Find companies:
Cato's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Cato's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a nice place to work the staff was great!
Second Assistant Manager (Former Employee), South Hill, VAJuly 7, 2014
I would work the register and check in shipment and put it out on the floor. I would get the deposit ready for the bank at closing. Also I made sure the store was clean
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Worker
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Quincy,floridaJune 26, 2014
Pros: better pay
Cons: short lunches
I also help customers look for items and help assist them in cashing out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fashionable and fun job
Assistant Manager/ Store Manager (Former Employee), Quincy, FLApril 3, 2014
Pros: vacation time, yearly raises and bonus checks
Cons: unsympathetic bosses
I enjoyed going to this job daily because it dealt with fashion which I loved. The only problem I had with this job was when I lost my uncle and grandmother within a three week period of one another my district manager did not show me any sympathy; she expected me to be to work all emotional during this time. Other than that this was and awesome job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i think that i would like working for this company i like the staff
cashier/floor (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJanuary 27, 2014
my day at work was a good day I learned how to do things the way cato's want like working the floor liked working with my co-workers and seing
how they do things and as far as management goes I got to see how they handle custmers and they eye contact they expression towards the customer and what I seen was good and the hardest thing about the job was – more... trying to do everything right the first day not giving my self time to learn the job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was a great place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNJanuary 18, 2014
they stay busy
they have shipment every week
they keep store clean
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate/Cahier (Former Employee), Corsicana, TXDecember 4, 2013
Great place to work if int in retail co workers are great flexibility
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cato is a fun place to work; its a great working enviroment.
sales associate (Current Employee), Athens, ALDecember 2, 2013
Pros: they give you birthday gifts on your birthday. we exchange christmas gifts. they provide snacks.
Cons: sometimes i didnt always get a 15 min break even if i worked 5 hours.
I clock in and they give me a task and my goals for the day. I help customers. my managers were very helpful and patient. I enjoyed working with all of my co workers and we all got along very well. The hardest part of the job was trying to please every customer. I really enjoyed working on shipment and dressing the body forms.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Wilson, NCNovember 15, 2013
met new people everyday
How to really multitask
very good management
easy job
dealing with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over worked and underpaid
manager (Former Employee), wakeforest, ncSeptember 21, 2013
Pros: great repeat customers
Cons: over worked and under paid
I worked for this company for 10 years. I loved the customers but upper management would come in and nothing was ever good enough. The pay is the worse after 10 years all the raise I got was 5 cents, yet the company wants you to walk around with a smile on your face and pretend life is wonderful while all you can do is cry when all your bills are behind.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atomosphere
1st1 Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Madisonville, TNJuly 12, 2013
Pros: great atomosphere, learning experience
Cons: low pay, benefits weren't good
This was a great place to work as well as a great learning experience. The pay scale and benefits were not great at all. The employees and regular customers were always good to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working here
Cashier (Former Employee), Zebulon, NCJune 16, 2013
although this was many years ago, this was my favorite place to work.
retail sales, inventory control, cashier, customer service, etc. loved it here
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun working environment
1st Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Lake City, FLJune 10, 2013
I learned how to handle customer complaints. Everyone helped on another as a team. Management team were all on one accord and made sure the store was secured and shopable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very educational
Assistant Store manger (Former Employee), Vicksburg, MSJune 5, 2013
Pros: customer service and getting to know/help the customers
Cons: pay and work load
I learned a lot about management and public relations while working for Cato's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned alot and got great experience
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee), Monroe, LAMarch 22, 2013
I love working with others. i gained alot of things about clothing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLFebruary 27, 2013
I loved the environment as well as the people, it was a great place to work for my first job and I would love for my next job to be the same or better thanCato's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving Job
Cashier/Salesperson (Former Employee), Savannah, GAJanuary 31, 2013
Waited on table. My coworkers were great. The restaurant was slow and the customers were cheap. They went out of business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned some great work skills from here/
Retail Store Manager (Former Employee), Bridgeton, MOJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: merchandising, daily interraction with customers and staff.
Cons: was working allot of hours weekly without sufficient composation.
I started this job as an Assistant Manger and was quickly promoted into th Store Mangment postion that floated between two stores. I learned every aspect of the retail buisness and was eager to learn all of it. One of my favorite parts of this job was the merchandising. I had a great crew that was eager to learn as well. The hardest part of my job was – more... the location of the buisness and trying to keep my loss prevention numbers down. They ended up closeing this store because Home Depot bought them out. I ended up quiting due to personal reasons at home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a nice retail job
Cashier (Former Employee), Center, TXOctober 18, 2012
Pros: employee discount!!!
Cons: 7.25 an hr
This job was fun. It was easy and I enjoyed working in a clothing store and meeting new people everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive/Workful
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Roanoke Rapids, NCSeptember 12, 2012
Cons: shortbreak/healthcare
It's been a experienced working there learn alot of things everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, beneficial, healthy environment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Hattiesburg Ms, McComb MSSeptember 11, 2012
Cato's is a great company to work for, if fashionable then this is the perfect job for you