Casino Aztar Employee Reviews

Showing all 26 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Snack Bar Attendant (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INSeptember 12, 2015
fun place to with lots of interaction and employees always being helpful, they work with you on finding a place for you , not having a diploma wasn't a big deal , neither was being hard of hearing as they made me feel like i belonged
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job that taught accountability
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INJuly 10, 2015
Fun and frolic may not go along with math and money for many people, but I learned to enjoy both sides of my job at Casino Aztar. Customers were cheerful when they arrived, ready for fun, and I enjoyed talking with them. I sold them tickets, but felt as if I were unlocking the candy store. Fellow team members were very helpful. This was the first legal casino in the area where I live, and everyone I knew was excited about it. I felt I had won a prize in getting a job there. I left because I found an opportunity at Home Depot where my customer service responsibilities would be increased, and my schedule would be more oriented toward days, rather than alternating between days and nights. The hardest part of my job was becoming used to returning to work on a different shift and changing my sleep schedule in a major way.
Pros
Fun atmosphere
Cons
Changing shifts and sleep schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good income, fun
BARTENDER (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INSeptember 2, 2014
Loved working at casino, meeting new people,
Providing good customer service.
Could set your own pace, but still do your work.
Pros
GOOD INCOME
Cons
HAD TO WORK ALL WEEKENDS AND HOLIDAYS
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INJune 19, 2014
- Guards protect property from vandalism, theft, and other forms of illegal activity
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nasty place
Count Room Clerk (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INApril 4, 2014
never clean, smells, dirty and theres no job security. the hr lady is extremely rude and mean to fellow employees. very high turn over rate. company has no loyalty and pays low
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cage Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Evansville, INNovember 25, 2013
great place to work! I enjoy working there. Great team atmosphere.
Pros
great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive seen alot of different people
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Caruthersville, MONovember 2, 2013
learn different codes for radio. Got along with my coworkers
Pros
worked inside not out side
Cons
pay could of been better
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Human Resources Specialist (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INOctober 18, 2013
I learned how to do drug screen, and how to handle upset crew members, enjoyed working with the HR crew, enjoyed entering payroll
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job but didn't care about employees
Dealer (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INJuly 16, 2013
Had a great time working here but when a family member got sick they would not give time off to go see them...
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fun fun get payed to have a good time
BLACK JACK DEALER (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INJuly 12, 2013
I loved dealing cards, the people were great, much more exciting working the evensing rather than days.
Pros
GREAT PAY AND BENEFITS
Cons
SOMETIMES LONG HOURS
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lead Cage Banker
Cage Banker (Former Employee) –  Casino AztarJune 20, 2013
typical day: customers, lots of money to keep track of, keep track of other employees in the cage with me...

Learn: more about money management, how to address other employees with issues...

I worked so much that I didn't have a home life at all.
Pros
customers, communication, mathematical skills
Cons
short breaks, drunks, long hours, no room for advancement in job
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a high pressured enviroment
Blackjack Dealer (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INMay 9, 2013
Being a blackjack dealer is something you have to have a passion for. I liked the the people I work wih but I had a bd case of anxiety everytime I went to work. It definitely isn't for everyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
big brother is watching and better get some knee pads
Bartender at Hoosiers (Former Employee) –  EvansvilleApril 27, 2013
Cameras everywhere and people are watching you to get you "coached" which is a nice way to say write up. I was a bartender, and with every pour you have to use a jigger. You can't make doubles. Guest are constantly shorted when it comes to drinks. I'm talking a normal bar pour is 1.25 Oz . Aztar or Tropicana is routinely giving guest pours of 7/8 of an ounce with every drink and paying full price. Not to mention most the other bartenders have no experience and kiss a** because of the constant fear of being reviewed and loosing your job. Entertainment is terrible. This Job is not for the boat, it's for Hoosiers where you work long long long hours I'm talking 11am to after midnight on Friday and Saturday and you have to split most of what you make. You get the same old regulars who don't tip with the exception of Steve. Club 55 blows and you are lucky to walk out with 30 bucks on weeknights so you have been warned
Pros
Hahaha
Cons
Days off
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good employer
oiler (Former Employee) –  everywhereFebruary 27, 2013
Employer isn't good, bad hours, bad pay, just waiting for them to leave town.
Pros
meal vouchers
Cons
horrible employers, your word against theirs, bad pay, can't trust anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Completely Unreasonable
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INJanuary 31, 2013
Don't ever feel comfortable, because they enjoy cutting your legs out from under you.
Pros
pays well
Cons
total loss of family and/or social time. no job security whatsoever
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a rewarding job
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INJanuary 23, 2013
I was a security guard, the job was hard in the fact that the other security guards regarded me as to old for the job. I was let go for I believe other reasons then were given.
Pros
pay was reasonable
Cons
hours were hard
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It can be fun but it can be awful....
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Evansville, INJanuary 9, 2013
I have worked for Aztar for a few years now. For the most part, I like my job and meeting all the people who come up to me. There's such a great diversity and I love all the cultures that come in to visit. On the other hand, I have never been more talked about in my life. The gossip is rampant and while it's really in every work environment, it seems to be worse here than another place I've seen. If you just want a job where you can earn a paycheck and go home, then by all means, apply! The pay is mediocre and for all they pay out monthly for jackpots, you'd think they'd pay the employees more. I know of people who have been there for four+ years and only making $10 an hour! They do offer full health benefits after 90 days and while the health insurance is massively expensive, the vision and dental is amazing. They also offer a great HSA program in which they give you $200-$400 a year for any medical related expenses. If you're even a minute late, you're docked a quarter of a point. It isn't the world's best job or company but it's a job when you really need one.
Pros
decent restaurants, full time hours, diversity and tolerance, full benefits after 90 days, 15%-50% discounts on food, depending on which restaurant
Cons
underpays employees severely, sometimes bad hours (a lot of swing shifts), point based attendance policy with no grace period on time; very unattractive "costumes", expensive health insurance if you have a family
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere to work in.
Valet (Current Employee) –  Evansville, INDecember 21, 2012
Aztar employees tend to have an overall good personality due to them always striving to go above and beyond to help our guest to enjoy their stay.
Pros
company is active with the community and offers employees different activities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
negative work enviroment
Advertising Admin (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INOctober 30, 2012
hard to go to work in the mornings. negative work environment.
Cons
non advancement potential
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun productive day with amazing co workers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INOctober 3, 2012
As soon as i get there you start work and all the co workers are so energetic and passionate. Customers are so friendly and easy to talk to. Its kinda nerve racking when we get slammed but we always come through.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Casino Aztar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.6
Culture
2.6

Casino Aztar Reviews by Location