Catholic Health Services of Long Island Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 17 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst Company ever
Director, Practice Management (Former Employee) –  Melville, NYNovember 5, 2015
CHS and its Senior Leadership is the worst in the industry. They hire Sr. Level Management without any formal education and place them in positions they know nothing about.

Extremely unprofessional.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment, team building, great co-workers
Lead Application Analyst (Current Employee) –  Melville, NYOctober 20, 2015
I have been a part of Catholic Health Services for the past 17 years. The health system has provided a rewarding and challenging career and has made me feel that I have contributed to the success of the company. Catholic Health Services is a great place to work.
Pros
flexible work schedule
Cons
work some holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clerk II
Clerk (Former Employee) –  West Islip nySeptember 8, 2015
If you like to be Micro managed then you will love working at Good Samaritan Hospital. They have all the wrong people in charge !! If your a/hard worker they will not appreciate you.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Catholic Health Services
Project Manager/Client Services Manager (Current Employee) –  West Islip, NYAugust 10, 2015
CHSLI is a multiple hospital health care system on Long Island providing both acute and long term care for patients on Long Island.

My job responsibilities at Good Samaritan Medical Center include; direct project management, long term planning, day to day troubleshooting, budget management and direct employee contact from COO all the way down the line.

My position can be rewarding and challenging at the same time.
Pros
Located close to home
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes1No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and Professsional place to work
Community Connect Implementation Manager/Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Melville, NYApril 27, 2015
Catholic Health Services of Long Island (CHS) is an integrated health care delivery system with some of the region's finest health and human services agencies. CHS includes six hospitals, three skilled nursing facilities, a regional home nursing service, hospice and a multiservice, community-based agency for persons with special needs. Under the sponsorship of the Diocese of Rockville Centre, CHS serves hundreds of thousands of Long Islanders each year, providing care that extends from the beginning of life to helping people live their final years in comfort, grace and dignity. Learn more about CHS's commitment to quality and about the services offered.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Mission Based Facility
Manager Community Relations (Former Employee) –  Melville, NYMarch 30, 2015
OLC is a wonderful caring nursing facility, The staff is amazing and the mission is alive everyday. I enjoyed my job tremendously helping the elderly everyday,
Was this review helpful?Yes5No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chs
Vice President (Current Employee) –  Melville, NYDecember 1, 2014
I learned a great deal while working for this organization, however they continually add demands and reduce staff to address the poor financial performance and poor decisions made by senior management. They do not value their dedicated employees.
Pros
good people, hardworking workforce
Cons
stressful, time pressured environment
Was this review helpful?Yes36No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great workplace
SYSTEMS ANALYST, EPIC REPORT WRITER (Current Employee) –  Melville, NYSeptember 10, 2014
CHSLI is a productive and great workplace with great co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No20
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Coworkers Terrible Management
Medical Biller (Former Employee) –  melvilleAugust 1, 2014
I worked at chs for 4 years. The office in Melville is clean and close to lots of stores and shopping mall. Great area. The building has a small gym with showers and many outdoor seating. My coworkers became part of my family and we all got along great.
The problem is the management. My team brought up so many issues to our director but nothing was done. The place needs more supervisors and managers who actually know how to bill and can get their hands on work not just delegate. They dont check on work done and dont return emails. The office is ran by directors who are not qualified and by managers who are rude & lazy. Specially in the physician billing area. The employees are underpaid!!! The kids working at McDonald's make about the same salary. There are employees who have been working there for over 15 years but there are no promotions and only a 1-2% raise per year! And sometimes no raise at all. The pros are the benefits, location and peopple.
Pros
benefits, location, great clean building, coworkers
Cons
poor management, extremely low salary and raise of 1-2% or none at all
Was this review helpful?Yes34No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good co workers and manager
Coding Specialist (Former Employee) –  Melville, NYJune 18, 2014
good co workers and great manager. learned much and enjoyed the teamwork
Was this review helpful?Yes2No19
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respectable Organization
VP OF STRATEGIC PLANNING & IMPLEMENTATION (Former Employee) –  Rockville Centre, New YorkFebruary 26, 2014
Complex Healthcare Delivery System. Interesting and rewarding work with opportunities to work with a diverse group of people.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No17
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning experience
Community Connect Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Melville, NYDecember 11, 2013
A typical day at work consisted of meetings to discuss new initiatives. I would spend half of my day in the office and the half out in the field meeting with physicians. I learned alot about EMR systems for private practices and the installation process. I was able to build my communication skills with the doctors that I met with on a daily basis.The hardest part of the job was being accepted as part of the team. I was the newest member on the team but I never felt accepted for the time I was there. The most enjoyable part of the job was the freedom to go out and work on my own to build business and my client base.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Department was extraordinary- save for the Office Manager
Administrative Assistant / Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Melville, NYNovember 5, 2013
As one of the leading Healthcare organizations on Long Island, the CHSLI IT Team is extraordinary. Their tech skills, team collaboration, and execution of communications and data management are superb. They were a team of over 100 professionals, that it was my honor to support as their admin assistant. The hardest part of the job was working with the office manager- as nothing I did seemed to be "right" for her. As a result, I was downsized from the position; losing a great source of personal satisfaction for me in the work I was able to accomplish for the teams. Also- the teams lost a great source of support in me.
Pros
excellent health benefits
Cons
no hr support when i needed it
Was this review helpful?Yes19No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative
Accounts Payable Clerk (Current Employee) –  Rockville Centre, New YorkSeptember 27, 2013
Yes CHS is a mismanaged almost to the point of no return, Yes Management in the Finance Department (AP) do openly talk about people to other Employees as well as outside the Company .... Better known as "BlackListing" Its Time For CHS Corp to clean out "Bad" Directors and Managers ,,,,Its Been going on Way to long.....!!!!!!!!!

Also has too many Family members working too closely together causing out right favortism.
Pros
benefits
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes38No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very Family like envoirnment
Clerical Administration (Current Employee) –  Melville, NYApril 28, 2013
Its always productive at CHS, I've learned a lot of new things there, the job was a temporary assignment, and I filled the need of what they were asking for in an employee, management was great co-workers are productive and friendly and motivational, the most enjoyable part of the job is always meeting new faces and new clients for the company.
Pros
worked with ceo's and vice presidents
Cons
it was a temporary assignment
Was this review helpful?Yes4No16
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative
Accounts Payable Clerk (Current Employee) –  NYMay 15, 2012
It is a horribly run and disgustingly managed company. The management openly talks about people to other employees and gives nothng but negative reinforcement to workers.
Pros
benefits
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes49No3

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.4
Management
2.3
Culture
2.5

Catholic Health Services of Long Island Reviews by Location