Caterpillar Employee Reviews

Found 2,634 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
non reliable
IT Analyst (Former Employee) –  East Peoria, ILAugust 22, 2017
In true Caterpillar fashion everyone gets laid off, then they wait a few months and hire all new people. I enjoyed my job duties along with my direct supervisor.
Pros
experience
Cons
lack of stability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caterpillar
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Bogart, GAAugust 22, 2017
Fast paced worked assembly line, assisted other job duties when needed. Company had benefits once you was hired permanent also provided training for new employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salary and Benefits
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILAugust 22, 2017
Overall compensation package was excellent by today's standards. As with most companies, insurance coverage has declined but overall still better than others. Many amenities. Fast-paced environment with extremely high performance expectations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast moving environment
Warehouse associate (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHAugust 22, 2017
Caterpillar had great hours and benefits. They work with you if you have a problem with your hours. They train you in other departments. And great vacation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money, no life
Welder ll (Former Employee) –  Kilgore, TXAugust 22, 2017
Love the work, Co workers become family but the company conduct towards employees we satisfactory. The human resources department was self absorbed and didn't look out for the employees because interest.
Pros
Made good money, breaks, lunch hour
Cons
7 days 12 hours a day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work. There is something for everyone.
Business Resources (Current Employee) –  Peoria, ILAugust 22, 2017
Company has become really big. Changes to adapt to new age of economy require agile thinking.
Work culture is very similar to conservative Mid - West values. Depending on what your style and preferences are you could find something that fits your profile.
Pros
Flexible environment
Cons
Company too big and slow to change.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Contract Worker (Current Employee) –  Peoria, ILAugust 21, 2017
Good culture and work environment. Extensive computer and email use. Microsoft and various software is used. Answer phone calls, distribute and retain badges and parking for everyone in administrative building.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pays the bills
Product Assembler (Former Employee) –  Clayton, NCAugust 21, 2017
work over the 10 hour shift almost every day. over worked and underpaid. expensive healthcare. 30 minute lunch short breaks. tobacco and smoke free campus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever Changing Environment
Category Buyer II (Current Employee) –  Mossville, ILAugust 21, 2017
Caterpillar changes daily, so much so that most of my workgroup applied for a different position than the one they are in today. Many career moves are out of your control.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked
Lean Six Sigma Black Belt (Former Employee) –  Mossville, ILAugust 21, 2017
Being over-run with supplemental employees. No job security or loyalty by upper management. There are numerous other places to work that have respect for their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focus on Safety, Quality, Velocity and Cost in that order.
Logistics Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Newberry, SCAugust 21, 2017
Caterpillar is strong on safety and standardized work. A industry leader in many of its products.

The name recognition makes one proud of being a part of the business,
Pros
Yearly Incentive package
Cons
The business cycle is dependent on the mining and construction industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned how to work in a peak time here
DevOps Engineer (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILAugust 21, 2017
1) I worked when i was sick
2) I learned how to work
3) Very good boss
4) I love my office and support
5) my work is enjoyable
6) without cricket its hard to work atleast week once
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Folklift Operator Material Handler
Forklift Operator and Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Clayton, OHAugust 21, 2017
I was able to continue with gaining great experience in my chosen field in the role of a material handler and forklift operator; I have more than ten years in this line of work and enjoy it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Franklin, INAugust 21, 2017
bad pay
bad work conditions
no body cares about your training
managers get shuffled all the time
no accountability
work most weekends
tons of overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Packer (Former Employee) –  Newberry, SCAugust 20, 2017
Friendly people to work with. I had good people who were more than willing to train and make sure I knew my job and could perform to the best of my ability.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Quality Inspector (Current Employee) –  Joliet, ILAugust 20, 2017
This would be a great company to work for if this facility wasn't relocating. I never know what will happen on any given day because things can pop up any time into the shift. That's always the way in any industry. One good thing is there is an opportunity for people to be cross-trained in different areas in order to be more valuable to the company.
The people and management are friendly and they care about employees well-being.
Pros
Good hours and great compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsecured job in Caterpillar
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Mossville, ILAugust 20, 2017
Working in Caterpillar through an agency since September 2015, experienced 4 rounds of lay-off happened and hundreds of people kicked off by company due to the short-vision previous CEO and vice president. Work load is ok, 8 hours a day and 5 days a week. No opportunity currently to be converted from a contractor to a full time employee. Will not recommend any one join this company at this moment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There were a lot of favoritism at the workplace
Assembler 1 (Former Employee) –  Newberry, SCAugust 18, 2017
Those who would work and get the job done never got any credit. Those who kiss butt and got their position because of who they knew was always praised and given incentives.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safety was always first. i loved the fast paced work enviorment and loved learning something new everyday
Picker/Packer/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Champaign, ILAugust 17, 2017
i learned alot in the short time i was there. everyone was really nice and very helpful. there was alot of physical work but i didnt mind. i loved to stay busy and learn something new everyday. theres room for mistakes as long as you learn from them
Pros
Forklift license, loved the physical part
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the work is simple but some of the people made the job complicated
Bender Operator (Former Employee) –  Oxford, MSAugust 17, 2017
as long as you came to work on time and did your job usually there weren't any problems. Caterpillar was real big on safety so you had to make sure you could work at a fast pace and safely.
Pros
they fed us often
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Caterpillar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,881 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8