CB&I Employee Reviews

Found 510 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Corporate
Process Development Engineer (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, TXDecember 2, 2016
Not a very accommodating environment. Very typical to be overloaded with work. Many personal lack self motivation and little to no push to motivate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company
Designer 3 (Former Employee) –  Waynesboro, GANovember 22, 2016
Work was enjoyable working on a project that will be the first nuclear plant built in the USA in nearly 40 years. Sometimes work was mentally tedious because some co-workers did not have previous nuclear experience and did not value the importance the work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady good pay
Carpenter/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Hackberry, LANovember 21, 2016
I learned alot of different crafts here. Met people from near and far to and from work. Im young so working along side so many other experienced workers motivated me to do better everyday and develop a good work ethic then everything else tends to fall in place . great place to work..
Pros
Good paying job
Cons
Weather and risks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Project Controls Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 21, 2016
It is a very professional company focused on employee development, training and service delivery to the client. It is a productive and fun workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding employment
Environmental Scientist III (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 21, 2016
I was previously employed as an Environmental Scientist with Chicago Bridge & Iron (formerly the Shaw Group) working with the Environmental & Infrastructure Group in Houston, Texas. I have over 18 years of environmental experience. I participated in numerous hazardous waste site investigations and remedial activities at industrial, commercial and government facilities in the Southern and Northeastern US and Guam. My responsibilities included the preparation of various environmental reports, remedial construction oversight and hazardous waste disposal, as well as the management of field activities during groundwater and soil investigations. I have supervised the operations associated with Mobile Disaster Recovery Centers in selected counties affected by Hurricane Rita in Texas and Hurricane Whilma in Florida. I am proficient in using ArcGIS tools for GIS planning tasks on multiple residential and commercial sites as well. I previously provided support as the Quality Control Lead for several smelter sites in the Southwestern US. This entailed the thorough review of all field-related documentation.
Pros
Great team work with interesting projects
Cons
Juggling family with work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good overall and good management.
Pipe Fitter Assistant (Former Employee) –  Deer Park, TXNovember 20, 2016
Really good and good people in the compeny never a person that was not ever helpfull. And also manegment was really great and helfull. Really recommend someone to work for this comopeny the pay could be better is the only down side about the company.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place for Employment
Principal Civil/Structural Engineer Lead (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LA 70809November 20, 2016
Extremely challenging and rewarding job. Enjoyed learning from as well as teaching co-workers. Very difficult Engineering project with aggressive progress schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well rounded company for time-flexible tradesmen
Journeyman Ironworker (Former Employee) –  Ingleside, TXNovember 16, 2016
A well structured company who provides excellent safety resource and the tools necessary to complete the task assigned.

The schedule can be demanding but they always pay on time without error.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Lead Instrument and Control System Engineer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 15, 2016
Excellent Company
Good Management
Good co-workers
fun place to work in
line management is doing very good
over seas assignment
large projects
good salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very relaxed atmosphere
AutoCad Designer (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNNovember 15, 2016
very small close nit mechanical design department. No 3D program available, all work done in 2D. No room for advancement or growth to expand technical skills.
Pros
relaxed work schedule, Flex hours
Cons
all projects done in 2D.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful to work here at times
Project Accountant (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LANovember 15, 2016
I am a people person. The most enjoyable part of my job is dealing with so many different people throughout the say. I can get along with anyone. Typical day at work consist of review AR on various job, Billing, communicating with Project Managers about their jobs, etc...
Pros
Flexible when need to tend to children
Cons
Commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
LABOR FOREMAN / ADMIT. CLERK (Former Employee) –  Hackberry, LANovember 15, 2016
Its a great job if u do your work they have alot going on at that work site but its a job. U do have
Alot of unsatisfied people as well
Pros
WELL MORE WATER BREAKS
Cons
Not enough lunch time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean lunch areas and rest room
Rigger (Former Employee) –  Hackberry, LANovember 14, 2016
I've worked with CB & I twice. Different management. Both jobs have
good training. Good Ins. There's just no time off. A lot of hours.
There's advancement if you apply yourself.
Pros
Good trianing, safety, Ins. pay
Cons
No time off, but good money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not much to say
Project Accountant (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LANovember 13, 2016
As stated before, I preferred working for the company when it was managed by the Shaw personnel. Once CB&I took over, everything changed and working moral dropped.
Pros
steady for my position
Cons
young managers moved up before they are ready
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Rigging Foreman (Former Employee) –  Jenkinsville, SCNovember 12, 2016
decent company to work for 60 hours a week away from home, but you can request time off over all a good company to work for if you like to travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hard work
Top Electrician Helper (Current Employee) –  Ingleside, TXNovember 10, 2016
I enjoy where i work, always look forward to working focusing on sharpening my technical skills,
troubleshooting, overhauls, installations, adjustments and repairs on a variety of electronic equipment.
As a team player my goal is to grow with this company and further my education to hopefully one day step up into a Management position.
Pros
the pay
Cons
away from my family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company with opportunity for growth
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LANovember 10, 2016
CB & I is a large company with an opportunity to meet the needs of the Oil & Gas industry.

There are good people who work at the company and the only issue
is keeping a consistent work load for Engineering staff.

CB&I has a potential to be a very good company.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Inconsistent Work Load
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic construction setting
Transportation coordinator (Current Employee) –  Hackberry, LANovember 8, 2016
My job is extremely comfortable to me. No issues at performing my duties or with supervisory staff. Security staff is extremely easy to work with, which certainly makes my job easier.
Pros
none
Cons
weak compensation/hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast management changes and company restructures
Project Director / Director - Project Controls (Former Employee) –  Bloomfield NJNovember 7, 2016
Company has fast track of management changes and company restructures that happens lately every few months.
Day to day work affected much by management changes and company restructures.
Worked with talented individuals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cb&I
Principal Process Engineer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 4, 2016
Great Company but the economy is bad and no fault of the company. I think of all the I&C companies the idocs document control is by far way better than any other company.
Pros
good benefits, good people, organized
Cons
strict and not very flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CB&I. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 674 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7