Find companies:
Casino Aztar
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

Casino Aztar Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Security Officer (Former Employee), Evansville, INJune 19, 2014
- Guards protect property from vandalism, theft, and other forms of illegal activity
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nasty place
Count Room Clerk (Former Employee), Evansville, INApril 4, 2014
never clean, smells, dirty and theres no job security. the hr lady is extremely rude and mean to fellow employees. very high turn over rate. company has no loyalty and pays low
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cage Shift Manager (Current Employee), Evansville, INNovember 25, 2013
Pros: great place to work
great place to work! I enjoy working there. Great team atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive seen alot of different people
Security Officer (Former Employee), Caruthersville, MONovember 2, 2013
Pros: worked inside not out side
Cons: pay could of been better
learn different codes for radio. Got along with my coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Human Resources Specialist (Former Employee), Evansville, INOctober 18, 2013
I learned how to do drug screen, and how to handle upset crew members, enjoyed working with the HR crew, enjoyed entering payroll
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job but didn't care about employees
Dealer (Former Employee), Evansville, INJuly 16, 2013
Had a great time working here but when a family member got sick they would not give time off to go see them...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN FUN FUN GET PAYED TO HAVE A GOOD TIME
BLACK JACK DEALER (Former Employee), Evansville, INJuly 12, 2013
Pros: great pay and benefits
Cons: sometimes long hours
I LOVED DEALING CARDS, THE PEOPLE WERE GREAT, MUCH MORE EXCITING WORKING THE EVENSING RATHER THAN DAYS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lead Cage Banker
Cage Banker (Former Employee), Casino AztarJune 20, 2013
Pros: customers, communication, mathematical skills
Cons: short breaks, drunks, long hours, no room for advancement in job
typical day: customers, lots of money to keep track of, keep track of other employees in the cage with me...

Learn: more about money management, how to address other employees with issues...

I worked so much that I didn't have a home life at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a high pressured enviroment
Blackjack Dealer (Former Employee), Evansville, INMay 9, 2013
Being a blackjack dealer is something you have to have a passion for. I liked the the people I work wih but I had a bd case of anxiety everytime I went to work. It definitely isn't for everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
big brother is watching and better get some knee pads
Bartender at Hoosiers (Former Employee), EvansvilleApril 27, 2013
Pros: hahaha
Cons: days off
Cameras everywhere and people are watching you to get you "coached" which is a nice way to say write up. I was a bartender, and with every pour you have to use a jigger. You can't make doubles. Guest are constantly shorted when it comes to drinks. I'm talking a normal bar pour is 1.25 Oz . Aztar or Tropicana is routinely giving guest pours of 7/8 of – more... an ounce with every drink and paying full price. Not to mention most the other bartenders have no experience and kiss a** because of the constant fear of being reviewed and loosing your job. Entertainment is terrible. This Job is not for the boat, it's for Hoosiers where you work long long long hours I'm talking 11am to after midnight on Friday and Saturday and you have to split most of what you make. You get the same old regulars who don't tip with the exception of Steve. Club 55 blows and you are lucky to walk out with 30 bucks on weeknights so you have been warned – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good employer
oiler (Former Employee), everywhereFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: meal vouchers
Cons: horrible employers, your word against theirs, bad pay, can't trust anyone.
Employer isn't good, bad hours, bad pay, just waiting for them to leave town.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Completely Unreasonable
Floor Supervisor (Former Employee), Evansville, INJanuary 31, 2013
Pros: pays well
Cons: total loss of family and/or social time. no job security whatsoever
Don't ever feel comfortable, because they enjoy cutting your legs out from under you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a rewarding job
Security Officer (Former Employee), Evansville, INJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: pay was reasonable
Cons: hours were hard
I was a security guard, the job was hard in the fact that the other security guards regarded me as to old for the job. I was let go for I believe other reasons then were given.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It can be fun but it can be awful....
Cashier (Current Employee), Evansville, INJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: decent restaurants, full time hours, diversity and tolerance, full benefits after 90 days, 15%-50% discounts on food, depending on which restaurant
Cons: underpays employees severely, sometimes bad hours (a lot of swing shifts), point based attendance policy with no grace period on time; very unattractive "costumes", expensive health insurance if you have a family
I have worked for Aztar for a few years now. For the most part, I like my job and meeting all the people who come up to me. There's such a great diversity and I love all the cultures that come in to visit. On the other hand, I have never been more talked about in my life. The gossip is rampant and while it's really in every work environment, it seems – more... to be worse here than another place I've seen. If you just want a job where you can earn a paycheck and go home, then by all means, apply! The pay is mediocre and for all they pay out monthly for jackpots, you'd think they'd pay the employees more. I know of people who have been there for four+ years and only making $10 an hour! They do offer full health benefits after 90 days and while the health insurance is massively expensive, the vision and dental is amazing. They also offer a great HSA program in which they give you $200-$400 a year for any medical related expenses. If you're even a minute late, you're docked a quarter of a point. It isn't the world's best job or company but it's a job when you really need one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere to work in.
Valet (Current Employee), Evansville, INDecember 21, 2012
Pros: company is active with the community and offers employees different activities
Aztar employees tend to have an overall good personality due to them always striving to go above and beyond to help our guest to enjoy their stay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
negative work enviroment
Advertising Admin (Former Employee), Evansville, INOctober 30, 2012
Cons: non advancement potential
hard to go to work in the mornings. negative work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun productive day with amazing co workers
Cashier (Former Employee), Evansville, INOctober 3, 2012
Pros: free lunches
Cons: management
As soon as i get there you start work and all the co workers are so energetic and passionate. Customers are so friendly and easy to talk to. Its kinda nerve racking when we get slammed but we always come through.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like feeling like you could lose your job at any moment, place is for you.
Bartender (Former Employee), Evansville InSeptember 29, 2012
Pros: never the same day to day, always meeting new people
Cons: management, long hours, bad benefits
Worked there for almost 2 years, and the entire time felt like management was just looking for reasons to get rid of people. Back and forth policy changes, rules bent for certain people, different managers had different rules.... all in all a very hostile work environment. Add that to horrible work-life balance, and it becomes miserable.

October 30, 2012

I had the exact work experience.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different work day meeting different people everyday fun and exciting
Cage Cashier (Former Employee), Evansville, INSeptember 17, 2012
loved interacting with patrons! supervisors were great always around to help out! if the co workers needed help i was always there to help them. hardest part of the job was counting chips.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
porter (Current Employee), Evansville, INSeptember 2, 2012
Pros: meeting alot of new people
Cons: co- workers
Great place to work and interact with people.
Everyday is not the same old thing.
Able to move around a lot.
TIPS!!!!!!!!!!