Awards (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCJune 4, 2016
Very friendly staff that keeps their trucks up to date and maintained well. Pay is ok but could be better. Not enough weekly miles, only averaged about 1600 - 2000 miles a week during 2015.
Pros
Friendly staff, well maintained fleet
Cons
Not enough miles.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place with weight room
Truck Driver (OTR) (Former Employee) –  Claremont,NCJuly 26, 2015
OTR truck driver drove day or night and drove all 48 states got to see a lot of different states and to meet new people. Just wanted to be home more with my family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
otr job
Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCMarch 5, 2015
Over the road, not much family time lived 120 miles away from my park site. Just like many companies insurance cost was high so i could afforrd to work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A ton of unpaid work hours
Driver (Current Employee) –  Claremont, NCOctober 10, 2014
Cargo Transporters has good people. The problem is that the company does not have the preload network most other carriers have, so you may sit quite a bit longer than usual being loaded throughout the week.

The company utilizes an in cab camera that faces inside and out, in which they seem to obsess over. Some drivers have been known to get called into the main terminal as much as a couple times a week for "coaching".

They advertise .41 cents per mile. That's great, it's about time companies started offering higher pay. The one problem is......you sit way too much, and as we all know the longer you sit, the longer you don't get paid.
Pros
Good dispatch, Good equipment.
Cons
DriveCam, Lack of stability, Drop and Hook Unfrequent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 54No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to start out as a Professional Driver
Professional Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Claremont, NCJune 24, 2013
Loads are hard to come by at times. The company doesn't like to share some pertinent information with it's drivers. Really good about trying to keep trucks up to date with safety equipment, and at times seems to focus too much on that aspect. Not a lot of home time, you have to really push or give advance notice to get home at times. Generous with safety bonuses,etc..
Pros
Excellent health insurance benefits, safety program
Cons
too much safety equipment, bunk mattresses uncomfortable, unwilling to pay for motels.
Was this review helpful?Yes 55No 18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a driver frendly .
Regional Driver (Former Employee) –  NCDecember 6, 2012
cargo was not the company it use to be.It was driver frendly just 10 years ago but when owner died the son took over and it changed alott.
Pros
new technolagy and new equipment.
Cons
poor maint on equipment and cameras in trucks. they will suspend you at a drop of a hat
Was this review helpful?Yes 58No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Over the Road Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCOctober 2, 2012
Planners r very disorganized. U spent more time sleeping at stops than necessary. Maybe a shower every 2-3 days. No miles nowadays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 48No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for and very nice people
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCSeptember 16, 2012
I would drive the east coast hauling different items to different companys. I drove a tractor and trailer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 44Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company, nice boss
truck driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCAugust 10, 2012
good people, nice trucks, small outfit but was good place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 30Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
improving driver and company relations
truck dr (Current Employee) –  Claremont, NCJuly 16, 2012
the company is pretty well grounded for the most part and have pretty good freight lanes
Pros
between 1 and 5 rating i would say they fall 3-4
Cons
computer logging, slow vehicle, at times inconsistent freight
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 15Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cargo Transporters. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

70%
10 ratings
Add your rating

Cargo Transporters Reviews by Location