Carver Federal Savings Bank Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 25 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many problems to fix. Great work environment
Branch Associate (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMay 19, 2015
A great company to start out in banking. You learn alot. Its a small bank staff and everyone is always willing to help you. Theres many room for growth and improvement
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place with good intentions but bad management
Accountant/Reconciliation Specialist (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYApril 22, 2015
It's a learn as you go environment where no one takes accountability for their actions. It's all about who you know, not what you know, and it's difficult to get your work done efficiently because there are people always trying to tell you they know better than you even though they are not familiar with your area of expertise.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, good people, Great mission
Customer Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 13, 2015
Company has a great mission, Managers are willing to help you improve. Employees are hardworking and driven. Carver gives employees a lot of work load which make them well rounded in their field.
Company places emphasis on sales rather than employee satisfaction thus their is a very high turn over of workers.
Pros
customers are great and staff proffessional
Cons
poor salary and compensation for work load.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Banking Associate (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 17, 2014
working as a teller is very stressful. this was not my favorite place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Bank Teller/ Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYAugust 14, 2014
not a good place to grow, petty upper management, company needs to be reconfigured
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good worning enviroment
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 24, 2014
My first bank job and I learned a lot working there. I started as a teller and advanced to Asst. Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company / Great Values
Personal Banker (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 22, 2014
Its a good company to work for and the porfolios and services offered to customers are great, but the pay is kind of low for the cost of living in New York.
Pros
good message and packages
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding atmosphere
Human Resources Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 29, 2014
It's a place where your monetary & spiritual needs get met. It is one of the largest congregations in NYC with amazing leadership. I had a chance to learn a lot about grant writing and use my statistical skills acquired in college.
Pros
great people who are passionate about the mission.
Cons
not enough work & funds to keep a full time staff
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provide the customers with the best customer service avialable with my team
Assistant Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 4, 2014
Go in meet with my team, state the daily focus role play and get our day started.

Work with a community bank and participated in alot of community events.

Enjoy working with my team.

No work/ life balance
Pros
my team
Cons
noo job work/ life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truly cares about the Community it serves.
Sr. Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 17, 2014
Carver Banks is spending it capitol and valuable resources to strengthen the people who needs the most help. Free Tax preparation, Financial Seminars and Low cost banking options for those who cannot open Bank account anywhere.
Pros
easy access to people who can make it happen.
Cons
core system could use an upgrade
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYNovember 30, 2013
I was able to join a team that was on the verge of revamping its processes in order to get its team geared to tailoring its products to its customer immediate and future needs. Loved it!!!
Pros
developing new teams and ties to the communicate was rewarding.
Cons
revamping the culture was very difficult at times
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to intern
Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 20, 2013
Internship program was very good. Coordinators really tracked growth and planned development activities for my cohort.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is an ok place to work
Head Teller/ Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Jamaica, NYSeptember 2, 2013
The Work environment is culturally diverse but advancement oppurtunities are slim.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multiple Senior Management changes over a short period of time
Assistant Vice President, Assistant Controller (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 27, 2013
Due to changes in management no clear directions for staff.
Large decease in staff due to budget cuts.
Pros
excellent health coverage
Cons
constant changes in senior management
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture for being a community bank is very good.
Branch Manager Assistant Vice President (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NYJune 20, 2013
Helping clients is the most important aspect of my day to day work. deposit growth and customer service, was very important to me and my staff. Our focus was base on the previously mentioned. The reward for dedication was reflected in my branch making quarterly goals.The hardest part of any job is leaving espically when you are devoted to the organisation.
Pros
achieving goals and helping others achieve there finanical goals also.
Cons
not having enough staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and fun workplace.
Teller/ Customer Service (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 16, 2013
-Friendly co-workers
-Learned teamwork
-The most enjoyable part of the job is getting assistance from co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carver Federal Area Manager Role
Retail Area Manager, VP (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYApril 10, 2013
My typical day started with reviewing any branch issues my manager might have with staffing or customer related complaints which was escalated to me.

I learned a lot about process and delivering multiple projects simultaneously.

My co-workers were excellent in the role because in areas where I was not proficient they educated me on the proper process and procedures to follow.

The hardest part of the job was the rebranding of the within diverse communities.

I enjoyed working with my sales manager who had an outstanding business acument. He helped me to focus on the details much better.
Cons
lack of branding
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay clear
Personal Banker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 10, 2013
A company that could care less about you or what happens to you. its all rhetoric with company they rarely walk the walk but do all the talk. Phony individuals in upper management who don't even take time to know your name. Work hours are beyond ridiculous for pay that is compensatable here in NYC.

Good riddance.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult to trust
Client Service Representative/Teller (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 15, 2013
This place is difficult to trust, difficult to advance. Many broken promises. No benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for when starting a career in banking
Assistant Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 20, 2013
I would recommend working for Carver Bank. They allowed me to grow in both sales and also customer service experience while learning the banking industry as it pertains to community and retail banking.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture