Find companies:
Carilion Clinic
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
52 reviews

Carilion Clinic Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a very sad place to work, but overall we have fun
Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Christiansburg, VAJune 26, 2014
Pros: pto
Cons: nurses can put a lot of their work off on cna's
Typical day is very busy. Helping pts with ADL's after surgery and assisting Nurses with anything they need
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Dissapointed
Housekeeping Site-Lead (Former Employee), Roanoke, VAJune 19, 2014
Pros: excelent benefits
Cons: unfairness, favoritism, back stabing
A lot of Favoritism. Management, Specially Upper Management. Untouchable people. Super Unfair workplace. Very low pay for loads and loads of work. In other words I would of retired from this place if it wasn't for this problems. Co-workers are fun and very nice people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A horrible place to work if in housekeeping
Environemental Tech 1 (Current Employee), Roanoke VAJune 8, 2014
I would not recommend this job. The managers are cruel and so are some of the nurses and doctors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modern facility with up-to-date equipment
Registered Nurse (RN) Advice Line (Current Employee), Roanoke, VAJune 3, 2014
Pros: clean, modern facility.
Cons: health insurance is a little expensive for the family-plan.
I work at the Riverside 3 clinic; it is a great place to work. The advice line nurse works weekday hours only, there are no evening, weekend or holiday work hours! The physicians are very professional, ethical and hard working. The medical complex is new and everything is clean, modern, and up-to-date. It is very well-organized. Management is responsive – more... to employee needs. There is a wonderful cafeteria here. Company paid pension plan also. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Manager (Current Employee), Roanoke, VirginiaMay 26, 2014
Pros: family atmosphere / good values
Cons: fast pace
Busy atmosphere, but family oriented. Good values, good work ethic, reasonable expectations. Great people!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place for someone looking for quick advancement
Environmental Tech I (Former Employee), Roanoke, VAMay 25, 2014
Pros: health insurance
Cons: long hours with low pay
A good company but Environmental Services is one department you want to stay away from
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Flex time Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee), Roanoke, VAMay 5, 2014
Great environment to be in if wanting to be on the go all the time. Great experience to have with it being a level one trauma center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to Work :(
Social Services (Former Employee), RoanokeMarch 7, 2014
Pros: good benefits, pay was good for my type of profession
Cons: management is awful, lots of favoritism, unreasonable demands all the time, get used to working 2 full time jobs and paid for one
Very poor experience- management unprofessional to both full and part time employees. New hires treated poorly, and given poor orientation, with high expectations to fulfill caseload - new hires without experience told they will have orientation, and mentor guidance-told often they will need 6 months, to a year, to feel comfortable managing the expected – more... caseload of two or three floors, but in reality you are often given 3 or 4 floors/units of patients which is essentially two FT jobs but you are only paid for one- actually given 30 days to prove competency. Staff get written up all the time if you are not in the "clique"; Management are often providing unprofessional treatment to employees who raise issues, or make complaints- former employees currently looking into compensation of this hospital- citing "bullying, demeaning contact,, and poor treatment"- there is never any appreciation for what a social worker/case manager does on a daily basis; dr's and nurses calling you every other minute demanding things that are often out of your control. Please do not waste your time applying or working here; please leave this often unprofessional, poorly managed hospital off your list, you have many other choices that are deserving of your license/expertise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Back stabbing, lying management
Physical Therapy Assistant (Current Employee), RMHFebruary 26, 2014
Cons: poor management
Management is absolutely horrible, will not help you with anything.
All they care about is charging patients. I have been lied too on many occasions and when brought to their attention all I got was harrassment!! Plan on leaving asap!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging NeuroTrauma ICU in level 1 trauma center
Registered Nurse/Clinical Nurse I (Former Employee), Roanoke, VAFebruary 22, 2014
Fast-paced NeuroTrauma ICU, had large variety of learning opportunities. Many nurses with 10+ years of experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carilion Home Health Is Awful. Run Away Quickly!!!
RN (Former Employee), Roanoke, VAFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: nice patients
Cons: incompetent management/ poor working conditions
If you enjoy being lied to, misled, expected to work off of the clock and harassed by management then you have come to the right place. They cannot keep staff, expect you to work every holiday and have no support for nurses in the field. They demand that you coerce patients into being seen against their wishes and encourage nurses to lie on assessments – more... for increased reimbursement. The best part about working for Home Health is the patients, but it's too bad that they have chosen the worst home health company in the valley. – less

18hbm75fl5n8gb98 – February 21, 2014

There are some areas of Carilion that are great to work at, but unfortunately Home Health is not one of them. There is a very degrading culture within the office, but they do have a few competent, long-term nurses that work there. The main problem within Carilion Home Health lies with the management and short of cleaning house, I don't know how it can improve. Home Health needs a manager that is responsive to the needs of the employees, is competent at leading and delegating the new hire training, and is honest with potential employment candidates regarding the requirements of the job.

18hbm75fl5n8gb98 – July 16, 2014

They always have lots of openings for Home Health. That is a sure sign of a problem.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Scribe (Current Employee), VirginiaFebruary 14, 2014
Work in the emergency department where task never stop. Was responsible for medical records and billing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-Workers
Medical Office Technician (Former Employee), Dublin, VAFebruary 12, 2014
Fast paced Family Practice, I enhanced my phlebotomy skills over the years, great patients to deal with and co-workers helped out as much as possible. Management could have used a little improvement, hence the reason I am unemployed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad experience.
Supervisor (Former Employee), RoanokeJanuary 7, 2014
The most back stabing place I have ever worked the upper management turns there back when you try to get help to resolve issues. The management that has been there the longest is the worst the turnover is high which shuold send up a red flag but it goes on everyday without being adressed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company but does not provide advancement potential for communications/marketing professionals
Training and Development Education Specialist II (Current Employee), Roanoke, VADecember 17, 2013
Internal training readily provided and opportunities to expand educational degrees provide.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patients
Medical Office Associate II (Current Employee), Roanoke, VADecember 13, 2013
Typical day at my current employment is a fast-paced work environment. I love helping the patients and doing everything to make their visit more enjoyable. It's very rewarding to have a patient come in upset and have them leaving with a smile and there problems solved and knowing that you helped to do this.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great clean hospital, problems with manager.
Clinical Associate (Former Employee), Roanoke, VADecember 11, 2013
Pros: very sanitary. co-workers very friendly.
Cons: ex-boyfriends mom as manager.
Carilion Roanoke Memorial Hospital is Joint Commissioned Certified. It is a great hospital with very caring nurses and nursing assistants. I started working at this job due to my ex boyfriends mother being a nurse there for many years. After I decided to end the relationship six months later she continued to harass me at work and I was very young right – more... out of high school so I decided to leave my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away fast find a better company
Clinical Educator (Current Employee), HRNovember 14, 2013
Pros: potential but never realized
Cons: poor leadership employees contributions not valued
Clicks poor leadership favoritism if you are personal friends with the managers as some staff are you'll do well if not you'll have a bad day everyday coworkers lie and slander each other and back stabbing is condoned and when you bring wrong doing or inconsistency to a managers attention you made to feel you are a bad person and you have a problem – more... I am looking fie employment at a company where managers are supportive genuine and not back stabbing puppets on parade for a fake philosophy and lip service under a fake facade of professionalism which is far from the truth it's unbelievable I would not recommend this place unless you love drama and confusion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my job but
Revenue Cycle Management Education Analyst (Former Employee), Roanoke, VAOctober 3, 2013
Enjoyed my job, but ...
Great co-workers
mostly positive experiences, but one bad apple spoils the whole bunch :(
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hospital for economy
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), roanoke vaSeptember 4, 2013
pros and cons to carilionclinic, good organization per hospital setting .

1 2 3