Find companies:
Carl Zeiss
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

Carl Zeiss Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It would have been a nice place to work. Bad Management.
Wire Technician (Former Employee), Maple Grove, MNMay 27, 2014
Pros: nice co workers to work with, clean work place.
Cons: poor management, not standardized.
Each day when you get to work you have to check if the machine is ready for the next person or yourself to do that day. If not most of the time you might help your co workers or even clean the production floor.

Everyone of the co workers are great to work with. Always had fun helping and learning from each other.

As for management, they treat employees – more... unfair. Don't want to go into details but hope this will change so people will stay. It is a 5S company but does not have standards to do things. There is no process and you have to memorize where everything goes. Have to take notes just to remember what to use or where the parts or cables go.

The hardest thing about the job is that there is nothing to do when your job is done. You will have to wait for the next person to finish their part before you can take over. If you help or talk to your co worker, you will get in trouble.

The most enjoyable thing about the job is working with my fellow co workers. We help each other build the machines and trouble shoot the problems with the machines.

Like I said it would have been a good place to work if the management treat us as value employees and have a chance to get hired on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant enviornment for personal growth with in the company
Multipal Positions over the course of employement (Former Employee), San Lenadro, CaSeptember 27, 2013
Pros: job advancement always encouraged
Cons: company bought out by eu company and culture went from great to poor
 Inventory Control Coordinator (FGI, & Order Management confirmation)
 Production Inventory Expeditor (6 product lines)
 Sr. Production Planner (3 production lines to include subassembly feeder lines)
 Planner/Buyer (Open work orders, manage Kanban carts, BOM maintenance, ECO implementation, purchase spare parts from local Suppliers & FGI from manufacturing – more... facility - Germany
 Master Scheduler – 12 month rolling with 90 day frozen forecast submitted to production at Carl Zeiss Germany only (Slit Lamps, Fundus Cameras, Argon/Yag Laser, Power Source Laser)
 Associate Product Manager – Carl Zeiss products only (work with Sales & Service force supplying replacements & demo inventory, reporting to C-Level inventory status on trunk inventories in field. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Carl Zeiss
FIELD SERVICE ENGINEER (Current Employee), San Jose, CASeptember 6, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule.
Cons: being a german company the documentation are not very well written.
I have been working at Carl Zeiss for the past year as Field Service Engineer at Intel's Mask shop at Santa Clara. My focused has been on Carl Zeiss inspection tools which are call AIMS. I do work with very professional group of people and it is a very dynamic environment. The hardest part of the job for me is that i expect a lot out of myself and i – more... want to learn everything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Accounting Manager (Former Employee), Thornwood, NYJuly 16, 2013
Good company to work for. Sometimes difficult with having the parent company in Germany
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assembing prescription eye glasses
vision taper and blocker (Former Employee), clackamas , ORApril 4, 2013
Pros: its work, good schedule
Cons: temperary, no advancement, and no communication
I would be on one machine all day just hitting on buttion and washing glasses. The boss was breathing down the neck to be non stop working when atmost time there was no work to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good interaction
Business System Analyst/Project Coordinator (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 28, 2012
Good interaction with the employees there, but rarely worked with them directly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Presently working Temporary (Current Employee), north yourkJuly 21, 2014
good company, working with maintenance department
my co workers are very co operated and educated learn new skills and techniques
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job
Lab assistant (Former Employee), Welwyn Garden City, ENGJuly 11, 2014
Pros: half prices glasses and frames for myself
I did maintenance of glass and plastic polishing machine, manual and automatic lens generator machine, wheel cutter base curve, tools (lab) cutter machine for base curve. Frame tracing manual and automated blocking - automatic line cutter machine and checking right sizes to fit frames and servicing the machines.

Learnt how to repair any parts in the – more... machinery to save company money from calling an engineer from Germany.

Excellent managements and good working team.

Very busy everyday with high demand of orders from opticians.

All staff and managements help each other in all departments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, attained a certified trade
OPTICAL MECHANIC (Former Employee), Lonsdale, AdelaideMay 16, 2014
Overall good company to work for but very disappointed I was made redundant due to the company going offshore.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was worked as a service/sales engineer
India Pvt. Ltd. as a Service Engineer (Current Employee), New Delhi, DLMay 7, 2014
Good Company, Channel Partner of Tyco healthcare, Medtronic From USA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love to work with Carl Zeiss
Customer Service Executive (Engineer) (Current Employee), Ahmedabad, GJAugust 7, 2012
Pros: having gettotgether with families and colleagues
Cons: long hours travelling.
I really like to work with zeiss. I proud to be a part of the CARL ZEISS INDIA medical division's service team member. I keep myself up to date with the knowledge and love to have trainings regularly to sharpen my information. All the co workers are really cooperative and loving. The most cherish part of the job is the satisfaction of the Dr's after – more... completing of the Breakdowns in a short time. I am always ready to response and try to reduce the breakdown time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work in, especially my current manager believes in his staff.
Bookkeeper/Accountant (Current Employee), JohannesburgJuly 16, 2012
Pros: social event once a month, frequent free lunches on some fridays
Cons: an international company, headquarters in germany, as a result some policies cannot be adapted to our sa environment.
The company creates development opportunities.
Constantly meets training needs
I look forward to come to work
Most people have a good relationship with everyone
My contribution to teamwork has improved since I joined this organisation
I enjoy my reporting function, especially after I've met my deadlines
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empresa de Lentes de contato
Manutenção de Equipamentos (Former Employee), Petrópolis, RJAugust 25, 2014
Pros: refeição na empresa
Cons: nada a declarar
Uma empresa com pessoal extremamente qualificado e com agilidade incrível para manter sempre a manutenção e produção em dia.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empresa muito forte no Segmento de Equipamentos
Gerente de Produtos e Marketing (Former Employee), São Paulo SPJune 23, 2014
Pros: carro, combustível, celular
Cons: cobrança da utilização do carro nos finais de semana
Gerencia muito acessível, trabalho de equipe com parceiros muito favoráveis.
A ZEISS é uma empresa que esta retomando seus negócios, apesar de estar 80 anos no Brasil, na verdades seus produtos estavam na mão de distribuidores.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buena
Operador de bloqueo (Former Employee), Tijuana, BCNFebruary 12, 2014
Muy buen ambiente de trabajo, capacitación pagada si es en un día de descanso, buenos cursos.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Por se tratar de uma multinacional, existe uma sensação de estabilidade. Noentanto a divisão portuguesa é muito desorganizada.
Assistente de apoio ao cliente (Former Employee), Porto, P13September 20, 2013
Pros: salario e estabilidade
Cons: muita desorganização
Esta empresa, uma grande multinacional com um grande prestigio, pois todos os produtos que desenvolve são de grande qualidade.
A estabilidade é muito boa, e os salários são(ou eram) aceitáveis.
Infelizmente a divisão portuguesa é extremamente desorganizada, com uma grande falta de orientação por parte das chefias(uma grande falta de liderança), que – more... por vezes tem implicações na relação com os clientes. Por esse motivo um dia de trabalho pode ser mutio exaustivo. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantes alterações estruturais
Gerente de Recursos Humanos Latin America (Former Employee), São Paulo, SPMarch 11, 2013
Pros: ambiente
Cons: planejamento
Devido as constantes alterações estruturais o planejamento fica seriamente comprometido.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boa empresa
Auxiliar Administrativo (Former Employee), Petrópolis, RJFebruary 16, 2013
Pros: estabilidade
Cons: muitas tarefas fora da área contratada
Rotinas administrativas.
Aprendi mais sobre gerenciamento.
Organizados.
Muitos colegas de trabalho.
Saber o nome de todos nos setores e onde fica cada coisa.
Beneficios