CDC Employee Reviews

Found 54 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and full filling work
Computer Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Eau Claire, WIDecember 5, 2014
On a typical day of work I would be assisting clients in finding jobs to apply at, assisting with setting up interviews and making resumes for the clients. Data entry, filing, faxing, copying, placing and receiving of phone calls.
The most enjoyable part of the job was assisting the clients in finding jobs that they were qualified for. Everyone that I had worked with were extremely nice and helpful if you had any questions or problems.
Pros
the people i got to assist on a daily basis.
Cons
was only a work study job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved this job
Medical Assistant Intern (Former Employee) –  cleveland ohioNovember 23, 2014
i helped people do dialysis. it was a lot of fun and i learned alot
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, educational
Research Data Analyst (volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 6, 2014
Typical day was an 8 hour work day of volunteering as a clinical research data analyst
Learned how more about the clinical causes, impact, and treatment of lymphedema from a statistical point of view
Very good managers and co-workers
Learning new methods was always a challenge, but applying them was always fun
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
Microbiologist/ Immunologist (Battelle Contractor) (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 26, 2014
I Love to work here. Management is very good.
Excellent work-life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great job with the Federal Government
Desktop Technical Support (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 29, 2014
The Centers for Disease Control (CDC) has been in Atlanta since the 1940's. It is a global health center that can have a person working with people in remote areas with disease outbreaks or a local statistician who needs help with a 40,000 record database to track epidemics in the USA.

I have learned to work with people with multiple PhD's and those with a GED to create a powerful work environment that creates a culture of suceess with a no problem attitude.

The hardest part of the job is the best part. Working with the people who can make this a healthier world to live in.
Pros
work with some of the smartest people in the world
Cons
it is hard to move from contractor status to fte (full employee)
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Assistant Teacher (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMay 20, 2014
Going into working at a daycare, I had no experience whatsoever. Play N Learn CDC taught me a lot about children and showed me how great of a parent I'll be someday. I truly cared for those children like they were my own. Play N Learn CDC was a big family. My manager was excellent and my co workers were very welcoming. The hardest part of the job was realizing that those kids were like sponges and were watching me every step of the way, so if I messed up, they could recognize it. The best part of my job was walking into work in the morning and all the kids running to the door screaming "Ms. Angie, Ms. Angie!"
Pros
free lunch, worked with children that loved me
Cons
no benefits, minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, great staff.
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Monticello, INMay 8, 2014
Worked as the operations manager and supervised two sheltered workshops for disabiled adults. Great Place to Work...
Pros
great working conditions
Cons
supervision does not really back empoyees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I overall enjoyed working with CDC
Mail Clerk Assistant Lead (Former Employee) –  Hyattsville, MDApril 17, 2014
A typical day at CDC was a good day. The work was not hard what so ever, I literally delivered packages all day long and managed the mail room. I really can't think of one bad thing about this job except that there was no benefits included, and that includes sick leave and vacation leave.
Pros
loved the freedom
Cons
no benefit package
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all a great place to work
Child and Youth Program Assistant (Former Employee) –  Great Lakes, IllinoisApril 9, 2014
Working with children is always a pleasure. The management went through many changes while there and was not very accommodating at the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive building small business professionals
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 29, 2014
My specialization is in economic development, market analysis, and business districts, so the projects I do tend to have less need for community interaction than, say, a comprehensive plan or neighborhood plan. I may travel two or three times to the client during the project, which may take from four to eight months to complete. Each trip is anywhere from three to six days. I will often extend a trip by a day or two to take in some of the nearby attractions.
There was a lot of interaction between the public sector and consultants, and being able to understand how both think is an excellent ability that isn't taught in college.

I really enjoy people and building vision.....
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
Administrative Assistant/Technician (Former Employee) –  Rocky Mount, NCJanuary 6, 2014
I was a shift supervisor here. I liked the teamwork and hours.
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive day with children
Child & Youth Program Assistant (Skill/Target) (Former Employee) –  Fort Polk, LAOctober 19, 2013
Managing whereabouts of children and giving TLC at all times
could become stressful but yet great children to be around
Pros
paid leave
Cons
short breaks no help
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Assemble Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Rocky Mount, NCAugust 27, 2013
I enjoyed the recreational center on site. It was very close to home.
The hours were flexible. The management was very cooperative.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company that i work through
Personal Assistant for a Five year old child (Current Employee) –  Tivoli, NYJuly 29, 2013
Typical day at work includes caring for a five year old child with a G, J & an IV port. Daily Hygiene, Dressing, Some Feeding, Administering Medicine Via J & IV Port.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Whitakers, NCJune 1, 2013
A nice place to work very team oriented, well rounded, extensive training, opportunity for advancement
Pros
cafeteria
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable
Internship (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCMay 30, 2013
Exciting new things to learn each day. Learned about substance abuse treatment and everything there is to know about a non-profit organization. Co-workers are more like family. Most enjoyable part of the job was helping others.
Pros
experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-Profit Organization
Housing Counselor (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCMay 1, 2013
Responsible for initial interaction with the clients seeking services from the organization. Primarily responsible for both written and electronic client record-keeping for Pre-Purchase clients and clients in need of Foreclosure Prevention assistance, data entry, creation and distribution of correspondence with clients and lenders, conduct interviews for prospective clients.
Pros
training and experience received
Cons
compensation for the type of case load and stress handled
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educative and good teamwork spirit.
Clinical Officer, KEMRI (Former Employee) –  KisumuMarch 2, 2013
Good working enviroment with all working materials. I have learnt to work independently.There is standard management systen with cooperative co-workers.T he hardest part of the job is management of extreme high numbers of patients.Most enjoyable part is good diagnostic techniques.
Pros
good medical cover
Cons
job insecurity
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to get a pay check
Driver (Former Employee) –  Jessup, MDFebruary 28, 2013
Pickup product and deliver product to retail stores. Work by yourself and must meet a time window for delivery.
Pros
work only a half a day
Cons
does not pay enough
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace is well regarded at the national scale
Process Quality Supervisor (Former Employee) –  MondoniFebruary 7, 2013
Long working day.
Learned practical quality control as against class work.
Management staff keep a distance from junior field staff.
Co-workers interact freely and are ready to help one another.
very regularly long work hours make work too demanding.
Watching the pure Palm oil flow out of the purification tanks.
Pros
interactive, multicultural.
Cons
no compensation for interns
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 87 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture