Find companies:
CB&I
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
115 reviews

CB&I Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace due to winning more projects
Project Controls Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: free lunches during meetings
Cons: just eliminated the profit sharing contribution
Typically a good place to work. Some changes have been in effect that has made myself along with others start looking for a new job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Process Engineer (Current Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 10, 2013
CB&I one of the best companies in the oil and gas field which give each person inside it the ability to work in a perfect environment and respect his/her personal life requirements. The challenges are always exist and the skills improvement is the title of this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produtive and fun workplace with Football Team
designe (Current Employee), CairoSeptember 10, 2013
CB&I big scale company and have high profile, I have gain masive experience while I'm working for CB&I
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, Friendly work environment
Power Plant Piping Designer/CAD/PDS Tech. (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: free lunches, work environment, co-workers
Cons: healthcare compared to other companies, career/position advancment.
A typical consisted of phone calls and meetings on certain days to finish work to meet the project schedule.

I learned a lot here at Shaw/CB&I to help aid my career and continue my legacy in the Power Plant industry.

Managers and Sr. Engineers/Designers helped a lot along the way.

The hardest part of my job was when it was depended upon other workers – more... to finish their portion in order to finish your assignment.

The most enjoyable portion was venturing to project site and learning new technologies of the Power Plant industry along with new projects. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Industrial Ironworker Journeyman (NCCER Certified) (Former Employee), Proctor, WVJuly 16, 2013
Pros: safety bonus, good pay
Good benefits,they care about safety,good safety bonus,good pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Soon to be former employee
Project Business Administrator (Current Employee), Houston, TXJuly 15, 2013
Pros: no perks
Cons: moving jobs to la
CB&I purchased Shaw Environmental and now they are transferring several departments to the Baton Rouge. The state of Louisiana is giving them 3.3 M for relocation packages to move 400 jobs to Baton Rouge with a 5 to 6 per cent payroll tax break over the next 4 years. Not to happy with company at this time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well-managed company with good management systems/infrastructure
Engineer (Current Employee), KSJuly 11, 2013
CB&I aquired our company and has been fair with employees throughout the transition process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people are the best part
Records and Information Management Tech 2 (Current Employee), LouisianaJune 30, 2013
Pros: focus on safety and the human factor
Cons: some lower management could use some coaching on how to handle people.
I have found the pay to be competitive with the rest of the industry. I have run across some middle-managers that are ill equipped for the task of managing actual humans. I have also seen some of management that I would rank at the top of any in the industry. The people a friendly and bright. The companies focus on health and safety is uncompromising – more... and it is the thing I love the most about CB&I. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful management
Operator and Warehouse (Current Employee), La Porte, TXJune 28, 2013
Pros: great hours
Cons: hot weather
4-10s and great management very good communication with upper management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need more funding from the government.
Materials Mgmt Assistant (Current Employee), Aiken, South CarolinaJune 16, 2013
Hardest part of the job is not receiving enough funding from the government.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Structural Designer I (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 12, 2013
Pros: easy going
enjoyable workplace, friendly people. and very productive. they keep you very busy. i learned autocad and many other computer programs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Company
Crane Operator (Former Employee), Ca and WVJune 9, 2013
Pros: great insurance
Cons: ?
CB&I is with out a doubt the best company I have ever had the privilege to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is unqualified and out of touch
QA/QC Specialist 3 (Current Employee), Aiken, SCJune 2, 2013
Management is more concerned with getting stuff built quickly, quality is lost in the process
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Qc/Qa inspector
CWI Inspector (Current Employee), Delcambre, LAMay 30, 2013
Review job specifications and montoring production according to job specifications and codes. Managment all get alone great with employees. The hardest part of job is to be prefect not everything come out that way. The most enjoyable thing about my job is to make sure that the is done right and up to code.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Desktop Support Specialist at Shaw (Current Employee), Aiken, SCMay 13, 2013
Pros: great place to start it career
Cons: not many opportunities for advancement
Shaw/CB&I is my first full time IT job. I've learned a lot about hardware/software troubleshooting, patching and deploying machines, Citrix and RSA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CB&I = Cousins Brothers & Inlaws
Crane Operator (Former Employee), Proctor, WVMay 12, 2013
Pros: safety bonuses and time off when needed
Cons: no longevity, no sunday premium, inadequate per diem
I worked on the NGL Plant for Dominion Gas in Proctor, WV. Nepotism ruined what could of been a good project. The project ran with two shifts each accusing the other for mishaps and problems. Very poor Management.... Only there to draw a check. Safety was preached but not practiced until the end of the project when they were trying to thin the herd – more... and take away completion bonuses and any chance of getting unemployment. Good tradesmen were laid off while relatives and friends stayed on. I managed to get my bonus, luckily, because the promise of going to the next project was a lie. Seems like a good company with poor field Mgmt. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Addresses all workplace issues.
Crane Operator (Former Employee), Lusby, MDMay 7, 2013
Pros: ok pay
Cons: no benefits or paid time off.
*Typically, I'm either operating, cleaning, and/or maintaining a crane throughout any given day.
*In respect to crane work I've learned a lot about building bridges, refineries, and coal plants.
*I rely on my co-workers for accurate crane signals and proper rigging.
*The hardest part of the job is working with inexperienced signalmen and riggers.
*The – more... most enjoyable part of the job is ending each day without any injuries and accidents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job NOT a Career
QC (Current Employee), El Dorado, ARApril 10, 2013
Pros: 10 hour days, overtime sometimes
Cons: low wages, little advancement, low morale, lots of drama, backstabbing, in-fighting
This is an ok place to work for a little while, at least until you find something better. They tend to let their different shops and locations run autonomously, but the one I was at offered you a JOB NOT a CAREER. Typically, whatever wage you hired in at, that's where you'll stay generally. They don't have (or don't abide by) any sort of salary structure – more... or wage scale, preferring instead to outlaw any discussion of pay or compensation. This means they can pay someone who does the same job as you twice what they pay you, and if you're ever caught discussing it, or any type of compensation, you're terminated. The location I worked in was also was very disorganized and had a lot of problems. This, combined with the pay and poor attitude towards the workers means morale stays pretty low. All in all, if you're desperate for a job, it pays the bills, but it is NOT a fun or positive work environment and you'll likely never really advance – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back atomsphere
Senior Estimator (Current Employee), Energy cooridor, Houston, TexasMarch 30, 2013
Pros: flex time and 4.5 work days per week.
Cons: no benefits.
Most of the time there is no pressure and very obtainable deadlines.

I do not like the industrial version of MC2 estimating program. It is tolerable for doing change orders on a cost plus job, but I think it will is most unsuitable for doing proposal estimates. So my position will close and I will be transferred over to doing proposals. Also I will – more... have to change work locations, from Belaire &Beltway 8 to Riverway (tougher commute).

Supervisors are very good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Engineering/Construction Company
Accounting Analyst (Current Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 12, 2013
Pros: fridays - works half days
Cons: most jobs are project driven
This company is globally located all around of world, various cultures and is a great company to work for.

About CB&I

CB&I is one of the world's leading EPC companies, specializing in lump-sum turnkey projects for customers that produce, process, – Read more