Carpenter Co Employee Reviews

Showing all 35 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet Environment
Regional/Local Lead Driver (Current Employee) –  High Point, NCJune 30, 2017
This job has provided stable employment for me for 17 years. It's a fairly quiet environment. My position, in particularly provides me a varied schedule from week to week.
Pros
Stable Employment, great healthcare benefits, profit sharing, and 401K.
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
confusing
Forklift Operator/Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLMay 9, 2017
schedule was never consistent, poor communication skills, supervisors were never on the same page, no advancement, no pay raises, low moral throughout company.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
poor supervision, poor communication, no incenitives.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a job
Maintenance Clerk (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLJanuary 3, 2017
The work is easy but management keeps pushing people out the door. It has gotten to the point where there is a permanent now hiring sign in front of the building.
Pros
work is easy
Cons
healthcare program is good
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away
Controls Technician (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CASeptember 13, 2016
If you have to have a job than don't stop looking when you are with this place. It is a terrible place to work from the top down and if have to take a position there than keep in mind every day that it is temporary!
Pros
Nothing that I found
Cons
Dirty, dangerous, bad management and bad HR
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its was a good job
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Lathrop, CAAugust 19, 2016
Carpenter gave me the opportunity to work well I didn't have no job the good company I learned a lot from there got forklift certified and knew how to do order selecting where to buy the warehouse is closed down now
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Management has no clue
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Elkhart, INMay 13, 2016
Top Management and upper management has no idea how to run a business. They are from the stone age and are not at all interested in what their employees have to offer or ideas they have.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Treating Employees with respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid established Company
Manager (Former Employee) –  RichmondOctober 8, 2015
Well established Richmond Company with an international footprint.

Good place to get experience. Solid employees.

Work typically comes before family, but culture is changing.

Compensation is below median in most cases.
Pros
Solid company
Cons
Work comes before family
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low turnover, but little to no opportunity for advancement
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Taylorsville, NCSeptember 22, 2015
If you are good enough at a job, you will get to keep it. The problem is that's probably as far as you'll get. They hire management from college, not within the company.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for Carpenter company in High Point, N.C. !!!!!!
employee looking for another job (Current Employee) –  High Point, N.C.June 26, 2015
From the very first interview the company plant manager lies to you. He says you will get 40 hours with overtime but you really are lucky to get 6 to 7 hours per day. The company is also very low hourly pay from 9 to 10 dollars an hour with no room for moving up. You will be lucky to take home 275.00 a week. Very hot !!! No air in plant. Stays about 100 to 105 degrees inside everyday. So hot it makes you sick. Very few old fans. Keep looking for something better !!!!!!!!!!!
Pros
No pros
Cons
Very little break, people working there are low educated and some homeless, The company works employees like a sweat shop.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning experience
Stock Pull/ Utility Operator (Former Employee) –  Lathrop, CAJune 8, 2015
fun and productive company to work for. carpenter took good care of me, however, the management was poor. they workers seemed to know more about the production lines than the management did.
Pros
good pay
Cons
worked a lot of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SAP SD Functional Consultant
SAP SD Functional Consultant (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAMarch 18, 2015
Carpenter Company is the world’s largest producer of comfort cushioning products. The SD module was implemented based on their business requirements. I was involved in the implementation of Order Management including pricing and billing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Utility Operator (Former Employee) –  Lathrop, CAFebruary 27, 2015
This is the best company i have ever worked for. unfortunatly i was young and naive when i was givin the opportunity to work here. this is were i learned the ins and outs of production and i was cross trained on 4 differant heavy machines to operate. i had a small group of 4-8 people working on the back end of the line while i created the product with a computer layout. if it wasnt for me missing so much work and taking vacation i would surely still be working for this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People oriented and always update the lunch room
Utility operator (Former Employee) –  Lathrop, CAFebruary 25, 2015
The work maybe a challenging because of the work hours but love how the the employees and staff get along with each other. I love how I am my own boss before I was pregnant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co-workers
Shipping Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLFebruary 16, 2015
my co-workers got the job done as a team no matter how late or long,we all got along in order to keep production going and meet deadlines.
Pros
overtime
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative, Productive and High Energy work
SAP FICO Consultant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 1, 2015
Great co-workers, enjoyable work environment, working in SAP FICO was a great experience, compensation was good and lot of over time work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old School 1930's Management
Analyst (Former Employee) –  RichmondJanuary 15, 2015
Carpenter has a management team of one the owner. It is an effective company because of the hard work of the employees and the genius of the owner. The company has be undergoing changes for the better and moving forward. The President is more employee oriented than his predecessors. The best part about Carpenter is the employees.
Pros
Steady work
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer focused family environment
Russellville Division Safety Manager (Former Employee) –  Russellville, KYJanuary 14, 2015
Customer needs is a priority, meeting customer demands while balancing the needs of the employee. Management overall is understanding and willing to work with employees but not to hinder customer demand.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Seamstress (Current Employee) –  Lakeland, FLNovember 3, 2014
We have good days of work and days
I have learned to not bring personal business to work
The employees were not treated very fairly
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, Great Management
Account Payables/Office Administrator (Current Employee) –  High Point, NCSeptember 22, 2014
Answered phones, filed, doing daily invoicing, issued purchase orders all accounts payable, sales reports, daily, monthly weekly reports.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at Carpenter Co
Utility Person (Former Employee) –  Russellville, KYAugust 17, 2014
The Production is repetitive mostly,I felt like i could have learned more had i got the opportunity to have Cross Trained.
Pros
One Great thing is Carpenter has a nice work out gym.
Cons
Very Hot in the Facility.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Carpenter Co. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 35 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.6
Culture
2.9