Find companies:
Carolinas HealthCare System
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
84 reviews

Carolinas HealthCare System Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place To Work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 8, 2014
Carolinas HealthCare System is one of the nation's leading and largest healthcare providers with a high focus on patient-centered care. As a former and current teammate, I had the privilege of facilitating New Teammate Orientation for more than 17,000 new teammates over a five year period. Additionally, I had the honor of contributing to the design – more... and implementation of a new and more engaging onboarding program for the System. CHS is certainly a Best Place To Work in that it places employee engagement at the center of every organizational goal with an understanding that without the people, patient care can not be achieved with excellence.

The most rewarding part of my career at CHS was meeting new teammates each week and participating in their career transitions. From CNO's to front line teammates, I enjoyed having the opportunity to engage with each one. Additionally, as an Organizational Development Consultant, I had the pleasure of coaching and educating senior leaders and their direct reports on how to fully engage their teams by using behavioral assessments and other learning tools such as Myers Briggs Type Indicator, Johari's Window, Predictive Index, etc.

My experience as a CHS teammate has been filled with educational opportunities. My learning opportunities ranged from patient access functions such as insurance verification and filing to how to apply adult learning principles into online learning platforms for teammates. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career Synopsis
Radiology Service Engineer MRI (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 4, 2014
Cons: flexing overtime, lack of pay and advancement
The Day to Day Operations at this Level 1 Trauma Center keep you on your Feet. Each Day brings its Challenges, and Opportunities to learn something new. We are constantly evolving to match the fast paced world of Medical Advances, and striving to stay ahead of the Encroaching Political Curve. In spite of all of the Budget Setbacks in the past few Years, – more... our main Goal still remains Excellent Patient Care. Each of us play an Integral Role in what we do to keep the Healthcare System functioning Efficiently, and Effectively. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team working atmosphere
Lead Officer (Current Employee), Concord, NCApril 2, 2014
Pros: secured job
Cons: short breaks
The people are great it is a busy atmosphere I really enjoy working here. Each day brings a different challenge and together as one the team solves each issue with commitment and caring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, multi-task environment
Live Answer Coordinator (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 2, 2014
Working in a multi physician specialty clinic, interacting with a variety of patients/people on a day to day basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical Office Assistant
Outpatient Registrar (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMarch 27, 2014
Checking patients in and out
Scheduling appt.s
Outside referrals
EMR
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clerical/ Medical Librarian
Medical Librarian, Radiation Oncology (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMarch 18, 2014
Assisted medical staff daily with keeping patient information up-to-date in a full time role, Requested patient’s medical history from medical organizations and sent authorized records, adhering to HIPPA standards and confidentiality agreements, Prepared client files for next day scheduled appointments; identified and correct any missing information, – more... Managed and maintained patient files, purged expired records and tracked file location, Fulfilled requests by other medical institutions for files in a timely manner and accurately, Utilized database to post charges, assist with IDX posting, and check insurance to complete patient files – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to Work
Security Officer II (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCMarch 18, 2014
Carolinas Medial Center's culture supports teammates from the bottom up and is phenomenal place to grow your career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Office Manager (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMarch 18, 2014
Pros: challenging
Cons: managing two urgent cares 20 miles apart with 8 different physicians
Office Manager. Managed physicians, nurses, front office staff.
Managed two Urgent Care facilities and staff. Filled in wherever needed (front office, nursing staff). Reviewed charts and coded, handled all physicians questions, concerns. Helped out performing drug screens, blood pressures, height, weight, temps, performed injections and blood draws – more... when necessary. In charge of opening new facility and hiring staff. Hardest part of job was trying to be in two places at once. Most enjoyable part of this job was the time I spent with patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CHS
Pharmacy Technician III (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJanuary 28, 2014
It's a good place to work, but they try to do more with less like most companies now a days. There isn't a whole lot of room for advancement unless you know someone in a executive role. It is truly a company based on who you know not what you know. Other than that it is an OK place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with ample opportunities to advance
Medical Receptionist (PAR/CSR) (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: helping patients and working in a friendly environment
Cons: pay
Wonderful working environment in a small intimate doctors office, where we see approximately 20-30 patients a day. I'm learning how to work with different personalities and how we all come together to make the patients experience memorable. Management allows for growth within the office as well as the company. I truly enjoy working with all of my co-workers – more... and the patients. Everyday is a learning opportunity and allows me the chance to make a difference. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Confidential professional who enjoy working with people,friendly and self starter,
Intern- Pastoral Care-Chaplain (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: opportunity to meet a varied diversity
On an average day I consult/ visit five to six patients. It brings me great joy to have the opportunity to provide support and counseling to either a patient, family member or staff. I have learned there is no one situation alike in doing consultations. I believe the most important part of my job is listening. It allows people to talk openly and know – more... that each conversation is confidential. I believe safety is an important factor in one's life; it creates a feeling of comfort when the information is confidential. The most enjoyable part of my job is to provide support and counseling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging, hard-working, and friendly atmoshphere
Application Specialist-The Meaningful Use Team (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: free snacks and drinks
Cons: not many ptos or holidays off
Typical work day is quiet, but also with lots of work and meetings

I learned to be a team member-how to work well with others, as well as how to learn from others. I learned how to work smarter and not harder. I learned how to broaden my skills.

Management is fair and friendly. We are serious when it comes down to business, but are friendly and silly – more... to make the stress of work a little easier.

Co-workers are varied in age, it's good to learn from the wiser older groups and from the tech. oriented younger generation.

Hardest part is trying to get important information from busy physicians and working with very tight deadlines, but it doesn't mean it's not do-able, with some planning ahead.

I enjoy the clean work place, nice co-workers, and hard-working and smart teammates. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Statistician (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: great benefits, uniforms
Cons: poor holiday pay
Busy hospital. Hard to find interpreters when needed. co-workers are overworked. One does meet a lot of great people and hears some wonderful stories. In my department every day was interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love meeting new people and hard working
Medical Secretary (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: being employed, working with people, new environment
Cons: moving on to the next phase of your life is sometimes difficult, when you work with co-workers so long; it's hard to leave.
Every job I had the opportunity to work on; has been a wonderful experience. I am a hard working, true team player, respectful, and live and breathe by " Treat others as you would treat yourself". Doing so; you will never go wrong and living by those standards has always served me well; wherever I go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable
Physician Office Lab Assistant II (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: free lunches, the experience, etc
Cons: short staffed at times, better pay, etc.
A typical work day was normal, had a normal routine that we went by. Enjoyed my job and the patients that I encountered. I really enjoyed working the the pediatric patients. Management was ok I think at times it could have been better, but overall it was ok. Enjoyed my co-workers and they were a team player. Hardest part of job was when we were short – more... staffed and having to carry your weight and some of the co-workers weight, but at the end of the day we got it done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fantastic place to start a healthcare career
Patient Accounting/Denial Appeals Represenative (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCDecember 30, 2013
Most rewarding job I have ever worked at; I am constantly motivated and challenged by my supervisor and manager to accomplish my goals as well as system goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Business Office Manager (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCDecember 26, 2013
Great compnay to work for. Enjoy the work. Carolinas HealthCare System is an amazing organization with many hospitals and thousands of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Critical Care
Critical Care Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCDecember 6, 2013
Pros: icu experience; the best nursing experience!
Cons: career progression
Staff nurse in 20 bed medical ICU.
Learned to save lives and roll with tide.
Management was great. Loved my head nurse.
Co-workers were highly intelligent nurses.
Managing Codes
Sending patients to the floor as many did not survive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alot of areas to work as a nurse
registered nurse (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCNovember 30, 2013
Pros: lotsof discounts for diferent things throughout te year, tution reimbursement, push for education and magnet status.
Cons: sometimes it being so large it feels impersonable
alot of advancement in career, up to most currently in healthcare, known for traum in adults and pedi in the carolinas and respected throughout the state. Didn't feel very personable as an employee, it seemed managment not in tune with employees at bedside care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very bad place to work
security officer (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCNovember 26, 2013
Pros: a job
Cons: work to hard for pay
very bad to work for write reports all day do not work for main all officers want to work for another one but main. to many officer quit and the pay is only 13 50 hour

1 2 3 4 5

About Carolinas HealthCare System

The medical facilities under the watchful eye of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Hospital Authority care for the injured and infirmed. As – Read more

Carolinas HealthCare System Photos