CB&I Employee Reviews

Found 510 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Mechanical Engineer - Heat Transfer (Current Employee) –  Tyler, TXOctober 5, 2016
I have learned many types of equipment at CB&I. I have attended many lunch-n-learns where supplier taught about their equipment and sometimes about how their equipment operates. I have met many good people and learned so much from those people. It has been a pleasure to work at CB&I.
Pros
Good training when there is time. Good experience when available. Good benefits.
Cons
There is no job security and no warning when they will lay you off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company with opportunity for growth
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LANovember 10, 2016
CB & I is a large company with an opportunity to meet the needs of the Oil & Gas industry.

There are good people who work at the company and the only issue
is keeping a consistent work load for Engineering staff.

CB&I has a potential to be a very good company.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Inconsistent Work Load
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Lead Instrument and Control System Engineer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 15, 2016
Excellent Company
Good Management
Good co-workers
fun place to work in
line management is doing very good
over seas assignment
large projects
good salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic construction setting
Transportation coordinator (Current Employee) –  Hackberry, LANovember 8, 2016
My job is extremely comfortable to me. No issues at performing my duties or with supervisory staff. Security staff is extremely easy to work with, which certainly makes my job easier.
Pros
none
Cons
weak compensation/hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cb&I
Principal Process Engineer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 4, 2016
Great Company but the economy is bad and no fault of the company. I think of all the I&C companies the idocs document control is by far way better than any other company.
Pros
good benefits, good people, organized
Cons
strict and not very flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company has strong potential but poor mangement
Construction Field Engineer (Current Employee) –  Lake Charles, LASeptember 6, 2016
Company has knowledgeable personnel but is poorly managed. The pay and benefits are average but the environment is extremely stressful due to unrealistic schedules.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a productive place to work for
Firewatch/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAOctober 11, 2016
A great environment to learn new things at a fast pace with excellent pay and benefits my job consisted of watching for smoldering fires and ensure safety of others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Job
Quality of Design Technician (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 30, 2016
I have loved working here. Very stable environment and friendly co-workers. The pay is competitive and the benefits are worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They make lay pipe like no on else.
Combo Pipe Welder (Former Employee) –  El Dorado, ARAugust 8, 2016
I found it a very safe place to work with excellent pay and benefits. Good people and leadership. The best company that I ever worked for. I would love to work for them again and again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Oiler (Former Employee) –  Geismar, LAJuly 21, 2016
Great work environment which allowed importunity to advance. Safety was a priority with each job being handled and workers had the option to stop work if they felt it was unsafe.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Project Estimator (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJuly 7, 2016
Good benefits. Large, hard to advance. Hard division to gauge, new part of the company, still trying to change culture of former company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Senior Process Engineer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 23, 2016
CB&I was a great place to work. Great diverse culture, and courteous management. I highly recommend this company.

Great health benefits.
Location was convenient

Parking was convenient
Pros
great location, awesome health insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1St technical design job!
ELECTRICAL DESIGN TECHNICIAN (Current Employee) –  Jenkinsville, SCMarch 22, 2016
Great experience, everyone was friendly and helpful. I learned a lot and they educated me on things that I needed to know for real world work experience. My lead electrical engineer manager was the best manager I had at eny previous job I worked. He cared about his employees. I recommend this company for anyone looking to get into the nuclear/fossil industry. And the start out salary with me being entry-level was higher than anywhere else!!!
Pros
SALARY, WORK ENVIORMENT, CONTINUING EDUCATION-ON-THE-JOB, SAFETY
Cons
SLOW PRODUCTIVITY, REPETITIVE
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge company
Civil Planner (Current Employee) –  Eureka, CAMay 18, 2016
Being on projects only, and 2 at that, they are too large to rate overall. But have been impressed with ethics and safety culture. Benefits are fair and normal, pay for nuclear work is average for this industry.
Our decommissioning team here has been cohesive and very well melded. Hope to work with them on another D & D project.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
LDAR TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Port Arthur, TXJune 6, 2016
Good job and pay.
Poor management bad communication and managements have there favorites.Easy job and great place to work not everybody there for you two-face another then that great job.
Pros
Give breaks.
Cons
Great benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean lunch areas and rest room
Rigger (Former Employee) –  Hackberry, LANovember 14, 2016
I've worked with CB & I twice. Different management. Both jobs have
good training. Good Ins. There's just no time off. A lot of hours.
There's advancement if you apply yourself.
Pros
Good trianing, safety, Ins. pay
Cons
No time off, but good money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot I was with CDI from a few years after I graduated till 2007
Welder and Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 16, 2016
In the first few years I had a lot of training on doing construction
of vessels such as water tanks, steel building and later nuclear
projects. I traveled and worked all over the United States. I was a
pusher, a welder, and in later year a superintendent. I had great co-
workers some who were family. I meet a lot of wonderful people
and their families and we worked and traveled together for years.
The hardest part of the job was so much traveling. The most
enjoyable was working with some very intelligent people and
learning. CBI provided continuous training and there was opportunity
for advancement.
Pros
good pay, benefits and advancement
Cons
Working in hard conditions snow, hot, cold, wet and the work was very dangerous.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job site and hardworking people
Tool Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Ingleside, TXJune 21, 2016
Loved working there, good place to work and make good money with nice benefits and possibilities. Clock in time was decent and Clock out time was good as well , i would definitely work there again .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job while it lasted
Piping Designer (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJune 21, 2016
The two projects I worked on were great to work on, but wished there was more. I would like to have the opportunity to work with CB&I again.
Pros
Great salary
Cons
Did not last long enough
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CB&I Great Company with room for Advancement
Project Accountant/Procurement Specialist (Current Employee) –  Goodyear, AZApril 20, 2016
This company provided me with great advancement opportunities, and a good salary. Started out as an Executive Assistant and worked my way up to Project Accountant in a short amount of time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CB&I. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 675 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7