Find companies:
Carle Foundation Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

Carle Foundation Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More with Less
Managment (Current Employee), urbana IlJuly 10, 2014
Administration continually believes that there is room for more efficiencies. Foundation has cut 45 million in 2 years in expenses and staffing and believes in expanding ED to add 20 more beds with no additional staff needs. Over worked under appreciated. Salaried employees are expected to work while on vacation or they are low performers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carle Emergency Room
Business Service Representative II (Former Employee), Urbana, ILJuly 5, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, fair pay, opportunity to gain new skills
Cons: not much opportunity to advance, poor management
I registered patients into the Emergency Room most days. It was a very stressful environment and I could have used more breaks than I was able to take. Upper management wasn't always willing to step in and do the job we do but critiqued us on how we weren't doing well. They should have spent more time doing the job functions. My co-workers were enjoyable – more... and I was able to lean on them when I had issues. We helped each other a lot when managers were in meetings. The hardest part of the job was seeing trauma patients and patients that had a lot of family support when they weren't doing well. It was difficult to talk to those families and still be able to do my job. I loved getting to know other patients who were in difficult situations because I felt closer to them and felt like I made a difference when they had to be in the hospital. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and wonderful place to work
Healthcare Technician (Former Employee), Urbana, ILJune 28, 2014
A typical day at Carle would consist of going to a med/surg floor or intensive care unit. There I would give or help assist with bathing, oral care, feeding, complete hygiene, I would take and record vital signs. Assist with ambulating, turning , and companionship of patients. I learned that caring for others takes lots of compassion, My management – more... was great rarely had any issue. My co-workers were very helpful. The hardest part of my job was getting close to my patients and watching them pass away. The most amazing part of my job was knowing that I was helping make someone feel better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Atmosphere
Office Coordinator, Human Resources (Former Employee), Urbana, ILJune 17, 2014
Prepared reports for employee orientation; conducted background check on potential employees; and provided and ensured quality customer service in a fast-paced HR office.

Produced budget reports; organized information for Joint Commission compliance; and performed customer service by answering telephones and routing calls and messages.

Prepared billing – more... statements for patients; produced summary reports for analysis; and preformed customer service by answering telephones and routing calls and messages. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical Office Assistant
Health Care Technician - CVICU (Former Employee), Urbana, ILJune 12, 2014
Pros: piers, stability, work environment
Cons: limited opportunities
Responsible for providing assistance and support to the clinical staff and front office of a Surgical Oncology practice that was composed of two general, one ENT and two heart and lung cancer surgeons. Duties included, but were not limited to; greeting and directing patients, answering telephones, updating and maintaining medical records, scheduling – more... patient’s appointments, processing insurance claim forms, taking patient medical histories, vital signs, preparing patients for examinations, assisting with some medical procedures and assisting physicians during examinations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Hospital Physician Services Intern (Former Employee), Urbana, ILMay 15, 2014
Meeting with a big group and we usually have free food during the meeting. Meeting usually have many stakeholders. It takes a lot of team work to come to a solution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management with flexibility
Patient Advisory Supervisor (Current Employee), Urbana, ILMay 5, 2014
Carle invests in its workforce. Great place to work! My coworkers and Director are very supportive and I enjoy working for this organization. I would continue if I was not moving out of state.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Urbana, ILMay 2, 2014
Controlled chaos most of the time. Other times...uncontrolled chaos. We were short staffed the majority of the time I have been employed here, so most days were pretty hectic. I learned all aspects of the inpatient pharmacy. Management is effective and co-workers for the most part were hard workers. Best part of the job was patient interaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co-workers, fun fast paced environment
Inpatient Pharmacy Technician - CPhT Tech I (Former Employee), Urbana, ILApril 22, 2014
wonderful, accomplished staff who genuinely care about the quality of care they are providing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Healthcare Technician CVICU (Former Employee), Urbana, ILApril 14, 2014
Great place to work. Will learn a lot and love the people you work with. Teamwork is huge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pschological Measurement
Neuropsychometrist (Current Employee), Urbana, ILApril 9, 2014
Carle is a fabulous organization and assists many patients from diverse backgrounds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, Magnet status hospital!
Certified Health Care Technician, Flexcare (Former Employee), Urbana, ILMarch 3, 2014
Carle is a great place to work for a healthcare professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with great management
Business Service Representative - ER (Former Employee), 611 W. Park St. Champaign, IL 61820October 15, 2013
Working in the Emergency Department was a great experience that taught me alot about how to handle myself under a great amount of stress. Working with great co-workers as well as having a supervisor who was always there for us made the job that much more enjoyable to work there. The Hardest part of the job was trying to keep calm during rush hours but – more... after a few weeks i got the hang of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administration is out of touch with customers and staff
Health Technician (Current Employee), Urbana, ILOctober 15, 2013
Pros: clean environment and good cafeteria.
Cons: inept leadership and a low pay scale
There has been little to no listening to physicians and staff for ten years and we have just come through one of the worst episodes in the institutions history where it has lost favor with its customers, doctors, and staff. All surveys have shown a downward trend in the last 4 years and the response of leadership has ranged from silence to inept attempts – more... to improve things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always advancing in technology and equipment to give ultimate quality towards patient care
SPD Technician (Current Employee), Urbana, ILSeptember 22, 2013
Pros: medical vendor reps bring in meals when we have inservice training
Cons: short breaks
There is definitely job security at the hospital. They not only care about the patients but they also care about their employees. SPD department is a fast paced, laboring and demanding job but I enjoy the challenges it brings everyday. Co-workers are for the most part team players and all work harmonously with the surgical and OR nurses. The hardest – more... part of the job is to produce the production expected with the new expantion of the Cardovascular Wing. In addition to hiring several more surgeons and nurses, there has been no increase in SPD Technicians and the production has increased with the same amount of staff which can be stressful at times. I enjoy working with my co-workers as we have become a "family" and do what needs to be done for each other to get the job done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Collections Manager (Former Employee), Champaign, ILAugust 13, 2013
Carle is a great place to work. They are very much in touch with their patients and making sure their experience with Carle is positive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and informative
Histology Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee), Urbana, ILJuly 11, 2013
I really enjoyed working at Carle. I was able to learn so much from it and management was very helpful and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compasionate and caring management staff
Billing and Operations supervisor (Former Employee), Champaign, ILApril 20, 2013
Pros: flexibilty of management that realized employees also have a personal life
Cons: health insurance could have been a better plan
Top quality health care facility, with patient first core values. Management team that was key to supporting employees in helping them to fulfill their goals and responsibilities.
I enjoyed working with my managers, piers and staff. Teamwork was key to providing top quality patient care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience of educational and professional development
Student Intern (Former Employee), Urbana-Champaign, ILApril 17, 2013
As an intern with Carle Foundation Hospital, I was given a lot of respect and trust to seek out work and complete tasks to meet hospital and individual goals. I assisted with organization and development of adult hospital staff education courses, and I was also able to attend these courses. Some skills that I was educated on include: time management, – more... teamwork, communication, conflict resolution, management within the law, and wellness. This position had a very friendly and accepting staff that provided me with nothing less than motivational input and reviews. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hospital
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Urbana, ILMarch 11, 2013
The staff at Carle are very engaging and helpful. I loved the atmosphere