Carilion Health Systems Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding company
Billing Representative (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAMarch 3, 2017
Do not remember much long time ago. I am still in touch with people met there. Much company growth. Mangagement caring and giving. Worked with you no matter the circumstance.
Pros
good people
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent environment
Medical Office Associate (Former Employee) –  Martinsville, VAJanuary 22, 2017
Carilion Medical has a lot to offer to their patients. Anything you're experiencing this office will accommodate your needs. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and is captured upon arrival.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CNRV Medical Center great place to work
Administrative Specialist (Current Employee) –  Christiansburg, VAApril 26, 2016
Administrative support from corporate does not support culture of community hospitals.

Long time employee seeing changes being made by leadership that are not involved in the day to day operations of the facility

Lack of respect for experience vs. education
Pros
Great leadership at local level, staff & physicians care about the community, leadership care about staff.
Cons
Lack of respect for experience vs education, hiring management with little or no experience in the job they are hired for, decisions made at corporate level without input from local staff, benefits continue to decline and are expensive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carilion Health Systems
Medical Associate II (Former Employee) –  Radford, VAJune 19, 2014
Enjoyed my work experience. Could be hectic at times, but learned td deal with that as I transitioned from a dedicated office environment to the front desk environment to accomplish the same maticulous, highly complicated, and important task of coding, data entry of charges, and insurance billing which required focus and consentration. That would have been the hardest part of job. The most enjoyable part was the gratification of knowing I was helping people who were or had been sick to take care of their bills. Managent and staff were good, but sometimes did not seem to understand my need not have distractions or interruptions in certain aspects of my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CCL was a wonderful place to work and learn
Unit Secretary (Former Employee) –  roanoke, vaOctober 16, 2013
I learned a great deal of medical terminology as well as lab processes & systems. Also learned alot about pathology. I thought I was changing careers to something better, unfortunately that wa.s not the case. I should have stayed with CCL and my great co-workers and supervisors
Pros
great learning experience
Cons
should not have left
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
read educational material
Assistant Credit Representative (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJuly 26, 2013
organized, people friendly, systematic and clean environment.
Pros
gained experience
Cons
shortbreaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my day at work for Carilion
Medical Office Associate (Former Employee) –  Salem,VirginiaJanuary 19, 2013
check pt in and out , answering the phone, getting patient approved for specialist appointment thru their insurance comp, we were able to talk very little were very busy
Pros
feeling you were there to help people that were sick
Cons
some times it could get very busy and some did not pull their end
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VANovember 16, 2012
Learned alot about the federal financial aid system and the private financial aid system.
Pros
fun environment
Cons
not challenging enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Carilion Health Systems. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7