Find companies:
Carriage Services, Incorporated
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 reviews

Carriage Services, Incorporated Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place to gain experience
Senior Financial Reporting Accountant (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 30, 2013
Place to gain experience. Great Work/Life Balance. Typical 8-5 except during month end close which requires a few extra hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I cannot give a positive recommendation for Carriage Services
Office (Former Employee), VirginiaMarch 14, 2013
Pros: insurance
Cons: low pay, raises are rare, no appreciation whatsoever
My first advice if your looking for this type of work is to KEEP LOOKING! I worked for one of their locations at one of the funeral homes Carriage owned. I was pulled from the position I was hired for and held for 6 years, no discussing it, no heads up, nothing. The corp office had the Manager move me to a new position because they needed to cut staff. – more... I was just thrown into the new position and given mounds more work. No training, no raise, no support whatsoever. Our staff was cut so much there were barely enough directors to handle funerals. Employees were not happy and overworked with very low pay. Very high turnover in employees and Managers. Unless it's a legal matter, the corporate office staff and CEO could care less about the employees, especially at locations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Pre-Need Contract Processor (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 28, 2012
Pros: christmas parties
Cons: unorganized
I had to post payments to various accounts. There was no organization within the payments or the information in the system. I had to do alot of research in order to get the customer payments accurate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good entry level job
Treasury Analyst (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 5, 2012
Pros: learned alot
Cons: very strict
Great place to start your career. Very by the book. and ridged hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great location, no job security
Staff Accountant (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 13, 2012
Pros: free lunches, weekends off
Cons: no room for advancement, high turnover
Some nice people in the corporate office, but jobs are being outsourced. No room for advancement. Repetitive, monotonous tasks month after month.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware!
gravedigger (Former Employee), FloridaSeptember 28, 2012
The benefits are great with this company and all of the people at Corporate are wonderful (my experience, anyway), HOWEVER, management has become animals that eat their young! I worked at one of the locations for over 10 years and was fired on grounds that were certainly questionable. If management wants you gone for any reason, you are gone even though – more... you have had a long, dedicated, proven career with no reprimands in your personel file. If you don't mind getting chewed up and spit out, go ahead...work for them! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carriage Services, Inc NOT a good Company to Work For
Director (Former Employee), AnonymousJuly 31, 2012
Pros: good insurance
Cons: lack of ethics
I did not work in the Corporate Office in Houston. I worked for one of their locations for over a decade. I'm sorry to say this but I was shocked by the unethical treatment of employees. No respect, no praise, no raises no matter what you do. Job promotion is slim to none. No concern whatsoever for staff, you're here today, gone tomorrow. Most distressing – more... is this company is in the death care industry. Yet, there is not one ounce of care or compassion shown to employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Location Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXJuly 16, 2012
A very high paced and demanding career, the company handels it well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I give a ZERO Star Rating
Funeral Director (Former Employee), VirginiaJune 7, 2012
Pros: helping the families we served, through a difficult time
Cons: poor employee treatment, no appreciation, no raises, constant fear
I worked for Carriage for 9 years. Gave my heart, soul and gave up time with my family to "Be the Best". However, I or no staff ever received acknowledgement of this praise or recognition. Had one very small raises in nine years, the last one seven years ago. There was always excuses for why staff never received raises. Staff has been cut to a bare – more... minimum meaning those left were overworked . and had a lot of extra responsibilities shoved on them. All staff feared being the next to be cut in order to cut costs. Morale was very low and most employees spoke very poorly of Carriage. All the employees feel that Carriage could care less about them and sadly, they are right. Managers are made to turn against their own employees to please Carriages requests. It seems they lead by fear and not positive motivation. Nothing is ever consistent. – less

concernedFD – February 9, 2013

Being the Best - a wonderful premise - words to live by - and yet when a person tries to be the best and expect the best - but substandard is accepted by others....sorry state of affairs in the Highlands location. The company is much like others, good benefits decent corporate ideals but location managers should not get the idea they are "Gods"

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for with good co-workers
Sales & Use Tax Accountant (Current Employee), Houston, TexasDecember 23, 2011
Pros: set my own hours
Cons: location, advancement not aligned with my 5 year plan
The company is vastly growing in size and is a public company with a great group of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company despite poor management
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLJuly 16, 2013
The used to have a location based management structure but that is being replaced with a top down structure that doesn't work. They also keep bringing in old SCI guys and the company is quickly becoming SCI jr.