Caribou Coffee Employee Reviews

Found 301 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Simple
Team Member/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Champlin, MNJuly 5, 2016
A typical day as a Caribou Coffee employee is making drinks and also conversation with your customers, assuring them that you are working on their drinks and also making them feel welcome to the shop. The most rewarding part of the job is being able to greet your regular customers by name as soon as they walk through the door, and the most difficult part of the job are the rushes in the day, where you can have up to 15+ people in the a line waiting for their turn to order.
Pros
Free drinks while on shift, discount on all items in the store.
Cons
No official breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caridou Coffee
Shift Supervisor/Manager on Duty/Barista (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAAugust 29, 2016
I enjoyed working with the great customers that came to the store. I was on drive through quite a bit, because I would awesome at selling the promos each month. I was so much fun.
Pros
Flexable hours, great opportunity for advancement
Cons
Co-workers were somtimes unreliable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Minnetonka, MNNovember 18, 2016
under staffed
which means lots of hours are available so that was good for me.
"
Only been in this store a few months and have had 3 managers so turn over is high
Pros
free drinks
Cons
no real break but being busy makes day go by fast
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coffee Expert
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Rochester, MNDecember 9, 2016
I worked at Caribou on and off throughout both High-School and College and then was an ASM after college for a few months after college. Pay is not very good, although the job requires minimum effort.
Pros
coffee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun job but management could be better
Barista/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Oakdale, MNOctober 17, 2016
co workers made work easy and fun
customers weren't too rude
hours were never set and very inconsistent
management could be better, regular team members did more then shift supervisors at time
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNNovember 9, 2016
Close employee relationships, flexible scheduling. The company culture allows for open and inclusive work environment. Customer relationships extend beyond basic customer service interactions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coffee and Coffee
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 19, 2016
Caribou Coffee probably known as Peet's Coffee and Tea's now is an great place to work.

Management and coworkers are always helpful.

No hard part about the job.
Pros
Tasting Products
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked at caribou
Barista/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Rochester, MN 55902August 31, 2016
Great company not so great co workers at the 2nd street location in Rochester but I enjoyed the experience and goals I achieved with Amy's blend coffee
Pros
Coffee, meet new people
Cons
Was terribly sick afew times and never excused:(
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture
HUMAN RESOUCES AND TRAINING MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn Park, MNDecember 14, 2016
The small town coffee shop that the founds of Caribou set out to create has gone away due to private equity. More responsibility and poor compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caribour Coffee Barista
Barista (Former Employee) –  Steele, NDDecember 17, 2016
Very laid back environment. Easy to work for. Able to receive time off if needed and they were always willing to work with my schedule at school. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Caribou was rewarding
Application Administrator (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn Center, MNSeptember 30, 2016
Working for Caribou was rewarding. I was given many opportunities to further my career. The culture is very supportive and the benefits were amazing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington/Metro, DCOctober 30, 2016
Starbucks coffee was my favorite place to work. It starting my management career. I learn a lot about how coffee taste and learn different ways to serve it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
barista
Barista (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJanuary 17, 2017
I loved being a barista. I worked at Richmond international airport and throughout the day you sometimes see different celebrities.
Pros
weekly pay
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNDecember 20, 2016
Fun workplace, good manager, good pay, flexible hours, I learned a lot. I made good friends, had a good boss, drank good coffe, had coffe whenever I wan
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun
Barista (Former Employee) –  IowaOctober 16, 2016
Being a barista was so Duma nd caribou is a great place to start. Usually good managers and fun coworkers. Get to know customers and other regulars. Good company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Barista/Cashier
Barista (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNSeptember 29, 2016
Standard Barista position. Hours fluctuate and time off can be difficult. Difficult to get full time hours. Discounts on coffee is the best benefit of this job.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible, but no pay advancements
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Saint Louis Park, MNJune 16, 2016
I always have a good time at work. I love the people I work with, and I enjoy the work I do. However i have not received a single raise since I started in 2013. I can no longer afford to keep this job.
Pros
Great coworkers, great work
Cons
No chance of a raise
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caribou
Training Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNAugust 24, 2016
Generally, Caribou is great. The Senior Leadership team is awesome. Most of the team is awesome. Its a fun place to work, its very demanding of your time and your patience,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment. Has a very home like feel to it
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Hudson, WIMay 9, 2016
A typical day at work would consist of: coming in, putting my apron on and start making drinks for our customers and ensuring that team members were doing their job well. Then I would do my supervisor activities such as counting money, ordering products, and ensuring the open shift was set up.

I learned a lot of management things and became more confident in myself as a manager and a leader as well, I got to learn how to make all caribou drinks.

It was really difficult having a range of workers from ages 16-30's because we are all at different points in our lives and sometimes people didn't like to listen because of age reasons.

I really enjoyed the people environment of it though, the people were super nice and I enjoyed building a relationship with them
Pros
Shift drink every time you worked, 1/2 LB of coffee per week
Cons
No breaks, Limited hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Barista/Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Osseo, MNSeptember 15, 2016
This job helped me focus on my multitasking and customer service skills. I learned to work quickly and accurately under pressure.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Caribou Coffee. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 318 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.9