Find companies:
Carolinas HealthCare System
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
121 reviews

Carolinas HealthCare System Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Registrar (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCNovember 3, 2014
Through my position with CHS I have learned a great deal about the healthcare field. I have learned medical terminology and the way a doctor's office runs. I have learned about patient care and improved my customer service skills. I enjoy working for Carolinas Healthcare System.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work. Looked forward to working with my co-workers
Maintenance Mechanic II (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 31, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: having to deal with ungrateful people
Enjoyed coming to work and making rounds to the other departments. Always got the sense that everyone enjoyed their job. Seeing and talking to the patients and visitors made me feel good about being a part of a company that was making an impact in other peoples lives
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of the job
1st Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Charlotte, NC 28205October 31, 2014
Pros: bounses at the end of the year for meeting the goals set out by the hospital
Cons: hiring process a little to long
Seeing patients, doctors, and nursing receiving their orders they submitted
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with health wellness incentives.
CarePartner/Unit Secretary (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 31, 2014
Pros: complimentary free lunches once a month. annual cash incentives for eligible work attendance.
Cons: short lunches. floating to other health facilities as needed.
A typical day at work includes covering phones, read and route incoming mail. Scheduling and confirming upcoming appointments and to arrange adequate transporation. Maintain records of work performed daily for evening shift. Each day is committed to improving the health of the people, and being able to maintain confidentiality with staff and co-workers. – more... The most challenging part of the job is improving the diversity and culture competence of the health care workforce in all health disciplines. The most enjoyable and rewarding part of the job is being able to address the health care needs of those underserved communities and population. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointment
Guest Relations (Current Employee), CharlotteOctober 23, 2014
Cons: many
Lay offs are coming for CHS. I've been there nine years and they are trying to enforce weekend work. I can't work weekends because I can't afford daycare on the weekends as well the week. It doesn't matter to CMC. I have to find a job ASAP or I'm jobless. Thanks for nothing CMC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly productive workflow position with some great people. Providing education to the masses was enjoyable!
Graphic Designer/Photographer/Print Production (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 21, 2014
Pros: great work-sponsored events after hours, work incentives, great benefits, fun regional meetings, elective classes to excel
Cons: turnaround time on managerial decisions on creative
My position covered graphic design, photography and most recently, print production for 40 hospitals and 1,000+ medical practices.

As a designer, I produced layouts and designs that educated the public, winning a few awards along the way.

By offering in-house photography, our department (and system) was allowed to save tens of thousands of dollars – more... by not utilizing outside sources. Photography appeared in annual reports to brochures.

By handling and managing the print production for the system, I learned where I could be most efficient with costs, both in time and budget. I relayed this knowledge back to my team.

My closest co-workers knew my style and approach and I knew theirs. We worked efficiently together and saw results. Deadlines were easy on most projects as we had clear lines of discussion.

A somewhat difficult aspect of this position was the sheer volume at times. In the midst of recent healthcare changes, it created additional quick deadlines where designer, photographer and print production all came into play at once. It was a challenge and I loved it.

I learned early on that this position of presenting information and educating the public was what I enjoyed. Layouts, photos and even public events were part of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Patient Experience Coordinator (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 7, 2014
Enjoyed working with others who are dedicated to improving lives of patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, pay could be better, family friendly
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Charlott, NCOctober 2, 2014
CHS is committed to serving not just clients but people in general. They also understands the value of having a satisfied employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, Lots to learn and lots of people to meet
Inpatient/ER Patient Access Registrar Level II (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCSeptember 26, 2014
Opening up One Day Surgery at 4:30am to greet the patients that are coming in for surgery. I learn something new everyday about what to do in life and what not to do by talking to patients that are going through some situations. The hardest part about my job is getting to no patients very well and losing them to a illness that you cant help. I do enjoy – more... working here. We have Free lunches all the time and ticket give away's. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Healthcare System
Clinical Coordinator / Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Huntersville, NCSeptember 24, 2014
Schedule is great for my family but current position is more focused on paperwork than patient care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retired here
Physical Therapy Assistant (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: longevity
Cons: terrible retirement insurance.
Great company, steady stable job outlook for longevity. I loved my coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Concord, NCSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: benefits are good
Cons: sometimes there is no time for breaks
Most of the teammates work together. Nursing at first was fun and I was able to spend time with my patient and give quality care. Now it has gotten to where you spend more time on paper work/computer work than you do with the patient. The nurses and other teammates are spread thin. They are always busy, so busy that sometimes they don't have time to – more... go eat meals. I know this is due to the rising cost of health care but I want to give the patient the quality care they deserve.
You hardly ever see management because they are always in meetings.
The most enjoyable part of my job was seeing the patient get well and smile before they go home and say "thank you for showing me care". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, learned a-lot
TeleHealth Outreach Specialist (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCSeptember 8, 2014
Was able to interact with the public. Was helpful in meetings with other offices and teams. Fun bunch of co-works.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Medical Secretary (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCSeptember 7, 2014
Great place to work and move and grow within the company. Good co-workers. They do not over-work their employees and give great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work.
Patient Representative (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCAugust 30, 2014
Pros: being around patients, families and wonderful employees.
Cons: seeing people who are sick
I enjoyed my time at CMC. Great Managers and Co-workers. I am a people person who believed in the CMC Core Values and I advanced quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy helping those with psychiatric needs.
Psychiatric Technician (Current Employee), Davidson, NCAugust 29, 2014
Carolinas Healthcare Systems enables me to help those in need of psychiatric services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Concord, NCAugust 24, 2014
Pros: being able to use work badge in hospital cafeteria to pay for food.
A typical day at work consist of seeing anywhere between 25-50 patients a day.
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping patients with needs related to the specialty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Patient Account Rep (Current Employee), 501 Billingsley Rd. Chlot,NCAugust 17, 2014
My current job is a good job. Monday through Friday job. Job can be stressful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult, unrealistic expectations from Management
Systems Administrator/Intermediate/Call Back (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCAugust 12, 2014
Pros: overtime
Cons: undue stress, lies and manipulations created by new management team
Experience under new management over the past 2.5 years has been difficult. Work hours were too long. No empathy for work/life balance. Unrealistic expectations for numbers and growth while treatment is mediocre at best. Co-workers and myself are overworked and under-appreciated. The hardest part of the job is explaining exactly what the job entails – more... to management who were not interested in knowing how or how long the job is. Enjoyed the love between teammates and the fact that everyone was feeling the same way as far as the unrealistic expectations thrown upon us by the new management team in order to accomplish their goals that they made to upper management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's everything you make it into.
Quality specialist (Former Employee), CMC-NortheastAugust 12, 2014
Pros: the special people you meet.
Cons: too much nepotism
They have some really wonderful people to work with. I built very satisfying career there.

1 2 3 4 5

About Carolinas HealthCare System

The medical facilities under the watchful eye of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Hospital Authority care for the injured and infirmed. As – Read more