CB&I Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working for CB&I slow work pase very safe i love it but was laid off
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Aiken, SCOctober 9, 2017
Very safe work place I learned a lot by fire watching for the iron workers for 3 months I fired watch for the same craft .working with them was a great experience i would love to go back i also enjoyed doing house keeping also
Pros
Keep practicing safe work ethic
Cons
Need a 3rd break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly Managed - Would not be surprised if they shut down soon
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAOctober 9, 2017
Management has less experience than most employees, but not willing to learn or understand industry.
No raises or Annual Increases.
Management shows favoritism.
Uncomfortable working environment.
Management will not provide priority list - quick to put employee at fault.
Employees faulted for providing ethical concerns.
Pros
Great benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Electrician Helper (Current Employee) –  Gonzales, LAOctober 9, 2017
nice company . friendly co workers. great pay . lots of overtime .manager as a bit unrealistic concerning job description , very long hours. Great place to work because of the money .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Sulphur, LAOctober 7, 2017
Productive, but sometimes your hard work go's unnoticed
And hard to move up, other then that I loved working with my coworkers and my formans was great to work for
Pros
Good exercise, etc
Cons
Hard to move up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs Better Management
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Hackberry, LAOctober 6, 2017
Other projects were ran more effectively, work was not demanding, not challenged, daily changes, People in projects were good to work with, but changes are needed if project is to succeed.
Pros
Good People
Cons
Constant Change
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Project Management Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waynesboro, GAOctober 6, 2017
We were a family, we worked liked a well oiled machine and were focused on production and success of each other in our roles. Each individual had a clear cut job role and were given plenty of support for completion of your role.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closing Plants
Estimating Manager (Current Employee) –  Laurens, SCOctober 6, 2017
Management is closing plants without consideration of employees experience or skills or value to the company. Lack of management interaction with experienced employees to improve the company.
Pros
Excellent benefits.
Cons
Management not connected
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical construction company
Carpenter (Current Employee) –  Westlake, LAOctober 5, 2017
Quick way to move up is buy your supervisor breakfast and lunch daily. Seen it first hand. Its sad. Sadly its not what you know its who you know in this company.
Pros
none
Cons
short breaks and management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very clickish
Administrative Assistant Lead (Former Employee) –  La Porte, TXOctober 5, 2017
Management changed about 4 months after I began my job. The new management came in firing everyone so he could replace with his own people. Not Good at informing others of work expectations, responsibilities or projections. Lacking in respect for women. Did not Communicate with me as his immediate Administrative Assistant. Allowed certain people to work using Drugs and alcohol. Promoted racial environment publicly.
Pros
Made money
Cons
No true management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work at the VCSUMMER job site in Jenskinville South Carolina
Journeyman Carpenter NCCER Cerit (Former Employee) –  Jenkinsville, SCOctober 4, 2017
We did a safety tail gate everyday
How to be more safety minded
About half of the foremans knew what they were doing
Good work culture
Working that did not know what they were doing and having to
deal with them
Some of the people that you meet
Pros
Safety stand downs when the weather got too hot or because of lighting
Cons
not enought communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Millwright Helper (Former Employee) –  Sulphur, LAOctober 3, 2017
Good balanced work with a lot of room for moving up and maintaining a great life for your family and outside life. Good benefits options and health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers are very dedicated and willing to help
Principal I&C Designer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 3, 2017
CB&I has a very strong safety culture with notices of injuries or near misses conveyed to all employees when an incident occurs. Coworkers are friendly and willing to help when a problem happens or deadline is fast approaching. Department managers support a "family first" priority which is a welcome change from most companies.
Pros
The people
Cons
Unrealistic milestone schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good work place
Rodbuster (Former Employee) –  Lake Charles, LAOctober 2, 2017
Was good to know other trades other than just be a rodbuster. Got certified threw the company an was good to meet new coworkers. Liked the work. Was able to learn more of other trades when we weren't busy an was a good experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Field work is demanding
Welding Engineer (Current Employee) –  Freeport, TXOctober 2, 2017
Working in the field is extremely demanding. 10 hour days and many weekends, but compensation makes it worth it. Very manageable if you don't have family or loved ones around.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CB&I is struggling with getting projects. Very Stressful
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 2, 2017
CB&I purchased the Shaw Group without full knowledge of what they were getting and spent a couple of years trying to get out from under which they did when selling out to Westinghouse.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
coporate
Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXSeptember 30, 2017
for the marketing department it was a comfortable place to work. it was a corporate office so overall, it was pretty tight. much like you see on television
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Pipe and Structural Welder (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXSeptember 29, 2017
Welded for them at the Trinity Shop in Beaumont. Nice location and good place to work. Way to get your foot in the door. Many great people and way to learn new things.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and at times respective
Rodbuster helper 3 (Former Employee) –  Hackberry, LASeptember 28, 2017
Not fair to the ones who really work and get layoff and show up everyday and the ones that don't work aren't told anything or get layoff cause they have a family that works in HR (superintendent).
Pros
Plenty of breaks when needed
Cons
Not enough parking passes or buses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.Na
HR Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXSeptember 28, 2017
It is a good company to work for. I would not have left the company had it not been for tropical storm Harvey....Great benefits and great people to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing
Facility Management Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 28, 2017
The company as a whole was ok but the management that represented the company made it a disappointing work experience. I learn the difference between good and bad management skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CB&I. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,111 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7