Find companies:
Carnival Cruise Lines
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
283 reviews

Carnival Cruise Lines Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's always fun to work in Carnival cruiselines
TEAM HEAD WAITER ( Carnival Cruiselines (Current Employee), Miami, FLJuly 2, 2014
Pros: free food and lodging
Cons: long hours of work no day off
Working in Carnival Cruiselines is fun but you are away from your family and you are working in a confined working environment with different nationalities of co-workers. The working hours is very long and no day off. You have to be tough and adopt to different moods and styles of Managers because they have different nationalities. The most exciting – more... part is you could visit a lot of beautiful places and meet different people every cruise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to day at Carnival Cruise Lines
Photographic Coordinator (Former Employee), FloridaJune 29, 2014
Start each day by taking photos as the passengers disembark at each port
Capture family moments all day with different props and areas on the cruise ship
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hotel Administrator Coordinator for Carnival Cruise Lines
Hotel Administration Coordinator (Current Employee), Miami, FLJune 25, 2014
Pros: room and food is included, travel for a living, meet people from all over the world
Cons: long hours, working 7 days a week 6 months straight, expensive to communicate with people back at home, slow internet, bad phone connection
As Hotel Admin. Coordinator onboard Carnival Cruise Lines you report directly to the Hotel Director and Guest Services Manager as well as various other ship board management. You are in the office at 8:00 AM checking emails as well as sending emails to remind the appropriate department to submit their information in a timely manner to assist in the – more... preparation of paperwork that needs to be signed and submitted to local authorities at various different ports of call. 2 days a week you are required to attend the Senior Management meeting and the Department Head meeting as well as other various meetings lead by the Hotel Director. Your duty is to take notes and compose minutes for the meetings based on a recording and your notes. Because this role falls under the Guest Services Department you are required to assist with answering guest phone calls for a minimum of 2 hours per day.

other duties assigned;
- gather information from online websites, data / tracking sheets, and emails to compose graphs and numerical charts for the purpose of extra pay owed to team members, head office and department heads review and to see ships current rating.
- Compiled information, created and submitted manifest of materials that needed to be offloaded in various different ports of call. Ensured that materials being offloaded adhered to CBP, Turks & Caicos, and Bahamian customs regulations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Fun
Entertainment Technical Manager (Former Employee), Miami, FLJune 21, 2014
What I enjoyed most about this job was the challenge. It was a rewarding experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love Carnival
Project Coordinator (Former Employee), Miami, FLJune 21, 2014
Amazing place to work at. People are awesome and very professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy schedule with customer oriented approach .
Team Leader /Supervisor /Team Headwaitress (Former Employee), Miami, FLJune 14, 2014
Pros: free meals, tax free income, unique environment
Cons: long hours, away from family, difficult to stay in touch at times
working in a multicultural environment catering to 6000 guests where each and every area of food service gets busy is very exciting .You meet so many different kinds of people and learn to anticipate their needs and make them happy .Missing home and family always stays at the back of your mind but you make your own family while you stay six months on – more... board and keep yourself motivated and happy always .There's not much to do but always something keeps you busy . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Collection Representative (Former Employee), Miami, FLJune 7, 2014
love my job at carnival,wish they did not had a budget cut back after ship incident in Italy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New & varied tasks
Assistant Pastry/Bakery Chef (Former Employee), Miami, FLJune 7, 2014
Pros: crew parties
Cons: working with no off days at a strech for long months
I learned that with patience & persistence any menial goal can be achieved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New & varied tasks
Assistant Pastry/Bakery Chef (Former Employee), Miami, FLJune 7, 2014
Pros: crew parties
Cons: working with no off days at a strech for long months
I learned that with patience & persistence any menial goal can be achieved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work mostly
Guest services Associate (Former Employee), MiamiJune 4, 2014
Pros: free food, gym, activities
Cons: little free time, bad individuals on high positions
Learnt a lot. Mostly to be highly patient.
Big difference make people around you, colleges and management, sometimes they make your life not so enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and good to save money.
Assistant Shore-Excursion Manager (Current Employee), Miami, FLMay 23, 2014
Pros: free accommodation, free food and subsidized drinks
Cons: long hours, spending months away from family
My current position is quite an interesting one because we get to sell different type of tours to cruise ship guests. As such we happen to go on familiarisation trips on many of these excursions in many different countries for free and its such a priviledge because people pay a lot of money to experience what we call work.Im a middle manager for 3 years – more... because there is no turnover and i want to grow and am single but its difficult to settle down when you are a cruise ship employee, i feel its time for me to settle down. I have assumed managerial positions in many companies and feel confident to take up any challenge.
i have worked well with all my colleagues, on average the Shore excursions team consists of 3-4 people. There is a lot of paperwork too, revenue reports and incident reports so i also have good computer skills. The hardest part of the job is during the hurricane season and you have to deal with itinerary changes and port cancellations, this impacts the organisation financially and inconveniences the guest immensely which creates a lot of work. All in all its a very good job a lot of people would wish to partake but i want to grow and do not want to be trapped on a cruise for the rest of my life and miss reality in the real world.

I have learnt a lot about other nationalities(90 on a cruise ship) and crisis management as well as selling to every type of guest. Apart from selling i also developed my computer skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Way To See The World
Casino Dealer (Former Employee), Miami, FLMay 21, 2014
Pros: travel the world
Cons: long shifts
the cruise line industry is a great way to meet new people, see the world and be payed for it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carnival: A company where you get to learn, grow and retire....!
Senior Technical Consultant (Current Employee), Miami, FLMay 20, 2014
Work is FUN. A diverse group of work force adds in wide range of expertise and skill set to this global company. Excellent benefits for employers which makes Carnival one of the best employers in South Florida.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great place
Home Agent (Current Employee), Home agentMay 19, 2014
Awesome employer. The people where awesome and very good environment..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In everything you do, you have to have fun.
Bar waiter (Former Employee), Miami, FLMay 19, 2014
Mandatory safety trainings are very important.
A lot of working hours and tense of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Fun Fun
Front Office Manager (Former Employee), Miami,FLMay 17, 2014
If you want to see the world and get paid while doing it, this is the company to work for. Thanks to them i enjoyed travelling and saw the world, went to exotic places for free.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place full of fun and positivity
Club O2 Director - Teen Cruise Director (Former Employee), Miami, FLMay 9, 2014
Pros: free food and accommodation
My typical day at work would be to prepare all the activities for the youth on board and start running them accordingly. I had a big responsibility to ensure that the youth on board is having a safe and fun cruise. I learned computer skills, hospitality skills, I learned a lot about different cultures. Management was really good and very ambitious. – more... My co-workers were from all around the world which I loved and very helpful. The hardest part of the job was seeing a child crying, but the most enjoyable was comforting them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Sr. Application Developer (Former Employee), Lakeland, FL 33810May 7, 2014
Shore Excursion System (SES) is a standard Microsoft Windows based Graphical User Interface (GUI) based application that will allow internal CCL ShoreEx staff to maintain the SES. This admin tool accesses the mainframe using UniAccess Driver.
Guest Reservation System is a web based application that will allow to book excursions, modify the existing – more... excursions and cancel the excursions.

Contribution:
• Involved in modifying the existing system in order to meet requirements of the Shore Tour Management System (SES).
• Developed Business component to apply security for each control on the form based on user profile.
• Involved in enhancement of Guest Reservation System to meet the new requirements.
• Used Far Point spread to create spreadsheets on window forms to display data.

Environment: Visual Studio .NET 2003, C#, Win Forms, ADO.NET, ASP.NET 1.1, SQL Server 2000, XML, Far Point 2.0, Mainframe, UniAccess 10R3, Clear Case 2003.6.16, Windows XP – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT COMPANY
CHEF DE CUISINE (Former Employee), miamiMay 7, 2014
15 yrs of ship life , i have always miss this place .. life in hotel is not hard as the ship
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carnival is an expanding company with a lot more ships being built
Environmental Team Leader (Former Employee), Miami, FLMay 4, 2014
Pros: you get to be nominated as team member or team leader of the month with cash bonus and a day off
Cons: retirement benefits for filipinos were frozen
Homeports & outports are very busy days
A lot can be accomplished when there is cooperation especially from Management side and everybody shares in the responsibilty in order to achieve the company's goals
The most enjoyable part is when you are recognize for the things you have done right and they show appreciation it

About Carnival Cruise Lines

Carnival is "The World's Most Popular Cruise Line®", with 23 ships operating three to 17 day voyages to The Bahamas, – Read more

Carnival Cruise Lines Photos