CARQUEST Auto Parts Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its all in the team you are dealt
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZOctober 3, 2017
If you have a great team in your store you will succeed. .Work hard and you man advance in a couple years of loyalty. New stores opening up with opportunity to advance. Always looking for good help.
Pros
great outgoing customers
Cons
never had enough people scheduled
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible experience
Mobile Parts Pro (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALSeptember 17, 2017
I was given many opportunities to show and apply the knowledge that i had learned which in turn made me a better employee, I worked with a great group of folks. I hope to find another employer as good as this one.
Pros
Free lunches, bonuses, advancement etc..
Cons
No insurance or vacation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and relaxed work place
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CASeptember 6, 2017
work with many shop owners to get the right parts and tools they need. work on getting the customers the correct part. very enjoyable work place. worst part is the low pay and hours.
Pros
enjoyable work place
Cons
low pay and hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
carquest is a great place to wokr the pepole are great.i hated that i had to leav. if i could i would work there again.
Customer Service/Sales (Former Employee) –  Rocklin, CASeptember 1, 2017
I loved working at carquest. they were a good company to work fore. they offer good benefits and good work habbits.tha people are great to worke with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UN friendly
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MDAugust 29, 2017
Long hours thankless job. Management is pushed to perform or its their job so they push you does not matter if the phone rings or not or if the customer walks through the door its the hourly wage earner who is to blame for the poor performance of the store.
Pros
Health insurance
Cons
No discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carquest was good but purchased by Advance Auto Parts and management not great
Commercial Sales Manger (Former Employee) –  Kent, WAAugust 26, 2017
In charge of sales for four company stores over a twenty year period.

Grow sales in all stores and open new accounts and markets.

Believe company is fine just a few management changes needed to get to where they need to be.

Enjoyed all my counter parts and worked well as a team.

Normal week included spending a day in each stores market area and creating sales and loyalty towards company.
Pros
Solid company financially and some really good employees
Cons
Need to look at a couple of there sales managers for improvement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  MarylandAugust 24, 2017
Management was absolutely terrible. Was worst place I ever worked. Does not care about employees, you're basically just a number to them. Very stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Manager Auto Parts (Former Employee) –  Hurley, VAAugust 18, 2017
Auto parts sales and deliveries, meeting new customers setting up commercial accounts. Computer use for stocking and inventory control, cleaning and maintaining store.
Pros
learning all about parts
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of managment
Parts Handler (Former Employee) –  Billings, MTAugust 18, 2017
It use to be a great company to work for. But now since there is different management there, it has not been that great of a place to work for. Management never took care of any problems that happen there neither did HR. The employees back stab other employees. They would make it a drama place. Not a great working environment is what they would make it as. No one would work as a team. Like you should. Overall with the company, I'm disappointed.
Pros
Use to have great managment
Cons
Poor work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I cannot offer a fair review of this company
Shuttle Driver/Loop Driver (Former Employee) –  Oxnard, CAAugust 17, 2017
I cannot offer a fair review of this company. I would still be there but I had to leave after working there 9 years. My housing rent was increasing and as my wages were stagnant, I occasionally worked some overtime, which was readjusted before payday, yielding 40 hours exactly and no way to prove the fraud. I was pending losing all and so I chose to leave the job to help family instead so I would not end up on the street. Improving transfer assistance and guidelines would undoubtedly be helpful as well. I feel that I was thrown under the bus and I have disgust for them.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Unfair pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in carmax for carquest was enjoyable
ISSP - PARTS MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCAugust 16, 2017
good communication with management. not having a secure contract with carmax, was an obstical. work hours were reletively fair. pay and bonus schedule was fair
Pros
pay
Cons
decisions from 1200 miles away
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productivity
Auto Parts Handler (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCAugust 10, 2017
A typical day, it was long day, fast paced, the fun part of job, was competing to win weekly bouns, for pulling the most car parts for the week, i enjoyed my coworkers
Pros
one hour lunch
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy not good pay
Driver (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, VAJuly 31, 2017
Not very challenging, easy job, good benefits, very nice people to work with and for, can be stressful as driving conditions change, not a clean environment to work in
Pros
Great benefits and opportunity to grow
Cons
Short lunch, have to deal with traffic and weater conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Company had ESOP program/stock options.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Albany, GAJuly 17, 2017
Best job I ever had. Able to put up money for my retirement down the road. The Sloan family took care of there teammates. Held a couple of mgmt jobs with CQ. Moved for 4 years to Ocala Florida to help build a group of stores back 15 years ago
Pros
Had accompany vehicle/credit card most of my career here
Cons
Privately owned company kept it from being able to compete in its later years
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is out of business
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Cedarburg, WIJuly 13, 2017
I can't review this company as it is no longer in business. It was taken over by Advance Auto Parts which is why I left. I have no knowledge of how the new ownership is running things.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Vincennes, INJuly 9, 2017
Enjoyed sales and learning the business. Talking with new customers and older motorheads. Some days were slow but a good job when I needed it. Had a lot of good days there
Pros
Fast paced
Cons
Competition
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driver position was enjoyable
Parts Driver (Former Employee) –  FloridaJune 28, 2017
The position started out ok, but as time went on I grew frustrated by the driving in traffic all day. I was told there was a chance to move into the office taking parts orders form customers, but that never happened
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No review
Parts Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Naperville, ILJune 27, 2017
Carquest was bought out by and merged with Advance Auto Parts.

I don't really have any additional comments or review about this job at this time.

No review.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CARQUEST was a great Company
Sr. Human Resources Manager (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYJune 24, 2017
CARQUEST was a great place to work.

The Company truly cared for it's employees and always strived to do the right thing for the customer and employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is in trouble
Manager (Current Employee) –  CAJune 13, 2017
Purchased by Advance Auto and the transition has been bungled since the beginning. 4 years later and they still haven't finished. Company could do really well there are some incredible employees but upper management seems to have no vision.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CARQUEST Auto Parts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 345 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4