Carroll Hospital Center Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Financial Counselor (Current Employee) –  Westminster, MDAugust 9, 2017
Working at Carroll hospital center has been a wonderful experience. I have met some amazing people and love the patient's who come hear for services. The sence of community support is evadently seen by the wonderful donations given to the foundation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Family /community oriented.
Phlebotomist 3 (Current Employee) –  Hospital campusAugust 8, 2017
The only part of the job that is not attractive is the levels for advancement. Many of our associates have lived and worked here since they were out of high school. The seniority levels are highly recognized.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Not too many breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed
RN Charge Nurse (Current Employee) –  Westminster, MDJuly 3, 2017
Going through a lot of changes since merging with Lifebridge. Loss of a lot of staff, poor management. Out dated equipment. Bad health insurance. Don't understand or respect the balance of work and home life.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Understaffed, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Management & Administration
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Westminster, MDJune 10, 2017
Don't believe ANY of the positive reviews!They must have been placed there by administration.This is the most uncompassionate,top heavy facility I've seen in my long nursing career.Too many chiefs and not enough Indians,as the saying goes.Severely short staffed.UNSAFE nursing ratios.Health insurance is a joke and you are forced to have your prescriptions filled at the hospital pharmacy that has limited hours and incompetent staff.Management and the entire hospital environment treat the nurses like garbage.Positive reviews only come from desk job employees who don't do bedside nursing.This place will kill your spirit.Dont do it if you're a nurse and have any respect for yourself and your license.
Pros
Great nurses who pull together when short staffed to survive
Cons
No breaks, short staffed, horrible health benefits, poor management/administration
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough staff
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  MarylandMay 3, 2017
Not enough staff for the amount of patients they would like you to take care, always short on nurses and PCT. Than when you are fully staffed on the unit ours was the one they always pulled from and made us short again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Director, Health Information Mgt. Dept. and CDI (Former Employee) –  Westminster, MD 21157March 14, 2017
Prefer not to say anything as a lot has changed in the 3.5 years since I was employed there. I was very happy at Carroll. Had a great staff and management staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedule that allowed for training, growth and support
ED Administrative Assistant/Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Westminster, MDFebruary 16, 2017
I entered CHC with little healthcare experience. They offered training, education reimbursement and opportunity to advance within. I was able to adjust my schedule around classes and eventually make a change that allowed time for my family based on my needs at the time and further my goals in the healthcare field. I enjoy working directly with patients/people and through the years working for CHC/CHG I have been able to find enjoyment in those relationships.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic hospital!
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Westminster, MDJanuary 5, 2017
Incredible facility. Very modern. The doctors perform at the top rank. The nurses are incredible. Everyone is very friendly throughout the hospital. Very well kept.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant Rotating Door of Employees - Good Ole' Girl Network
ER Registrar (Current Employee) –  Westminster, MDDecember 29, 2016
You've heard of the Good Ole' Boy Network? It's the Good Ole' Girl Network at CHC. If you're related or buddies to the CEO or one of her "Good Ole' Girls" who operate the place then you're in luck. Otherwise good luck getting a professional and fair environment. Constant revolving door in the ED Registrar Department.
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
RN (Former Employee) –  Westminster, MDDecember 6, 2016
Loved the community feel of the hospital. The higher ups knew who you were. My nursing manager sent notes when a good job was being done. It's nice to be recognized and be noticed!
Pros
Free parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unsafe matrix of nurses to patients, always short-staffed
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Westminster, MDNovember 13, 2016
Long-time employee and agree with other reviews that since Lifebridge took over hospital went down-hill. You can and will be fired on any given day. Firing seasoned nurses and staffing with new grads Particular units are unsafe with RN's doing all primary care never have a tech. Management just kept adding more and more paperwork for RN's to do. Never got out of a 12 hour day shift on time.
Pros
several co-workers had been working together for over 20 years
Cons
barely ever had a normal lunch break, unsafe staffing, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and great interaction with patients.
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Westminster, MDOctober 31, 2016
This was a great place to work for the first 8 years. Then they changed the matrix so I was the only tech for 24 patients on a telemetry floor. I felt that was not safe. It also became all about documentation and patient care came second.
Pros
Great team work
Cons
Not enough patient care
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice at first, then terrible
hard worker (Former Employee) –  Westminster, MDJune 8, 2016
The work is good solid work and the co-workers for the most part are good people. The management is horrible. They will fire you with no notice and make up a reason that suits them. The truth doesn't matter. What's right doesn't matter. HR supports the management only to fire people. For any other reason HR is deaf and useless. They are not there to help or even listen.
Since the merger with Lifebridge middle management have been even worse. They realize their positions are not necessary and are trying to show they are needed by forcing their authority when it makes them look good. They think this will keep them in their positions.
This is probably why there are about 150 positions open at the hospital.
Pros
coworkers
Cons
HR and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work due to take-over
Coordinator Diabetes Center (Former Employee) –  Tevis Center for WellnessApril 26, 2016
Ever since the Life Bridge take-over, management has become paranoid about job security. They are pre-occupied with "looking good" to the new administration. As you know, this undue stress trickles down to the "front line." There are many unjust decisions made there. Poor management training. Most associates are unhappy. Avoid this place. People are fleeing this organization.
Pros
Nice rural setting
Cons
Physicians and nurses are leaving due to administrative changes, as non clinical people are making clinical decisions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Suggest NOT work here.
customer service (Former Employee) –  Carroll County, MDNovember 12, 2015
Poor management and always short staffed make a very stressful work environment. No recognition for job performance. Salary and benefits are not keeping up with cost of living.
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work!
Preceptorship (Former Employee) –  Westminster, MDNovember 2, 2015
Very friendly staff who love to teach and show you the in's and out's of the job. The most enjoyable part was being apart of team who love what they do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People to work with!
Respiratory Therapist / Exec. Director (Former Employee) –  Westminster, MDOctober 14, 2015
Great experience with growing environment. Staff is superior and puts in an enormous effort consistently. Would encourage employment at Carrol Hospital.
Pros
Always trying to improve
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sterile Processing Technician II (Former Employee) –  Westminster, MDOctober 8, 2015
very nice hospital, good people, nice facility, they keep improving.
will recommend this place to others. the overall management team is good. I enjoyed working with the sterile processing team and I leaned a lot of skills like patience and forgiveness.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and with very good food and nice people
carroll hospital center (Former Employee) –  carroll hospital centerSeptember 15, 2015
All of my coworkers and mentors were well respected and fun to work with the experience overall i loved and if could do it over again i will the hrs were very suitable for me as well
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place of employment
Collection Registration Specialist (Former Employee) –  Westminster, MDSeptember 1, 2015
A job that you can go to and receive instant gratification just by completing your job. The most enjoyable part of the job is the people: those you work with, those you help, and those that help you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Carroll Hospital Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 61 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.2

Carroll Hospital Center Reviews by Location