Carver Federal Savings Bank Employee Reviews

Showing all 28 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great bank whose focus is on building communities
Assistant Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 3, 2016
Carver Bank is a great place to work, if you see it as more than just a job that you get paid to do. Like anything else you must have a passion for it. And if you have a passion for what you do, it has a value, that is greater than any paycheck. I have a passion for what I do and because I have a passion for what I do I LOVE IT. I love helping people, whether it is internal or external customers. I love knowing that I added just a little bit of value to someone's day even if it is just saying "Good Morning" or holding a door open for my customer, or pulling out their seat for them, and vice versa.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Branch Operations Teller (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 27, 2016
Great place to work, great learning experience. Gave me a chance to grow. Allowed me to learn alot and understand company. Would recomend this company to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place with good intentions but bad management
Accountant/Reconciliation Specialist (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYApril 22, 2015
It's a learn as you go environment where no one takes accountability for their actions. It's all about who you know, not what you know, and it's difficult to get your work done efficiently because there are people always trying to tell you they know better than you even though they are not familiar with your area of expertise.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, good people, Great mission
Customer Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 13, 2015
Company has a great mission, Managers are willing to help you improve. Employees are hardworking and driven. Carver gives employees a lot of work load which make them well rounded in their field.
Company places emphasis on sales rather than employee satisfaction thus their is a very high turn over of workers.
Pros
Customers are great and staff proffessional
Cons
Poor salary and compensation for work load.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carver Federal Area Manager Role
Retail Area Manager, VP (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYApril 10, 2013
My typical day started with reviewing any branch issues my manager might have with staffing or customer related complaints which was escalated to me.

I learned a lot about process and delivering multiple projects simultaneously.

My co-workers were excellent in the role because in areas where I was not proficient they educated me on the proper process and procedures to follow.

The hardest part of the job was the rebranding of the within diverse communities.

I enjoyed working with my sales manager who had an outstanding business acument. He helped me to focus on the details much better.
Cons
lack of branding
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture for being a community bank is very good.
Branch Manager Assistant Vice President (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYJune 20, 2013
Helping clients is the most important aspect of my day to day work. deposit growth and customer service, was very important to me and my staff. Our focus was base on the previously mentioned. The reward for dedication was reflected in my branch making quarterly goals.The hardest part of any job is leaving espically when you are devoted to the organisation.
Pros
Achieving goals and helping others achieve there finanical goals also.
Cons
Not having enough staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding atmosphere
Human Resources Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 29, 2014
It's a place where your monetary & spiritual needs get met. It is one of the largest congregations in NYC with amazing leadership. I had a chance to learn a lot about grant writing and use my statistical skills acquired in college.
Pros
Great people who are passionate about the mission.
Cons
Not enough work & funds to keep a full time staff
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truly cares about the Community it serves.
Sr. Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 17, 2014
Carver Banks is spending it capitol and valuable resources to strengthen the people who needs the most help. Free Tax preparation, Financial Seminars and Low cost banking options for those who cannot open Bank account anywhere.
Pros
Easy access to people who can make it happen.
Cons
Core system could use an upgrade
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work days room for growrth
Bank Teller (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 24, 2015
Great experience in banking, i learned hands on about then company products. Haredest part was getting customers to open new accounts
Pros
HOUR LONG LUNCHES
Cons
ONLY PART TIME HOURS
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provide the customers with the best customer service avialable with my team
Assistant Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 4, 2014
Go in meet with my team, state the daily focus role play and get our day started.

Work with a community bank and participated in alot of community events.

Enjoy working with my team.

No work/ life balance
Pros
My team
Cons
noo job work/ life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay clear
Personal Banker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 10, 2013
A company that could care less about you or what happens to you. its all rhetoric with company they rarely walk the walk but do all the talk. Phony individuals in upper management who don't even take time to know your name. Work hours are beyond ridiculous for pay that is compensatable here in NYC.

Good riddance.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job that is best suited for those who are looking to finish school
Part-Time Teller (Current Employee) –  Jamaica, NYDecember 13, 2012
The interaction with the customers is a great opportuntity for someone like me/others who are looking to work in the field of Human Services. It's important to be able to work with all types of personalities and people from different backgrounds.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYNovember 30, 2013
I was able to join a team that was on the verge of revamping its processes in order to get its team geared to tailoring its products to its customer immediate and future needs. Loved it!!!
Pros
developing new teams and ties to the communicate was rewarding.
Cons
revamping the culture was very difficult at times
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for when starting a career in banking
Assistant Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 20, 2013
I would recommend working for Carver Bank. They allowed me to grow in both sales and also customer service experience while learning the banking industry as it pertains to community and retail banking.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multiple Senior Management changes over a short period of time
Assistant Vice President, Assistant Controller (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 27, 2013
Due to changes in management no clear directions for staff.
Large decease in staff due to budget cuts.
Pros
excellent health coverage
Cons
constant changes in senior management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many problems to fix. Great work environment
Branch Associate (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMay 19, 2015
A great company to start out in banking. You learn alot. Its a small bank staff and everyone is always willing to help you. Theres many room for growth and improvement
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An opportunity to meet great people
Part-Time Teller (Current Employee) –  Jamaica, NYDecember 17, 2012
The customers are a great mix of people the staff is great a flexible schedule. Great job for those looking to finish school.
Pros
opportunity to network
Cons
little opportunity to grow in pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company / Great Values
Personal Banker (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 22, 2014
Its a good company to work for and the porfolios and services offered to customers are great, but the pay is kind of low for the cost of living in New York.
Pros
Good message and packages
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A small Community Bank
Assistant Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  125th And LexingtonJanuary 6, 2013
Carver Bank is a great company to work with in the sense that if you want to grow their is room for growth.
Pros
nice staff
Cons
compensation not competitive. not proper training
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and fun workplace.
Teller/ Customer Service (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 16, 2013
-Friendly co-workers
-Learned teamwork
-The most enjoyable part of the job is getting assistance from co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Carver Federal Savings Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
3.1
Culture
3.0

Carver Federal Savings Bank Reviews by Location