Find companies:
CB&I
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
115 reviews

CB&I Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TMI was a good place to work but CB&I is unorganized.
Daily / Outage Scheduler (Former Employee), Middletown, PAFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: the people
Cons: job length, leadership inexpeience, working 50 to 60hrs/week for 6 months prior to th outage work
Started each day with updating the TMI Daily Online Schedule using P3, updating the "Plan Of the Day" & sending it to CB&I corporate, attending daily "T" meetings to organize then schedule work for upcoming work weeks, inputting daily schedule progress and changes, attend the Daily Schedule Meeting with Work Week Manager to give the latest schedule – more... work status.

When not working on the Daily Online Schedule, I was responsible for the inputting, scheduling and levelizing all Refueling outage scaffolding and Containment shielding using P6 along with running special reports & graphs.

CB&I's upper management at TMI was new to their perspective positions and struggled at times contradicting their directions several times. This made my job very difficult because they did not really know what they wanted from me which lead to re-work over and over. CB&I was also responsible for cutting the contract support budget by almost 25%, so we had to cut everything to the bone. The schedule was very, very tight and schedule adherence was almost impossible.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the people I got to work with, they were great and always there to help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what i think
overhead crane operator/rigger (Former Employee), lake charlesJanuary 31, 2014
i worked at cb&i for almost 2 years as a rigger/crane operator, ive seen lots of people come and go, it a great place to work, work got slow and that had a 60% layoff but other then that its a grreat place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. A wealth of knowledge in the nuclear fabrication field.
QC Inspector (Former Employee), Addis, LAJanuary 31, 2014
Great, long, productive days at work.

The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing that what we have made today is buliding a better tomorrow for America.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, Okay pay, too much drama
IT Technical Support (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: hours, overtime, customers were mostly good humored, good schedule. good coworkers.
Cons: backstabbing, managers who know nothing about their own feild. bullying and reality tv mentality.
I was with Shaw during the transfer and throughout the whole affair. I can honestly say the work I did was good. Maybe not the best, but I became "friends" with some of my callers from over the world. My review is not about the job. IT Helpdesk jobs are like any call center job you come across. Extremely busy, fast paced, and a lot of it is all your – more... fault calls. This was no big deal. The issue comes from my manager. Everyday was a new problem and finally after nearly two years, I had had enough. First incident was why I kept my desk so clean. Yes, you read this right. I stated because I like a clean work area. This turned into I was supposedly quitting that day. Mind you this was week two of my employment. Time passed and my manager called me into her office and then begins to berate not me, my education. That's right my degree to her was fake. Her words, "You don't have a real degree, and you will never get anywhere in life". Lovely right ? I reported this and said I wanted to remain nameless. Well the HR head and my manager are buddies. So, just a coincidence that the rep who took my complaint was fired one week later, the report magically is no where, and I was verbally abused even more. So if you get a job with this company do not play everyone is friendly and all will be well. Doesn't work. These people are so insecure like many other people that they live by reality TV standards instead of getting the job done. Prepare to feel as though you have to look over your shoulder and live paranoid. Immature is an understatement here. I'm a passive kind of person and my last straw was hearing a person who was an IT manager who couldn't figure out what an <tr> is in HTML, and couldn't plug in the simple peripherals of a PC in by themselves, tell me my degree was fake every chance they got. Yeah real classy. This was my work experience here. I can only hope others had a better one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very safe place to work
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee), WVJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: good supervision, proper equipment
Cons: rewards for being safe
I enjoyed every day working for this company they were always very nice to work for I never had any problems with any situations on the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a fairly decent place to work for except the manager
Mailroom Supervisor (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: free lunches and gift cards given to us by upper management as rewards
Cons: cbi is the lowest paying company as a direct hire, premiums were very high with no compensation to cover the increase on insurance.
Did the daily duties of incoming and outgoing mail and packages. Entered reports into our EDMS system iDocs. Opened and closed BIG tickets. Learned how to use the EDMS system. My co-workers were great. Hardest part of the job was working with our manager. There was no gray area with her. All was either black or white. Most enjoyable part of my job was – more... all employees there thought my partner and I were the best facility employees. We completed our jobs everyday before going home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Positive workplace
HVACR Technician, Journeyman (Former Employee), Tonopah, AZJanuary 14, 2014
A world of things you can learn working with this work group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive day at a Fab shop
Pipe Fitter (Former Employee), La Porte, TXJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: good environment to work in, good management
Cons: not that much overtime
The day would start out with a safety meeting with the crew. The foreman would ask us what we lack and if we where ahead of schedule. We also learned how to work together and become a team. Also how to read blue prints an draw out ISO's. Our foreman and general foreman are great personell. the people that I work with where great an skillful individual. – more... The hardest things would be how to do rolling offsets. But with those I would ask for help because, they where hard to do. But my fellow co worker would help me out. the part of my job that I would enjoy was working with these group of individual that are very helpful an hard working people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company but ....
Lead Man / Crane Operator (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LADecember 28, 2013
Pros: good work environments and people.
Cons: rip-off auto enrollment programs
be sure and opt out of automatic enrollment in rip-off 401-K and get direct deposit to avoid rip-off debit card payments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run while you can
Materials Receiving (Current Employee), Walker, LADecember 10, 2013
Management is very poor, and placement of employees is far from great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Palo Verde
Industrial Painter (Former Employee), AZDecember 4, 2013
Nice company to work for but it is only temp work. The hours are long but the money is worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pipeline Drafter
Drafter 1 (Current Employee), Walker, LADecember 4, 2013
Pros: gain experience
Learn the day the day operations of a Entry Level-Drafter. I have learned Acorn pipeline software and the hardest part of my job is dealing with co-workers and learn something new everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The supervision with this company was substandard, supervisor was removed from the job site by the client
Maintenance Mechanic/Fitter/Welder (Former Employee), Wilmington, NCDecember 2, 2013
Pros: great benefits, good pay
Cons: poor supervison
Other than poor supervisor can't say anything detrimental about CB&I
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CB&I is a desirable place to work.
Sr. Plate Structural Designer (Current Employee), Plainfield, ILNovember 19, 2013
My overall thoughts regarding CB&I are all satisfactory. The benefit package stands out as one of the better options here, and they do strive to get better with safety, advancement, and management. So I'm happy with the company, but the salaries are an issue.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Welder/Fitter (Current Employee), Shreveport, LAOctober 23, 2013
I have learned how to operate automatic welder. Good co-worker.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive companies with proffesionalism.
NCCER Boilermaker - (Oxy shutdown) (Current Employee), The Woodlands, TXOctober 19, 2013
Experience is important. Very safety orientated. Worked within different units throughout the facility. Communicated well with co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and supportive staff
Shipping/ Inventory (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVOctober 14, 2013
Pros: benifits, great team work.
Cons: i couldn't take the job with me when i moved out of state.
My manager made me feel as if we were a strong team. If I failed at my job he failed at his job. He was always really supportive and willing to help me succeed with any job I took on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over see workers doing under ground and above piping
General Foreman (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXOctober 12, 2013
Pros: working with others
made safety first quality next working with other crafts to get the job done
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is Growing, but Long-time Employees Left Behind
Mechanical Engineer II (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 11, 2013
Company is growing aggressively. Management demands performance and results. Management expectations are high. Long hours are often required. There are ample challenges and opportunities, but don't expect much recognition. Company offers competitive compensation to new hires, but doesn't provide enough incentive to existing employees to promote retention. – more... Company does not offer much activity outside of work (team building, sports leagues, etc). Company is committed to safety, however. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Instrument & Electrical Designer (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 22, 2013
Pros: seminars
A lot of work was done with very knowledgeable people in a reasonable amount of time

About CB&I

CB&I is one of the world's leading EPC companies, specializing in lump-sum turnkey projects for customers that produce, process, – Read more