Find companies:
CARSON'S
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
42 reviews

CARSON'S Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxing environment
SALE ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), northbrook, ilNovember 26, 2014
very relaxing gift shop very friendly employees and customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time job
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Mattoon, ILNovember 24, 2014
Working for Carson's was enjoyable but not something I would want to do full time. I worked only part time because I was going to school full time. I learned how to process credit cards, up selling products, and how to prevent theft. Most shifts that I worked, I was alone in my department so I consistently had to be paying attention and making sure – more... that everything was where it should be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review about Carson's
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Charter Township of Clinton, MINovember 19, 2014
I worked in the accessories department. Carson's is just like Macy's. We ring up customer's, make sure our department area was organized, clean, made sure we replenished items. On occasion I would size a watch for a customer if needed.

Co-workers were mostly nice, easy to work with.

Management was fine.

Hardest part of the job is being there for – more... 8-9 hours/day.

Most enjoyable part- interacting with the co-workers, and customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer First
Shoe Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Elkhart, INNovember 4, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, great benefits
Cons: uncordinated management, poor asthetics
Unfortunately, this location is not doing well, but neither is any store in the mall it is attached too. This is a store that lives by its motto "Customer First", even when the corporation makes it hard. All employees and management work hard to help make the customer feel welcome and happy. It isn't as much as finding something today for that customer, – more... but giving them an experience they will keep returning too.
But with as wonderful as Carson's is with customers, the management has fallen slack with their employees. Favoritism is overwhelming, to the point it effects the ability to work of other employees. It is harsh enough that departmental managers cannot do anything about it.
Yet overall, I have enjoyed my time working here and I love working for the company. No job is perfect, but this one is certainly a great place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
receiving/stock associate (Current Employee), Benton Harbor, MIOctober 14, 2014
Cons: short breaks...
I feel that my job is easy. I learned to work together as a team. We help each other with what ever ..management is excellent. I see no hard part of this job. I enjoy being a part of a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
keeps you busy and always an adventure
sales associate (Current Employee), Vernon hills illinoisSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: we have a job and are g grateful for that
Cons: too little pay for all the work
Retail is a tough industry, I just think that the sales associates ,employees should be paid more. And more communication amongst managers sales associate. A compliment once in awhile would be nice. I walk in with a positive attitude . I pray meditate... before I walk in. I know it's hard working with customers, and trying to keep up with cleaning the – more... area. There's always projects, Mark downs, folding, hanging. It's difficult to do this and provide customer service. But when given your review, all of this is considered. .I really think the main problem is the pay rate. Customers come to us, want 5 star service they actually think that sales associates are there to cater to them. SHOULD BE THAT WAY. .. than you have your supervisor behind you, about getting products out. Opening accounts, we are the bearer of any news to the customer. We need to ask them, about an account, tell them what special we have and try and sell them books of coupon for charity. I understand all that. That's why I think we should get paid decent. Sometimes we are treated so bad by managers/supervisor. That it take a toll of the employee that is just there to work and serve the customer. I think that if your representing a store, you should treat people the way, you wOuld like to be t treated. That's all. ... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job just seasonal
Dock Worker (Former Employee), Chicago Ridge, ILSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: great hours
Cons: seasonal
although seasonal this job showed me how working on a dock can be it was fun and spontaneous loading/unloading trucks and coordinating merchandise to the sales floor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The workers are always friendly to every one
sells associate (Current Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 1, 2014
A typical day is when every one leaves happy. The co-workers help you when you are new.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Mattoon, ILAugust 7, 2014
Pros: the energy and how happy customers are when you get them a deal.
Cons: minimum wage and no breaks for 4 hour shifts.
A typical day at work would be to clock in, make sure all markdowns are done, check the register to make sure it has enough money, clean out dressing rooms, talk with a manager about what needs done, if it's a closing shift, either setting a sale or straightening, then clock out. I learned how to count money quickly, memorize where items of clothing – more... go when cleaning a dressing room out, how to keep the desk clean, etc. The management here is very fun to work with. Some managers are more strict than others, but all of them are fun. The hardest part of this job would be setting sales. When you set them, it has to be done efficiently and rather quickly in order to get everything done. Some departments have more signs to change than others, and sometimes it gets confusing. The most enjoyable part is the people that work there. When I go in, mostly everyone says hi to me as I walk past. It's a good feeling to know that they're happy to see me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice coworkers but understaffed
Shoe Stock Associate (Former Employee), Fort Wayne, INJuly 26, 2014
Pros: independence, early hours, consistent schedule
Cons: early hours, hot in the stockroom
I got to work alone and was able to mainly focus on my work in the stock room.
TYPICAL DAY: It depends on the day really. But most days I just reorganized my stock room. Other days: Scan for markdowns/clearance, if shoes go "yellow dot," which is the second markdown stage, I have to find the matching shoe from the selling floor in the stock room (there – more... were over 1400 shoes on the selling floor).
WHAT I LEARNED: Well, I learned how to RFID tag shoes, since that was a new edition to Carson's during my employment.
MANAGEMENT: They were fair and would listen to your ideas, suggestions or, in the case of Shoe Associates, their complaints about stolen commissions. Some of the rules for the shoe stock room were a little questionable. For example: Some of the shoes were separated by brand, but not all of them. Even though everyone, including a employee from another store, agreed that separating all shoes by brand would be easier to fin in the stock room.
CO-WORKERS: They were all pretty nice. Like all places of work there were a few bad apples but they soon left for other job prospects. All in all though my coworkers treated me and customers well.
HARDEST PART OF MY JOB: That would be hands down the truck. I often had to do the all of or most of the truck by myself. I would have to open the boxes, see what shoe was in there; if it was new, I would have to set aside the smallest size to be RFID tagged, put the rest of the shoes in the box in the stock room in or by the color run they need to be in, and then move the shoes around to fit in the new arrivals into there respected areas. This was at least 1-3 days of work, depending on the amount of shoe we received that week.
MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF MY JOB: I got to listen to my music as I worked. It definitely helped make the day go by quicker and more fun. Especially since I was more time than not working alone in the stock room. Broke the awful quietness of the stock room. The shoe associates would even start singing along with my music. :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Benton Harbor, MIJuly 19, 2014
A normal day I would be folding tons of clothes, straightening up the department or helping a customer order items online. My managers were really nice, taught me tons of great things about retail. My co-workers were always friendly and happy. I learned a lot about retail, how to fold dress shirts, fit someone for a suit, use the cash register to order – more... items, how sizing works etc... I think the most enjoyable part of my job was helping people, and making them smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful learing experience
CSR/Cashier (Former Employee), Livonia, MIMay 28, 2014
Pros: wonderful co-workers
Cons: commission based pay
Stocking shoes for women shoe stock.
Helping customers to shoes and service.
Cleaning and redesigning backroom
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cason's
Customer Service (Current Employee), Livonia, MIApril 25, 2014
Pros: online ordering, if we don't have items
Cons: low hours (4 hours a week), phone services
Lately a day at Carson's has been rather slow. But I have learned how to be patient with others, and be the best help I can be. Management has had a could changes, and I feel like its not for the better. Its harder to contact a manager and customers get frustrated. That would also be the hardest part of the job. The most enjoyable part of this job would – more... be the customers i could make happy, and seeing the smiles on their faces. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
SALES ASSOIATE (Current Employee), Rochester Hills, MIApril 7, 2014
On a typical day there were duties such as maintaining clean fitting rooms, register stations, as well as clean floor areas. Helping customers with checkout and questions that they may have. Along with the previously mentioned duties, there are projects that were assigned by manger that had to be completed. There were no parts of the job that I can – more... pin point as difficult, there were times where I had to solve problem or figure out the best way to perform a duty, but it was not so difficult. If there was something that I did not know I made sure that I consulted with my manager about the situation. The best part of the job was the people, My coworkers made my time enjoyable. I learned customer service skills, how to greet people and to help them to my best ability. Also this job taught me how to work in a team in a job setting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT WAS A WELL PUT TOGTHER STORE
Sales Associate/ Cashier (Former Employee), Calumet City, ILApril 3, 2014
IT WAS A NICE STORE I JUST HATE IT WENT OUT OF BUSINESS. IT WAS FUN WORKING THERE AND I GOT A CHACE TO MEET ALOT OF DIFFERENT PEOPLE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be fun place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Benton Harbor, MIApril 2, 2014
Started seasonal, now part time. Enjoyable when customers are in abundance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal Employee
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), Fort Gratiot, MIMarch 28, 2014
I would fold and restock the clothes. I also helped customers and clean out the fitting rooms
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Store and good learning
Recovery Associate (Former Employee), Evergreen Park, ILFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: none actually
Cons: short seasonal job
Between 4 and 8 hours of walking a lot around the women's department, how to be a Recovery Associate, by fixing clothes on counters, tables, and racks, checking the fitting rooms for unwanted merchandise, and put them away, knowing the brands and names of clothing, helping managers in their departments, my co-workers where all friendly and helpful, – more... is meeting new customers and employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Sales Associate, Seasonal Help (Former Employee), Livonia, MIFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: easy work day, reasonable pay
Cons: impolite management, long hours, below average training
A big reason I wouldn't have stayed at Carson's was the management was terrible. They weren't very direct with their employees. We had to reapply for the job we already had. We had to find out information by asking other employees who would only get the info from the manager who was barely ever around her own department. We had to work 12 hour shifts – more... on Black Friday. 7pm to 7am. The employees were nice but the management was very rude. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good discount and benefits!
sales associate specialist (Former Employee), MiFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: discount, benefits!
Cons: short breaks, management!
I worked for the store when the company was under the Parisian name...The flexibility with schedules were good...the cons were management, lack of communication, and no support from management, they had their favorite employees that were favored over other employees...these are the ones that could sell and open store credit accounts.

1 2 3