Find companies:
Caterpillar
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,004 reviews

Caterpillar Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
iOS Mobile Application Developer (Current Employee), Peoria, ILNovember 19, 2014
This is one of the company where we can learn many productive things. Environment was very friendly and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people!
Production Assembly Associate Tech. (Former Employee), Clayton, NCNovember 18, 2014
Pros: friendly enviroment and safe!
Cons: benefits not so good and low pay..
Great team environment with fun people to work with! Safety was very important and made working in teams exciting !
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
CNC machine operator/Quality Tech (Current Employee), Schertz, TXNovember 18, 2014
Pros: overtime
Cons: no raises
This is a good stepping stone to gain knowledge. There is not much growth in this facility at this time. Everybody is a team. Since CAT took over there has been a lot of changes towards lean manufacturing, 5s, and steps to work your way to a black belt.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assembly
assembly (Current Employee), Decatur, ILNovember 18, 2014
The job itself was geat. The management had too much political drama. Otherwise, A good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Communications/Change Management (Current Employee), Peoria, ILNovember 17, 2014
Pros: compensation and benefits
- Compensation and benefits are very competitive
- Good team work mentality
- Best part of my job is helping people make a change in their work lives as they learn a new business system. It is so important to understand the resistance they have to change and to help them understand why it is important for them and the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Material Handler (Former Employee), Decatur, ILNovember 14, 2014
Pros: overtime
Cons: working with out a break
Fast pace and focused.
I learned how to price clothes and to deal with the different attitudes from the customers on a daily basis.
The managers were nice.
The hardest part of the job was working without breaks and lunches all day.
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people and place to work
Material Handler (Current Employee), morton Il.November 14, 2014
Pros: paid lunches
Cons: lots of walking
My typical day at Caterpillar is fixing all the grief in system 77,76,and 74 on second shift. I've learned a lot about the entire building. I'm qualified in multiple work areas. Every supervisor that I have worked with and got to know are easy to talk to and great at giving us information that we need. The hardest part of my job is building boxes for – more... system 77 and keep up the grief in the area. The best part about my job is all the people I work with. I find the job challenging which I like. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The military of the civilian world
Environmental Health and Safety Officer (Former Employee), Sanford, NCNovember 13, 2014
Pros: good pay, lots of jobs across the enterprise
Cons: not enough time away from work - factory work hours very demanding
If you like strict work rules and a hierarchy similar to the military, you'll like Caterpillar.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate environment that provides several financial products for the construction industry
Direct Funding Coordinator (Current Employee), Nashville, TNNovember 13, 2014
Caterpillar Financial Services Corporation is the financial arm of Caterpillar Inc., a Fortune 50 company, a technology leader and the world's largest manufacturer of construction and mining equipment, natural gas and diesel engines, and industrial gas turbines.

For over 30 years, Cat Financial, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Caterpillar Inc., has been – more... providing financial service excellence to customers. The company offers a wide range of financing alternatives to customers and Cat® dealers for Cat machinery and engines, Solar® gas turbines and other equipment and marine vessels. Cat Financial has offices and subsidiaries located throughout North and South America, Asia, Australia and Europe, with its headquarters in Nashville, Tennessee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees and Management are excellent to work with, friendly atmosphere
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee), Seguin, TXNovember 10, 2014
Pros: the hours, the personnel, the added learning of different functions
Cons: no benefits, no job security
Hours were very nice, work 4 days, 12 hours a day, Learned how to work with Engineers and customers. Learned how to run the KIOSK.
Also learned how to manage Plex Online. Management is great.
Always willing to help you in tough situations. The best part I enjoyed working with my co-workers, never a dull moment with them. The hardest part of my Job was – more... saying goodbye to them when my contract ended. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Lead Engineer (Former Employee), Peoria, ILNovember 7, 2014
Can balance work and life very well. Loved my job every day. Very friendly workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always staying busy
Warehouse Associate/Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Ontario, CANovember 7, 2014
Pros: driving forklift
Cons: food stores kinda far for lunch
Got to drive forklift all day pick items from racks, sort with ticket numbers, build pallets unload trucks...learned to drive reach lift. co workers were cool easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Logistics Analyst (Former Employee), Denver, CONovember 4, 2014
Great pay,
Great benefits.
Great hours.
Great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy, clean environment.
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Lafayette, INNovember 4, 2014
Very clean facilities, friendly coworkers, management welcomes you right in. The worst part is not knowing how long the job is actually going to last.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Various IT Positions (Former Employee), Multiple LocationsNovember 4, 2014
Excellent Company, excellent opportunity and experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retired from Caterpillar in East Peoria in 2005
Machine operator (Former Employee), East Peoria ILOctober 31, 2014
Pros: good pay, good benefits
Cons: worked second shift
I was a Machine Operator at Mossville and East Peoria IL,
and an Inspector on the gear line in Building KK in East Peoria Il when I retired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management had very narrow experience of processes
Indirect Planner Facility Engineering (Former Employee), Athens, GAOctober 31, 2014
Pros: new clean plant
Cons: limited experience of managment.
New green field plant. Management wanted to repeat their processes from their previous location. This hindered new development of in state contracts. Great co-workers and work ethic. Need more variety of work experience to bring in more ideas, most employees had only worked for this one company since college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with opportunities for advancement
Heat Treat Specialist (Former Employee), East Peoria, ILOctober 30, 2014
Pros: great pay and benefits
Cons: possibility of layoffs
I enjoyed my career at Caterpillar and only gave it up because we were relocating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, high production company.
Section Manager (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCOctober 30, 2014
Typical day, hurry, hurry hurry.
hardest part of job, high demand.
Enjoyed family owned back then.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized and good pay but not a security of work.
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee), Aurora, ILOctober 29, 2014
Pros: free lunches at times, good team work.
Cons: they always want more form their workers.
Assembler
Follow detailed assembly instructions, processes and procedures
Comply with policies, guidelines and regulatory requirements per the Quality System
Completes all administrative functions relating to business or regulatory requirements
Report problems with quality, processes, equipment and materials to Production Supervisor
Provide hands on – more... job function training to coworkers as needed.

Quality Control Collect and analyze production samples to evaluate quality
Analyze quality control test results and provide feedback and interpretation to production management or staff
Stop production if serious product defects are present
Monitor performance of quality control systems to ensure effectiveness and efficiency
Communicate quality control information to all relevant organizational departments, outside vendors, or contractors
Instruct staff in quality control and analytical procedures
Produce reports regarding non conformance of products or processes, daily production quality, root cause analyses, or quality trends
Participate in the development of product specifications
Review statistical studies, technological advances, or regulatory standards and trends to stay abreast of issues in the field of quality control. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Caterpillar

For more than 85 years, Caterpillar has been making sustainable progress possible — for our customers, for growing communities – Read more