CB&I Employee Reviews

Found 555 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great corporate work environment
Senior Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXFebruary 19, 2017
Great global corporate environment. Even when going through a large merger CB&I remained a professional and pleasant place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work was temporary and not long term
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ingleside, TXFebruary 15, 2017
working at CB&I was good until the job site relocated to another state.

no long term employment.

not enough work in the state of Texas. needs to invest more in our Texas locations.
Pros
Work Schedule. Emoloyees
Cons
short term work no long term work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's OK to work
Senior Process (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 15, 2017
It's new in EPC and still the management is learning how to handle big job without making any big issue. People don't care about the work quality. It's ok to work, if you have no choice.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Ironworker Journeyman (Former Employee) –  Texas City, TXFebruary 15, 2017
working for CB&I was a great experience, coworkers are good people, foreman is down to earth and understands if you have issues away from work, a good place to launch your career.
Pros
room for advancement
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy work and good coworkers but upper management is awful and unorganized
electrician helper (Current Employee) –  Sulphur, LAFebruary 11, 2017
good benifits and good way to start learning a trade but upper management is very unorganized and could care less about you
Pros
easy work
Cons
no perdiem
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Controls and Instrument Engineer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 10, 2017
It was a good place to work, just at the time I felt the culture didnt match up to what i required and moved on to work on contract with DOW Chemical.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good place
Maintenance Mechanic/Welder/Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 9, 2017
Of all the civilian places ive worked, Chicago bridge and Iron is one of the best places to work. The hours are nice and the pay is great. Would recommend to people.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive fab shop
FOREMAN (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXFebruary 9, 2017
I enjoy working for them they are a good company if you like working in a fab shop. They are a very large company and the benefits are great.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a company that stand behind safety
Area HSE Manager USA (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 8, 2017
CB&I has been a good company to work for, They stand behind what they say and they push a good healthy safety culture. I do enjoy working for a boss that accepts a debates and we both learn for this
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cb&I
Iron Worker ( journey man 3 ) Detail Crew (Former Employee) –  Sulphur, LAFebruary 5, 2017
They are a very unprofessional company. With management that makes lower employees take the blunt of their mess ups. Very poorly ran.how such a large company could make so many mistakes and remain profitable is beyond me. CB&I is one of those companies where you are just another number.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you like long hours
QC Inspector III (Former Employee) –  Waynesboro, GAFebruary 4, 2017
CB&I paid well and expected employees to keep up to date with certifications and latest changes. They provided access to earn certifications in all areas necessary to perform your assigned tasks. Had to work long hours but was compensated well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Environmental Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Jenkinsville, SCFebruary 2, 2017
I enjoyed working at CB&I. I learned a lot. Great workplace environment, good benefits, opportunity for advancement, excellent management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CBI are the best company I have work for
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Hackberry, LAFebruary 1, 2017
CBI are the best company I have work for they have a great team on every job. I been try my best to go back to work for them I been working for them about 8 years now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace.
Pipe fitter level 4 (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJanuary 30, 2017
Enjoyed working there because it was close to home. Everyone was friendly towards one another and helped each other out when one person had a problem.
Pros
Great supervision
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CBI was a great place to work.
Material Control/ Operator (Former Employee) –  Hackberry, LouisianaJanuary 30, 2017
A typical day at work was very enjoyable. I enjoyed the job I preformed and the people I worked with every day. They made the job fun. If you do not enjoy work why go to it everyday?
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nuclear Culture
Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Jenkinsville, SCJanuary 28, 2017
I have worked for many years in the manufacturing industry. CB&I is a top notch company to work for. Safety and Quality come first with CB&I.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed a good career at CB&I for over 9 years.
Principal Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 27, 2017
I had many wonderful challenges at CB&I and am glad I worked there. They are running into a dropping backlog of work. The work experience varies from project to project.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was a hecktic due to its bus situation.
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Hackberry, LAJanuary 26, 2017
Overall the job was under managed, got tired of the job due to working with beginner workers. They wanted outragous productivity, while they did not have the right tools or material on hand.
Pros
None
Cons
No safety meetings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Operator (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TXJanuary 25, 2017
I worked on the operations side of the R&D plant. Great learning experience for an entry level operator looking to go forward with the operations side of things
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive atmosphere of teamwork and creativity.
Designer (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJanuary 22, 2017
Great work atmosphere in office, inter office not so much. 2 different objectives, rules, quality standards and methods collided head on. Both offices good people, just different leadership. I thought I had found my dream job, but it just didn't work out. Grunt level leadership was some of the best. The team they assembled was the best of the best. I would work for CB&I again.
Pros
Talent level, benefits and pay.
Cons
Upper level management, impossible schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CB&I. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 733 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7