Casual Male XL Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and good learning environment
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Henderson, NVJanuary 11, 2018
Casual MaleXL/ Destination XL is not a bad company. It is fast paced and forever changing like any other retail company. I was an Assistant Manager during their transition from Casual Male to Destination XL and there were many inconsistencies at that time. However, I really enjoyed the environment. My SM make all the difference.
Pros
Salary + commission, flexible hours, great customer base
Cons
Really high sales goals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commission based pay and friendly environment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Tukwila, WAJanuary 9, 2018
Open the store, go to the bank, then sell and merchandise as needed until end of shift.

i learned how to multitask as well as receive shipments and adjust inventory
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always about the job never about the workers
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Wethersfield, CTDecember 19, 2017
You were only as good as you last sale. You could go out of you way to help cover other store. Never even receive a thank you!
They had workers that where there years and at the end the just discarded like the trash
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very slow, poor recruiting, management unaware of day to day business
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLDecember 17, 2017
Uninspiring place to work, upper management does not care about anyone but a few select store managers. You are expected to work above and beyond your pay grade.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much to do, not enough pay.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Pembroke Pines, FLNovember 1, 2017
I had great co-workers to work with. Was a very busy and stressful day everyday cause of 20+ boxes of UPS received daily and had to be put away each day while still handling and working with customer's request.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lake Elsinore, CASeptember 29, 2017
It was ok to work there, but not a lot to do except fold clothes and wait for customers. I have OCD so I just constantly cleaned. Vacuum, windows, counters, but could be boring for most. had wifi
Pros
easy, wifi
Cons
boring, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a productive job and it keeps you busy
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  El Cajon, CASeptember 21, 2017
Its a fast paced job and you are constantly on your toes to help guest and get shipment done and keep the store clean and at the end of the day you clean the store before you close
Pros
Very friendly and you get a 401k plan
Cons
Its intense and you are constantly busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Managemnt
Assistant manager/Manager (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, INSeptember 11, 2017
In the 4 years I worked there I had 5 different Regional Managers and 4 District Managers. When each took over Everything changed and each one was critical of the last.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A basic job
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 23, 2017
This was a really basic job. It had all the basic components if a retail job. This consisted folding clothes, helping guests and all the other normal components of retail.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual male xl or dxl
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Saint Louis County, MOAugust 9, 2017
Responsible for all paperwork, schedule, floor coverage, customer service,inventory and much more. Educating customers about the product, making recommendations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
Sales Lead (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, NYJuly 20, 2017
I enjoyed working for the company. Everyday it was something new, the customers were great which you never really got working in retail. The management and the staff were amazing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Assistant Manager03 (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 7, 2017
Wonderful experience working with this company.
Outstanding benefit package.
Very well trained Staff.
Detailed store daily.
Excellent job overall.
Pros
Meeting new customers.
Cons
Not enough communication time with customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDJune 25, 2017
The company had a solid employee culture. There were few opportunities for promotion and no incentives for the sales associates. Company software was antiquated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
General Sales Associate (seasonal) (Current Employee) –  Jonesboro, ARJune 24, 2017
friendly and fun. very clean. strong core values. great leadership. customers are very friendly. learned alot on how to engage and reengage with guests
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Valley Stream, NYJune 15, 2017
The job atmosphere is just like any other retail job. They expect you to keep the store clean and the customers are always right. The pay is minimum wage but that is expected for a job title like this.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good place to work
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYMay 25, 2017
I'll open the store make sure all registers was open.
i learned to handle paper work.
meeting artist was the best thing about it.
the hardest thing was the management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A different retail expierence with custom needs.
Stock Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Fairless Hills, PAMay 10, 2017
A normal day began on hour before the doors opened, coffee machine in the back was a nice touch. Outbound orders needed to be are due and shipment usually arrived in the first two hours. Around 10 to 20 boxes of shipment every Tuesday and Thursday. I was in charge of matching and correcting the shipment orders, I usually worked 5 days a week, maybe 35 hours a week. Only worked on the floor if absolutely needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great CoWorkers
Retail Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Greenfield, WIApril 19, 2017
I loved working with the staff and the customers. It was a small store so we had a great working relationship with a lot of repeat customers and knew most of them by name.
Pros
My store was nice and small. Was able to get to know the customers very well
Cons
Store was small and sometimes it was too full of merchandise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a store alone.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  East Rutherford, NJApril 8, 2017
As the store manager, I worked alone most of the time. I did floor moves & price changes. I did all staff schedules. I dropped everything for the customer & this was a commission to sales job. I had an assistant manager I did not trust after I walked out of the store.
Pros
pay
Cons
working alone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Retail spot to work
2nd Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  North Olmsted, OHMarch 3, 2017
Nice retail spot to work that caters to big and tall customer needs. Low stress and fun people make this a nice place to work. Operation is 7 days a week and if you are full time the schedule is never the same. you could open or you can close. But that is retail for you.
Pros
very clean store and fun people and safe
Cons
done not pay very much for the work that you do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Casual Male XL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 147 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
3.3
Culture
3.1