Find companies:
Cash America
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
81 reviews

Cash America Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company promotes within
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 26, 2014
Pros: we were allowed to do employee purchases
Cons: constantly getting robbed
after working there for 3 weeks I was promoted to Assistant manager
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable work environment
Sales-Associate (Current Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 19, 2014
It is a very good job. The typical work day consists of loans and purchases. The coworkers are friendly and its very family like.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like Family
Collection Specialist (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHNovember 14, 2014
Cash America was fun everyone was treated like family and the bonuses that we had the ability to earn was amazing .....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the Best or the Worse
Shop Hardware Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXOctober 24, 2014
Pros: great it team structure among peers. good work life balance. good benefits.
Cons: the main difficulty was getting around the ever-changing procedures, and ample scrutiny. lots of unnecessary wheel spinning, making things more difficult than they had to be. directives were shaky, and unclear.
Not a bad place to work. Colleagues were extremely helpful, and friendly. Management was rather mainstream. Main Manager appeared continually rushed, head down, charging forward. He implemented negative blind sided performance reviews when leading people to believe they were performing above average. Work life balance, and benefits were very nice. Overall, – more... the job was not hard. The main difficulty was getting around the ever-changing procedures, and continual scrutiny. Lots of unnecessary wheel spinning, making things more difficult than they had to be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: monthly bonus
Cons: 1 hr lunch no other breaks
I really enjoyed working for this company. I met a lot of nice people and had great healthcare benefits,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Cash America
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTIVE (Current Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: sundays we had off and 1 hour lunches were the best!
Cons: working on saturdays.
Cash America was a great working environment. It helped me gain greater knowledge upon being more social and boosting my communication skills. I got along very well with my co-workers. We were a team and working together and getting our job done was our goal everyday. The best part of working at cash America was the Benefits, they were great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Treasury Assistant (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXSeptember 24, 2014
Cash America was a good company to work for. They cared about their employees even through the hard restructuring that is happening right now. My manager and other co-workers were easy to work with and trusted me. They never worried or questioned if something wasn't done, because we all worked well together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee), College Station, TXSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: having a fun place to work at
Cons: firing someone
Being able to help people as we did put a huge smile on my face each day. My job was a very interesting job, you never knew what was going to happen each day. It was a very fun atmosphere to work in. The hardest part of my job would be having to hold people accountable, the most enjoyable part of my day was seeing my customers.

I developed and trained – more... my staff daily
processed auto and collateral loans
completed office duties daily
monthly meetings and quarterly audits
customer service
sales – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this job sucked
Collections Specialist (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHSeptember 5, 2014
worst collections place to work, hard to reach goals that they set each month, base pay wasnt enough
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pace work place.
Manager (Former Employee), Laredo, TXSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: bonus
A typical day at work would start off with making sure all displays are organized and neet for customers view. Customers are assisted during the day and sales goals are set forth for the team. Each associate takes vital part in the productiveness of the team. Therefore it is important all team member reach or surpass thier goals. I am responsible for – more... verifying emails and performing serveral administrative tasks that are to be kept up with in the office. Also, if there is any customer complaints I am the one to solve them. CSRs are assigned projects while they attend customers needs. I am to verify that these projects are done accurately. At the end of the day I count safe and make sure it balances out currectly and make any deposits if necessary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and underappreciated
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Mobile, ALAugust 20, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: terrible managers and managing style
Long hours with no recognition. Employees always feel very unappreciated and overworked. Too much favoritism in management. Too much personal feeling things get in the way of fair promotion opportunites.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay Long hours Sundays off
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 19, 2014
Pros: opportunity to get experiencing managing a store. no sundays
Cons: long hours work. no concern for employee needs. low pay.
I worked for CA two years after college as an Assistant Manager. I really enjoyed my coworkers and didn't mind the job either. However, the pay was not enough to support me and opportunities for advancement were non existent. I feel the Management team based out of San Antonio was not bad however at the regional level my market manger was hard to get – more... along with. Turnover rate was high. Bottom line: Good place to get some experience but not a career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Lead Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Oak Park, ILJuly 16, 2014
Pros: dealt with great people daily
Cons: commute
Typical day at Cash America is having to deal with very angry customers. Hardest part of the job was having to be the bearer of bad news when you're unable to give the requested loan amount to a person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have learned many things
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee), 4636 Dixie HwyJuly 15, 2014
Pros: family and friend discounts on merchandise
Cons: work long days and work weekends
I have learned many valuable things about different products and merchandise. However this was not my dream job and it has simply provided a purpose for me while I was attending day classes.

I love my managers and my co-workers. I have even developed special relationships with many of my customers. The hardest part of the job is working in a team environment – more... when some of your co-workers are not team players.

I enjoy being able to interact with regular customers and my co-workers on a daily basis. It makes for a fun day at work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cash America
Pawn Broker (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 10, 2014
I worked there for 6 months and I made some simple security recommendations that they hopefully took advantage of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Getting the job done and providing a good atmosphere for customers
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Houma, LAJune 17, 2014
Pros: understanding and caring management, good coworkers
Cons: long work shifts, contantly being under staff
Helping and meeting customer needs by providing different types of loan whether it be a collateral loans or a payday loans. With this job you need to be open minded along with willing to learn and perform different task daily.
The hardest part of the job is the many "grey" areas o the job as far as collateral loans, and sometimes not being able to fully – more... mean customer needs while trying to build a good customer relationship.
The most enjoyable thing about this job was the great work atmosphere with coworkers, and the feeling of helping customers meet their financial needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Definitely has a lot to do with a test of customer service skills and enjoying what you do.
STORE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Stone Mountain, GAJune 16, 2014
A typical day at work, would be making sure all paperwork is completed and filed from the previous day. I would make sure every customer or client in the store is greeted and taken care of. Merchandise would need to be accounted for and neatly organized in the store front. I would assist management in tasks that would need to be completed by the end – more... of that day's shift and make sure the tasks are evenly distributed out to each co-worker. The hardest part of the job would be, making sure every task was finished accurately by the end of the day, without neglecting any of the customers' or clients' needs in the process, even though we were always successful at making sure it got done. The most enjoyable part of the job, was being able to meet so many different people everyday and experiencing so many different personalities. This always brought a smile to my face and humorous moments on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun productive place to work at.
Level III Shift Lead (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 3, 2014
Always busy and working under pressure, lots of opportunities to excel at.
I learn a lot when it comes to customer service and, product knowledge and how to be a better leader.
My co-workers were always positive and with a sense of urgency to get the job done.
I believe it can always be challenging dealing with customers but i always raised to the occasion – more... and made it my responsibility to resolve the problem and make sure that the customer was happy with our service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pawn Broker
Pawn Broker (Former Employee), 133 E Crosstimbers Houston texas 77022May 21, 2014
• Experience of managing pawn shop and handling money lending activities through knowledge of money handling procedures and negotiation skills
• Great communication skills to serve customers as they need in English or Spanish
• Ability to perform multiple tasks and provide excellent customer service
• Ability to work in flexible shifts and adhere to – more... company policies and procedures
• Proficient in using pawnbroker and basic computer programs Word, Excel, Office
• Wide knowledge of jewelry, guns, electronics and musical equipment prices
• Ability to work in a fast paced environment with short staff sometimes
• Answered customer inquiries, complains, payment extensions, service deadlines
• Answered phone calls from customers with questions through the entire work day and listen attentively to caller needs to ensure a positive customer experience
• Familiarity with recording complete and accurate transactions using data entry procedures
• Ability to process payments using debit cards and credit cards
• Ability to make money orders to customers
• Ability to file prepaid debit cards
• Ability to serve customers with payday Loans or payroll advances and gather documents needed to qualify like (Identification Card, Driver’s License, Social Security card, Bank Statement, Paycheck Stub, black check, proof of residency etc.)
• Served customers with Title loans as well – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXMay 20, 2014
This was a pawn shop, I had never worked in this kind of environment before. I got to learn different things, for example I learned how to price items for retail sale. I also learned more about jewelry pricing.

1 2 3 4

About Cash America

There’s more to working for Cash America than you might think. For starters, we’re a billion-dollar retail and financial – Read more