Carnegie Mellon University

Carnegie Mellon University Employee Reviews in United States

Found 92 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great university with excellent people and facilities
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PASeptember 21, 2015
Carnegie Mellon University is one of the best universities in the world. Its Chemical engineering department is ranked in top 15 in the US. The research in the department is cutting edge.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great.
linux system administrator (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PANovember 19, 2015
There have been days I did not want to go home.

...plenty of time to learn and grow, my superior is very hands off. A great boss!
Pros
Relaxed
Cons
Benfits are fair.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RA job is fun and beneficial
Resident Advisor (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PASeptember 15, 2015
It is one of the most fun jobs on campus. Fairly competitive. 1/3 of the applicants got the job. Co-workers are awesome. Boss, aka Housefellow has good management skills. Achieve personal growth through this job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for academic research
Research Fellow (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PASeptember 9, 2015
CMU is a great school especially for Materials Science.
It has great faculty from whom you can experience world-leading research in the field of Materials Science.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspiring place, but you'll work a lot!
ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 28, 2015
Great place to work. Culture totally depends on the college or institute you work for within the university. For example, the business school will be a lot more business-like compared to the fine arts school, where things are a lot more relaxed. Either way, you will work hard -- but it's a great respectable university. The new president is making a lot of great strides. The only downside, as with a lot of higher ed institutions, you often work in a silo.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, insular place
Visiting Assistant Professor (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 25, 2015
CMU pays faculty well, but it is also a competitive and challenging environment. Outstanding students, beautiful campus, consumed by a work ethic that is unlike 99% of private industry. As the students attest, overwork is celebrated.
Pros
Pay, Students, Campus Location
Cons
Work-life Balance
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Gardner (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAAugust 6, 2015
Gardening and up keep of area assigned. Excellent benefits. Great co-workers and team work. Involved in safety committee meeting for a safe work place.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The grader's working is pretty good.
Grader (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 13, 2015
 Help grading in Hydraulic Structure.

I learned how to communicate with the students as well as the teacher. I also learn some about hydraulic structure again.

The hardest part of the work is that I have to spend some time on grading, despite the fact that I was really busy at that time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A unique and interesting work environment
HUMAN RESOURCES MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 30, 2015
A unique and interesting work environment. Cultures in schools and departments may vary slightly, but the overall experience is positive and you are guaranteed to meet great co-workers (future friends).
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Research Assistant
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  PittsburghApril 3, 2015
Great opportunities to perform cutting edge research with talented students and faculty but very high-stress environment with little flexibility.
Pros
Great opportunities to perform cutting edge research
Cons
high-stress environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Head Teaching Assistant for a decision making class
Head Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PADecember 2, 2014
• Managed a group of 5 TAs and defined the team’s objectives at the beginning of each semester
• Implemented strategic methods to bolster the understanding of material for 110 graduate students
• Delegated and directed workflow for the team to ensure efficiency and quality of teaching
• Taught students how to produce optimal solutions under multiple constraints using quantitative methods
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good intern
BIM Engineer Research Intern (Former Employee) –  PittsburghFebruary 14, 2015
● Developed plugins for Autodesk Revit Building Information software in C#.
● Created Sensor linkage for building information model of Scaife Hall at CMU requested by Toshiba Corporation.
● Modeled highway bridges located at Boston and calibrated them based on Laser-scanned files.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfying research
PhD Candidate (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJune 19, 2015
Very glad to be a part of the Bruchez group working on fluorogenic dyes for biological applications. The CMU experience is truly wonderful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interesting work place
Senior Administrative Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMarch 13, 2015
Working at the Library at Carnegie Mellon means interacting with a large variety of people. I consider this a benefit as the days are rarely the same twice.
Pros
excellent benefits
Cons
normal academic issues
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
FINANCIAL ASSISTANT - OFFICE OF STUDENT ACTIVITIES (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJanuary 5, 2015
An amazing campus with diverse student population and extremely talented staff and faculty dedicated to ensuring student success
Pros
campus activities to allow career and personal development, time off and flexibility of schedule when necessary
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the joy of CMU
Cashier /Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh PAAugust 4, 2014
A typical day at work for me would be cleaning around my station and preparing for the students breakfast, lunch or dinner. I work around a wonderful staff crew and management is excellent. I would say the only thing hard about my job is when different people come from other countries with a strong accent, but that rarely happens. The most enjoyable part of my job would be meeting new people everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great research environment. Nice working environment.
Asset Preservation Manager & Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAFebruary 27, 2015
CMU provides a great environment for anyone who like computer science. All programs are related to CS so that there are a lot of interdisciplinary studies.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good learning experince
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAFebruary 12, 2014
• Assisted Professor to created bridge model from as-built drawing in ANSYS and analyzed the bridge vibration type through finite element analysis
• Assisted to teach ANSYS and Matlab software lab training courses
• Graded students’ weekly assignments and mid-term exams
• Hosted weekly TA hours for answering students’ questions of the course materials, assignments and exams
Pros
a lot of learning during work, get paid hourly
Cons
schedule is too intense
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
when i worked at carnegie mellon
Cew (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJanuary 2, 2014
A typical day at work would be at 8am we would have our morning staff meeting, then we would split up and go to the dorms and write if anything was wrong with any of the rooms. then we would go on lunch break for an hour then have another meeting after lunch to inform our boss what buildings needed to be done.then go back to the buildings then at the end of the day we would all meet up again and sign our time sheets.
Pros
meetings every morning, the hours were good
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love CMU
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 8, 2015
Carnegie Mellon University is a geek school. You work hard and you learn a lot from it.
The graduate assistant is a position that graduate student help teachers to do some researches.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 95 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.0
Culture
4.3

Carnegie Mellon University Reviews by Location