Find companies:
Carnival Cruise Lines
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
279 reviews

Carnival Cruise Lines Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place to work
Casino Manager (Former Employee), Miami, FLApril 13, 2014
Bad work environment low salary and long hours no benefits and no compensation for the workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever growing company that always delivers fun in everything
Manager, Staff Admin (Former Employee), Miami, FLApril 13, 2014
Pros: chance to be nominated as leader of the month/year
Cons: long hours when dealing with last minute circumstances, retirement benefit has been frozen for filipinos
Everyday is an exciting day with lots of challenges. My position requires a lot of patience and understanding. One has to know how to prioritize the tasks on a daily basis. I have learned that listening is very important. You can only help a team member if you listen to their needs and then you will know what next step to take. Management was very supportive – more... and all are team players helping each other to accomplish what needs to be done. My co-workers are also cooperative. The hardest part of the job is when dealing with last minute circumstances (last minute sign offs, e.g. emergencies, terminations, etc.). The most enjoyable part is making new friends and knowing that they appreciate what you have done for them, which makes a lot of difference. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good to work with
Developer and Onsite Coordinator (Current Employee), Miami, FLApril 9, 2014
A company which does not treat their employee as resource only. Management believe in their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Guest solutions (Current Employee), colorado springsApril 8, 2014
Pros: comp cruises
Cons: .30 minute lunch
great place great company no more to tell
Awesome cruise ships and great manager that I have. Perk being able to work from home
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
call center work enviroment
Personal Vacation Planner (Former Employee), Miami, FLApril 4, 2014
Pros: discounted cruises
Cons: no life outside of work
lots of hours for not so good pay.. you need to make from 100 to 150 bookings a month to make some good money, not an easy task. If you show that you come in both days on the weekend and you come in early and stay late during the week then you get the good leads, its controlled by management.. not an even playing field. 500 + agents
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Assistant Stateroom Steward (Former Employee), Miami, FLApril 1, 2014
Pros: free launches
Cons: long hours
Typical day at work included cleaning the staterooms, and greeting the passengers.

I learned a lot, especially the customer service.

The management was great.

The co-workers were exceptional .

The hardest part of the work was the work during the embarkation day.

The most enjoyable part was to be able to socialize with people from different countries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile Management. Highschool Environment.
Personal Vacation Planner (Former Employee), Miramar, FLMarch 29, 2014
Day consisted of hearing a cheesy speech from the Sales managers trying to convince you the only thing stopping you selling Carnivals failing product is the work you put in.
They expect 60 to 80 hours of work.
At a base pay of minimum wage.
Management only focuses on flirting with the women on there team, they do not focus on training those that need – more... it.
Really unprofessional management style.
Would not recommend this for those who hate repetitive mundane tasks.
Do not get me wrong, those who are good at selling and have intense drive and WANT to work every day for 10 - 12 hours can make good money.
But In my opinion its not really worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun time,fun ship
Busgirl (Former Employee), Miami,FloridaMarch 26, 2014
good team work,improve your skills,recognizing guests needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that makes professional fun.
Various (Former Employee), Miami, FLMarch 20, 2014
Pros: free room and board, great social life, travel.
Cons: no sofa, days off, or family
The days on board a cruise ship can be very long, but very rewarding. Working in the Entertainment Department was my favorite, because I grew and learned the most. I obtained great public speaking and microphone skills, along with the ability to adapt at a moments notice. I also learned about different personalities and how to cater to the masses as – more... well as keep things intimate when necessary. Management on board the ships was very influential in how to progress quickly. The hardest part of the job was leaving it, and the most enjoyable was living it. It was a time in my life that has molded me into who I am today, a strong, successful and ambitious man. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is a good company
Stateroom Attendant (Former Employee), Miami, FLMarch 6, 2014
nice and warm to work place is good place for many culture people are very friendly even we are so many diferent culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well i had fantastic experience in carnival cruise lines..dis is a cruise company..its lyk a floating city..carnival means fun..well i had a gr8 tym
Engine Supervisor Columbus (Former Employee), Miami, FLMarch 5, 2014
well i had fantastic experience in carnival cruise lines..dis is a cruise company..its lyk a floating city..carnival means fun..well i had a gr8 tym in carnival cruise lines
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
funplace is crew lounge where we play a ping pong and pool table.
galley steward (Former Employee), Charleston, SCMarch 4, 2014
Pros: day meals are very delicious
Cons: we have a 4 hours break in every cruise
hi.
everyone know ship life is hard but we have to work with a stamina and always able to work for long hours.
i have learned to many things in carnival cruise lines tht proper handling of chemicals with the use of PPE. workers are very helpful and the most enjoyable part of the job is when we finish our and start talking in the main galley with all – more... galeey staff..in the loved this job and i really enjoyed a sea life.
thanks – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR Coordinator
HR Coordinator/ Coordinator Staff Administration (Former Employee), Miami, FLMarch 1, 2014
Pros: free accomodation, food, water, electricity
Cons: far from home
My understanding of the different levels of caretaking and staffing needs should prove to be a great asset to the team if consid-ered for this position. My past and present experience includes: • Coordinate requests for crew returning from breach of contract or requesting re-hire. • The ability to make manning accommodation while adhering to the allotted – more... depart-ment’s budget • Ensuring employee satisfaction by managing the daily routines efficiently • Maintain correct status of crewmembers in personnel system • Ensure proper documentation for sign on and sign off crew members
 Deals with retirement and benefits
 Handles crew issues and related matters
 Relay important information to the shipboard management.
My excellent communications skills allow me to communicate with officers, onboard department heads and other staff & crew members without difficulty. I also have the ability to act as go-between for a variety of departments while ensuring all important issues are being discussed. The ability to coordinate based on the needs of the crew members comes naturally to me. I have obtained my experience onboard for the last 7 years and fully believe that my work history qualifies me for this position – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), miamiFebruary 27, 2014
• Help guests navigate through busy cruise terminal by proficiently monitoring the flow of guest traffic.
• Use a high level of attention to detail while examining our guest’s cruise and travel documentation.
• Proficiency in Microsoft Word & Excel.
• Accurately and efficiently registering guests by inputting cruise, travel, and payment information – more... into computer system.
• Communicating with guests and distributing important cruise information.
• Processing customer on board accounts, multitasking and resolving difficult situations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work with great management
Receptionist at Art Auctions/ Karaoke Host (Former Employee), New YorkFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: free meal and free living
Cons: no windows in our cabins
During the day I worked at the Art Auctions, and as a Karaoke host in the evenings. I have learned a lot about art and was enjoying running Karaoke evenings, encouraged shy people to sing and later they were happy to perform on the stage.
My managers were very loyal and caring. Enjoyed the team-work. My co-workers were very professional and fun . I – more... was happy with my work, I loved to help people to enjoy their cruise! I made lots of friends around the World and I had a great chance to see the Caribbean Islands and other beautiful places. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Air-Sea Coordinator (Former Employee), Miami, FLFebruary 24, 2014
It is a great learning experiance. The benefits are great. From management down, the enviorment with the co-workers is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy job
Security Guard (Current Employee), doral, FLFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: nice people
Cons: short breaks
my day starts at 3pm and im in the tower handling deliveries, connecting visitors with whom they are going to see, and making sure the tower is secure
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its so much fun seeing different places wahile earning a very good salary...and meeting different people from around the world.
Snack Steward (Former Employee), Miami, FlFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: elevator is my ride for work.
Cons: we are working an average of 11 hours a day for seven days a week in straight six to eight months, tipping is my major salary
I've practiced more on about being hospitable and having fun while working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, job that gives freedom in choosing the repertoire
Cocktail Pianist (Former Employee), Miami, Fl, USAFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: free meals, medical insurance
Cons: being away from my family
Playing piano, entertaining guests through music of many genres: soundtracks, popular songs, evergreens, classical.
Attending staff meetings, trainings in hospitality, safety drills.
Working with people with so many backgrounds and from so many cultures helped me expend my horizons, know myself more, be more patient and accepting the differences between – more... people. Made me more curious about the world and gave me more wish to be better as a person and a musician.
The hardest part of the job is avoiding routine. Also lack of privacy and space.
In the music department the management is more part of the team than other departments. I liked working with good musicians that got to be managers through hard work and skills leadership.
The most enjoyable part of the work is being able to travel and get to know part of the world that I wouldn't have had the chance otherwise. Using other facilities like spa, gym, restaurants, lounges was also fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Cruise Company
Human Resources (Current Employee), Miami, FLFebruary 11, 2014
Fun and challenging work environment. Great company to begin your career.

About Carnival Cruise Lines

Carnival is "The World's Most Popular Cruise Line®", with 23 ships operating three to 17 day voyages to The Bahamas, – Read more

Carnival Cruise Lines Photos