Find companies:
CATERPILLAR, INC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
73 reviews

CATERPILLAR, INC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and innovative company
Packaging Engineer (Current Employee), Morton, ILMarch 4, 2014
Caterpillar is a world wide leader in Earth moving equipment. It is a great place to work and the opportunity for advancement is limitless. The management is first class and strives to stay the best at what they do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greart place to work.
AP (Current Employee), Peoria, ILFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: stip
Cons: promotions
I enjoy working with everybody. I have learned so much. A typical day at work is auditing, auditing, and more auditing. The management is great. I wish If they could spend more time mentoring the team members. Speaking for myself, there is nothing hard. I would like something that could challenge me. The most enjoyable part of the job is collaborating – more... with other team members to work as one. I am all about Team work and getting the job done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Product Assembler (Former Employee), Sanford, NCFebruary 18, 2014
the managers need to work on communication.
they show favoritism
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Building mining trucks
Caterpillar Truck Assembler for 797 Series (Former Employee), Decatur, ILFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: a sense of accomplishment when a tractor was completed.
Cons: caterpillar tractors and scapers are not always in high demand.
The goal is to finish your part of the tractor in a 8 hour period of time without making any mistakes. Safety was also the number one goal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company with Recent Challenges
Technical Services Manager - Aurora (Current Employee), Peoria, ILFebruary 3, 2014
Requires a complete dedication of your time and depending on what plant you work in can be a difficult work culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
Inventory/Purchasing Analyst (Current Employee), Mossville, ILJanuary 27, 2014
Great work environment that encourages growth in their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company. High volumes. No room for errors.
Safety Coordinator & Facility Safety Manager (Former Employee), Joliet, ILJanuary 23, 2014
Cons: high stress levels
Very busy facility. High work volume. High value put on safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work.
Large Tractor Line Assembler (Former Employee), East Peoria, ILJanuary 23, 2014
I would work at Caterpillar again. I enjoyed the people I worked with, as well as the overtime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Assembler (Current Employee), Montgomery, ILJanuary 21, 2014
Supervisors and employees make Caterpillar a wonderful place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall avg.
Gear Machine Specialist (Current Employee), East Peoria, ILJanuary 18, 2014
Caterpillar is a good place for employment but runs things in a manner that does not help their different departments communicate well with each other. They have made several changes to their operations that have so many bugs in the system that the frustrations of non updated info hurts their overall daily operations. Slows machine processes down and – more... machine set up times that does not match with the overall capacity of what these very costly machines and machine cell areas are truly capable of. Bottom line I feel its a matter of people not following through from start to finish. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company good people good training
2nd Shift Team Leader (Former Employee), East Peoria, ILJanuary 17, 2014
It was a fast paced laid back work environment. I enjoyed my team and how they hired from within, they do care more about the retiring guys and making ure they are taken care of as opposed to making sure the newer guys with 10 or less years in company have anything to look forward to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro-manage
Team Lead/ Line runner (Current Employee), Aurora, ILJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: pay all 8 hours
Cons: no appreciation to the hard working people
This company lacks communication in every aspect that you can think of. The managers give you a work environment that makes you feel like they're watching everything you do and they also don't know how to show appreciation what so ever. My co-workers are good people, they are the ones that keep me sane in this place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your going to work.
Associate (Former Employee), Montgomery, ILJanuary 9, 2014
It's a high paced manufacturing environment. Be prepared to work hard, and there will be frustrations along the way. It's an incredible experience, and they certainly do make you work for your money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No loyalty or respect for knowledge and know-how.
Section Manager (Former Employee), Joliet, ILJanuary 5, 2014
Cons: cut costs at any expense. any employee is at risk of losing job at any time.
Management more focused on maintaining padded metrics and worthless audits rather than on actual production efforts and issues. Shop floor supervisors are responsible for anything and everything possible whether relevant to anything or not. Mid management is disconnected from shop floor manufacturing operations. Company wants to be industry top except – more... for pay. Company does not follow its own guidelines for "attract and retain valuable employees". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highest caliber corporate culture for professionals
TECHNICAL WRITER/PROJECT MANAGER (Former Employee), Building VV, Mossville, ILDecember 10, 2013
Pros: managers are respectful of subordinates.
Cons: 20+ percent flex-force concept makes it difficult to keep working without frequent layoffs.
Working for Caterpillar was the most positive experience I have had in my 18 years as a technical writer. The culture is simply incredible. Caterpillar's workforce is extremely diverse. All cultures work together and respect each other. The harmony is unmatched.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to work and grow
welder (Former Employee), Aurora, ILDecember 9, 2013
Pros: union shop
Cons: split shifts
A hugh company with many oppurtunities
I worked second shift on the boom line,Welding booms,grinding and polishing welds My boss would come by every day to see how I was and was doing Most of the people I worked with were hearty souls
The company was involved in a contract negotiation which made things a little tense between managment and labor
The – more... best part of my job was the weekly saftey meeting... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like many places, only concerned about money for them, not you
Manufacturing Engineer (Current Employee), Aurora, ILDecember 2, 2013
All that anyone seems to care about is how to make money. This is not to say that is not important for a business, but Cat does this at the expense of its employees. There is little room for movement unless you know someone or play golf. Just a typical good-ole-boys club. Those of us that devote ourselves to the company never seem to get anything, after – more... over 10 years, I am done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I truly enjoyed working for this company
contract worker (Former Employee), Peoria, IlNovember 27, 2013
I good training and work environment. Loved the clients. I learned a lot about teamwork
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strong work place
assembler (Former Employee), Aurora, ILNovember 26, 2013
a typical day at cat is busy there is always something to do and alot of training. co-workers are everyday people some good and some bad. hardest part about the job is the everyday changing rules.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
Regional Talent Development Coordinator (Former Employee), Victoria, TXNovember 20, 2013
Great Company to work for. A lot of career opportunities and room for growth and development.

1 2 3 4