Find companies:
Carolinas Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
69 reviews

Carolinas Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at CMC
Patient Registration (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCAugust 24, 2014
Pros: working with people
Cons: working in a large over populated city
Working at Carolinas Medical Center has been very rewarding. I have learned much in my five years there and continue to reward myself with compassion and respect for my job. I work with great people and management. However, I look forward to moving back to my hometown.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would prefer not to review
Surgical Critical Care Fellowship (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCAugust 22, 2014
A high quality cutting age environment. I am learning daily in my fellowship with some of the best intellectuals I have ever met. I enjoy the fast-pace environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first position as a Registered Nurse
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCAugust 20, 2014
Pros: management
Cons: lots of deaths
Loved this hospital!!! Learned so much as a new nursing graduate. Started out on the trauma step-down unit and then advanced to trauma intensive care unit. Everyone worked as a team, had a great manager and all the equipment needed to take good care of the patients. Low patient to nurse ratios. The hardest part of this job was dealing with life and – more... death everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Special Events Volunteer (Former Employee), Concord, NCAugust 19, 2014
A great agency to volunteer for and to gain some experience in the health field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge turnover and poor management.
Staff (Current Employee), PrivateJuly 29, 2014
Pros: pay is middle of the road, nurses are great.
Cons: workloads, poor orientation process, leadership turnover.
There is a consistent turnover in management and in leadership rolls that never seems to stop. In 2013, nearly 70+ therapists left this hospital and they typically hire new grads without any experience. The orientation process sets up staff for failure and they are often left learning from outdated practitioners.

When the hospital is short staffed, – more... the managers and directors have NEVER stepped in to help and left the hospital with an unsafe number of therapist to cover. Poor example of true leadership and many of the staff have had to stay 24+hrs (without a choice). Stay clear of that department, worst in the system! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RSC
PRN Bilingual Live Coordinator (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 8, 2014
Pros: commission
Cons: shifts
Sales position, High quotas pay is decent. If you don't like meeting sales you probably won't like this position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Operations Manager-Mercy (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJune 23, 2014
Pros: education options
Cons: healthcare reform
Good opportunites for advancement and great education options. Great culture to work and be part of in your career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alyways there
Health Care Technician/Unit Secretary (Former Employee), Rock Hill, SCJune 19, 2014
Pros: teamwork
The teams you worked with no matter if you had to go to another unit, were always there if you need anything at all. They would make you smile and would do anything to make the shift go by as easy as possible. If you needed to talk to someone including management, they were there. I had to have surgery while working there and they were there for me. – more... Even when I came back. You don't find many places like that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very Nice place to work.
Call Center Associate (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJune 4, 2014
Pros: wonderful director!!
Wonderful team members. Everyday is full of new adventures and there is never a dull moment..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Work Environment - Upper management that cares
Medical ICU Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCMay 30, 2014
Pros: high acuity - more learning opportunities
Cons: high acuity - faster rate of burn-out among staff
Awesome work environment! Everyone is trying to improve. Magnet recognized hospital.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
CUSTOMER CARE. CVS/PHARMACY (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMay 22, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
Made special and long term relationships with other employees. I was so happy at this job. never a dull moment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Internal Medicine Registrar (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMay 2, 2014
Carolina s healthcare is an amazing company to work for that has great opportunities for growth and advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department of Neurology
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 20, 2014
I am an MS Certified nurse who works in a busy outpatient clinic environment with MS patients. I triage patients in the clinic who are coming for for routine office visits. I also provide professional telephone support to all patients who call.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About me
Certified Nursing Assistant I (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 18, 2014
My typical day at work would be caring for patient's who need help or assistance with ADL's. I do bathing, feeding, cleaning,etc. The hardest part about my job is trying to satisfy everyone which is very hard. I try my best to leave out making sure I do a good job and leaving a smile on everyone's face.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed being employed with a great company
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMarch 25, 2014
Pros: meeting new faces each day
Cons: letting a loved one know the passing of their family members
I learned how to connect with a diversity of many people every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trauma 1 hospital
CRT Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMarch 24, 2014
Pros: great team work
Cons: short breaks due to it being busy, and the needs of the patient, but its what you signed on for so you deal with it.
Your day typically starts out with assessment of the patient, checking orders written by the doctors, then you go in to meet the patient and family. Explain your role and begin giving breathing treatments, and checking ventilators if the patient is on one. Working with a great team of therapist makes a hard day seem easy because you know that if you – more... get tied up someone will be there to help you. The hardest part of the job is watching the family pleading for you to tell them everything is going to be okay, and you can't always guarantee that, so you do the best you can to help make everything as easy for them as possible. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing some of the most injured patients get better, and eventually leave, knowing that you had a part in their care, makes the hard days worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RHIT
Medical Records Technician (Former Employee), Charlotte NCMarch 12, 2014
Excellent work environment with excellent and profession workers this a great job and a pleasure to work here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boy ol boy
house keeping (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMarch 1, 2014
It was okay but the people there are very nosy!! they never let you be. there always trying be little you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stable work- horrible atmosphere
Coding Supervisor (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: plenty of work
Cons: upper management - micro manage
micro management
everyone is for themselves
hospital politics- at its worse

the actual work- coding ( remote) or as managing folks, auditing was enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible working Environment
Psy. Tech (Current Employee), Charlotte NCFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: overtime
Cons: no medical coverage
Observes, reports, and documents signs and symptoms or changes in patient behavior to charge nurse.
Interacts with patients therapeutically.
Assists, initiates, and participates in social and recreational activities, group therapy, patient teaching groups, and other group activities.
Uses CPI techniques appropriately.
Makes rounds on assigned patients – more... at least every half hour during shift.
Demonstrates flexibility in changing workload.
Responds to patients with empathy, maintaining their dignity and confidentiality.
Participates in unit-based process improvement activities.
Participates in unit-based committees.
May include on-call duties as requested by administration. – less

1 2 3 4

Carolinas Medical Center Photos