Carlow University Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging, dynamic, challenging.
Associate Professor of English (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAFebruary 3, 2017
Teaching a variety of English and writing courses at this university was a stimulative experience. Loved the students as well as my colleagues and staff at this private institution. I miss it terribly.
Pros
Innovative thinkers.
Cons
Winters in Pittsburgh are challenging.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality education
Adjunct Faculty Member (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PASeptember 14, 2016
A wonderful institution providing education in the professional counseling field.. Students are given an great opportunity to learn and practice skills in becoming a professional counselor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carlow was a great way to network and build myself for my future.
Social Media Director of Spirit (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMay 23, 2016
Working in admissions was a way to test my communication skills and build my resume for experience in the future. It was an interesting community of people and I appreciate the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and expert faculty
Adjunct Instructor RN-BSN Program (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMay 17, 2016
The positive community of Carlow University is advantageous for student academic success. Faculty and staff are available for guidance and consultation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring and Productive Place to Work
OFFICE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMay 12, 2016
I am employed at the tutoring center as a work study employee. The job is very straight forward,and management is caring and productive.
Pros
Understanding and flexible management
Cons
Can only work a set number of hours as a work study student
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Fitness Attendant (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJanuary 3, 2016
I was responsible for supervising exercise equipment and those engaging in workouts in which I maintained a clean and safe fitness environment, became CPR certified – American Heart Association
- Trained in how to respond to infants, adolescents, and adults in an emergency situation including compressions, ventilations, and defibrillation
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked under paid !
Staff (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PADecember 3, 2015
I work in Staff not Teaching ! They pile work load upon you that is impossible to complete . the turn over rate of employeess is unimaginable employees last about 1 to 2 years. The pay cycle is monthly but can go as long as 5 to 6 weeks. It's not the type of place to work as you would think . If employeed keep job searching because you can't move forward here !
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Thinking that you have a good job!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging work environment
Photography Internship (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAAugust 29, 2015
It felt more like a pleasure than work. Reliable communication and encouragement from other professionals made each day a great one and the mutual respect people have for each other in the work place is a rare find.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for what it was
Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJuly 15, 2015
As a student worker, my experience is limited in reviewing the workplace environment. As a student, I only worked a few hours per week and was underpaid due to work study position and government funding. Staff I worked with was excellent. Many trainings provided.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun teaching experience with students
Adjunct Faculty-Clinical Nursing Instructor (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PADecember 23, 2014
Teaching sophomore, junior and senior level nursing students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher Education
Collections Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PADecember 1, 2014
Employees are great to work with but lack of training. Upper management easy to deal with. No contact with employees to pay past due bills.
Pros
Small departments great co workers
Cons
cannot contact employees to pay their bills
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot
Certification Officer/Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Oakland, PASeptember 10, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the public.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work, great learning environment
Intern (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMay 6, 2014
I would receive topics to write press releases about and compose a drafted article. My supervisor would then either give me suggestions on how to improve the press release or give me approval.

I also interviewed Alumni and people affiliated with Carlow University and would transcribe those interviews to written articles.

All of my coworkers were extremely supportive and helpful especially when it came to editing.

the hardest part of my job was learning a non-fiction style especially when my major was fiction, but this was also the most enjoyable aspect because I learned more by doing it and making mistakes.
Pros
Free education on Journalism, flexible deadlines
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Supervisor-Jaime (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 8, 2013
Maintained the cleanliness of The Curran Building. Trash Duties, Cleaned and restocked restrooms daily. Assures that assigned work areas (classrooms, offices, meeting rooms, restrooms, outside areas and etc.) are maintained in a clean, safe, and sanitary manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work.
Adjunct Math Teacher (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAAugust 15, 2012
Carlow is a great place to work. They are flexible and supportive. The students are courteous.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent catholic university with an individualized approach.
YMAP Advocate credit internship (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJune 19, 2012
My experience as an adult student was great!
The professors understand the demands of a busy work life.
The expectations are high, but reasonable.
Credit is given where credit is due in regards to real world work experience in relation to theory.
Pros
8 week accelerated courses and small classrooms. lots of work study options.
Cons
3 hour evening classes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Math Teacher (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJune 8, 2012
There a lot of very talented, caring people at Carlow University.
Pros
they are flexible
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 9Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Carlow University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5

Carlow University Reviews by Location