CARGO TRANSPORTERS Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Work-Life BalancePay & BenefitsJob Security & AdvancementManagementCulture
Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Really Bad
Driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCJuly 11, 2016
No home time they treat you like your useless and you are forced to do about 13 training classes a year no you will not be home they work that in then you gone again for 6 days as soon as ur on ur way back home they set you up on a load 1 day at home then waiting on a load after you get ur @st 1 done they rush you hard but then you wait unorganized Co i see some of you have said good things but i have been ther and watch them talk behind drivers back watched them make a driver take 10 off when he was 45 miles from the yard then send him ti the yard the next day. the dispatchers/ secretary's really treat the driver's bad.
Pros
Too Much Safety
Cons
No home time no mile's hurry up and wait should be on the building.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok
Truck Driver Class A OTR (Current Employee) –  Claremont, NCJune 29, 2016
Spent many years trying get on with this company. Now wish I hadn't wasted my time. Not getting enough miles. Sit more then I drive most every week. They hire too many people when they know they don't have enough miles for drivers now.
Pros
Good equipment
Cons
No miles. Going broke. No miles.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, Trucks and Trailer
4 Safety Awards & 2 Superstar Driver Awards (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCJune 4, 2016
Very friendly staff that keeps their trucks up to date and maintained well. Pay is ok but could be better. Not enough weekly miles, only averaged about 1600 - 2000 miles a week during 2015.
Pros
Friendly staff, well maintained fleet
Cons
Not enough miles.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They were OK.
CDL-A Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCJune 8, 2016
It was OK working for this company. I didn't typically enjoy it but I did my job. My codriver was really rude and the company doesn't exactly care anything about their drivers. Nothing was hard about this job, I enjoyed every minute of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to start out as a Professional Driver
Professional Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Claremont, NCJune 24, 2013
Loads are hard to come by at times. The company doesn't like to share some pertinent information with it's drivers. Really good about trying to keep trucks up to date with safety equipment, and at times seems to focus too much on that aspect. Not a lot of home time, you have to really push or give advance notice to get home at times. Generous with safety bonuses,etc..
Pros
excellent health insurance benefits, safety program
Cons
too much safety equipment, bunk mattresses uncomfortable, unwilling to pay for motels.
Was this review helpful?Yes54No17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place with weight room
Truck Driver (OTR) (Former Employee) –  Claremont,NCJuly 26, 2015
OTR truck driver drove day or night and drove all 48 states got to see a lot of different states and to meet new people. Just wanted to be home more with my family.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A ton of unpaid work hours
Driver (Current Employee) –  Claremont, NCOctober 10, 2014
Cargo Transporters has good people. The problem is that the company does not have the preload network most other carriers have, so you may sit quite a bit longer than usual being loaded throughout the week.

The company utilizes an in cab camera that faces inside and out, in which they seem to obsess over. Some drivers have been known to get called into the main terminal as much as a couple times a week for "coaching".

They advertise .41 cents per mile. That's great, it's about time companies started offering higher pay. The one problem is......you sit way too much, and as we all know the longer you sit, the longer you don't get paid.
Pros
good dispatch, good equipment.
Cons
drivecam, lack of stability, drop and hook unfrequent.
Was this review helpful?Yes52No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a driver frendly .
Regional Driver (Former Employee) –  NCDecember 6, 2012
cargo was not the company it use to be.It was driver frendly just 10 years ago but when owner died the son took over and it changed alott.
Pros
new technolagy and new equipment.
Cons
poor maint on equipment and cameras in trucks. they will suspend you at a drop of a hat
Was this review helpful?Yes54No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
improving driver and company relations
truck dr (Current Employee) –  Claremont, NCJuly 16, 2012
the company is pretty well grounded for the most part and have pretty good freight lanes
Pros
between 1 and 5 rating i would say they fall 3-4
Cons
computer logging, slow vehicle, at times inconsistent freight
Was this review helpful?Yes38No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Over the Road Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCOctober 2, 2012
Planners r very disorganized. U spent more time sleeping at stops than necessary. Maybe a shower every 2-3 days. No miles nowadays.
Was this review helpful?Yes47No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for and very nice people
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCSeptember 16, 2012
I would drive the east coast hauling different items to different companys. I drove a tractor and trailer.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No37Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company, nice boss
truck driver (Former Employee) –  Claremont, NCAugust 10, 2012
good people, nice trucks, small outfit but was good place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes19No25Report

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.3
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.8
Culture
2.9

CARGO TRANSPORTERS Reviews by Job Title

CARGO TRANSPORTERS Reviews by Location