CDW Employee Reviews

Found 260 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CDW is a company that need to evaluate their business structure
Partner Engagement Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 14, 2017
While I enjoy working here there are a lot of things wrong with the business structure. There are just too many managers and they all feel entitled based on their position in the company. There are a lot of great people who work there so the few ones that are not so great tend to go unnoticed. It might be that once you become management you are in the club and it doesn't matter how terrible you might be at being a manager. Either way there is a lot of good and some bad to deal with. Just hope the bad doesn't affect you but often times if it does it will go unnoticed.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
lower than industry average pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co- Funded role
Acer Brand Manager (Current Employee) –  Lincolnshire, ILSeptember 13, 2017
Was a good place to work, but I was in a Funded role which meant that if any time the partner that I covered decided to pull funding towards my role I would need to look for another position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truly an amazing experience
Account Manager, Healthcare- Midwest Region (Former Employee) –  Vernon Hills, ILSeptember 13, 2017
What an amazing experience to work such a great company. I learned so much from management and my colleagues. Expectations are high but so are the rewards.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cdw Mailroom Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vernon Hills, ILSeptember 10, 2017
the job was easy and the pplace was fun but very little money when it came to raises for the employees. if there was more money involved i would of definaltly still been there
Pros
free lunch
Cons
very little raise
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to get great experience!
Intern Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 3, 2017
I loved working at CDW and would go back if I could. It was a great experience for someone right out of school to understand the sales cycle and sales in general.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous people, fast pace
Systems Engineer III (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIAugust 31, 2017
Was part of team migrating external clients into COLO datacenter, of moving to pure hosting environment. Management was awesome, but as is the nature of this beast we were moving in older not-always-well-supported systems and applications, which made most moves a series of one-off migrations.
Pros
Great people, great culture! Supportive on all levels.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of adavancement
Forklift Operator/Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 28, 2017
Clean place, spoil/favouritism type of company
They intend to buy off employees with snacks and gifts but when it comes down to pay, they do not give raises when promoted
Pros
Snacks
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced sales job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Eatontown, NJAugust 28, 2017
CDW is a very corporate entity. Employees are required to make a minimum amount of daily cold calls. Little help was given and it was a sicknor swim mentality. Once a book of business was established compensation was decent.
Pros
Culture
Cons
Cold calls
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 24, 2017
CDW is a very difficult place to make money for most entry level employees. The opportunity to advance does not present itself before two years.......
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too sales
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  MassachusettsAugust 23, 2017
Everyone is being forced to sell. Not taken lightly.
Managers are out for themselves and gas light to get what they want. Pay is dismal and perks are few and far between.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work experience
Computer Programmer (Current Employee) –  Vernon Hills, ILAugust 22, 2017
It's a good job pays well. Don't feel like the managers really appreciate the hard work people do. Some of the managers forget to do things for you when its urgent
Pros
Great pay, friendly co-workers
Cons
Management forgets things
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
Contractual Technical Support (Former Employee) –  IllinoisAugust 22, 2017
Fast paced, dynamic environment. The environment was opportunistic. The people were talented and great. I would recommend this job to others because it's a lot of room to grow. The training program is great and they want the employees to succeed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Productive work place.
Drop Ship Associate (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Lincolnshire, ILAugust 21, 2017
I had the opportunity to temp there twice! It's an ok place to work for. They hire a great team of people but it's a high turn over of people as well. Management want numbers, numbers, numbers which makes your weeks very stressful, but at the end of each quarter, they compensate the stress with freebies and food!
Pros
Lots of Free Lunches, other Freebies!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and build your work experience
Assistant Manager/computer technician (Former Employee) –  Vernon Hills, ILAugust 14, 2017
Easiest job to handle, it's more likely like a job with better benefits and good hours to complete your hours of missing days. Great job to relax and have more practice on fixing computers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent overall offering for customers
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Wrightstown, WIAugust 12, 2017
CDW has it all, hardware, software and professional services. This is truly a one stop shop for customers in a professional and fun work environment. Very talented and professional individuals to work with. I truly enjoyed my time at CDW.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is what you make of it
Brand Manager (Current Employee) –  IllinoisAugust 7, 2017
Lots of opportunities, but some luck is involved. Lots of bad managers, but if you are lucky to find a good one, you can have a good career.
Struggle to get paid fairly.
Nice culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Associate Consulting Engineer Cisco UC (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 4, 2017
I worked for CDW the last 1.5 years and I loved the culture of the company and everyone understands their roles and expectations. Compensation is very good and management is focused on the employees and results. Wish I was still there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable Work Environment
PROPOSALS MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 25, 2017
Many opportunities for advancement. Good people around you across all the different segments of business in which you will interact. Benefits are very nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Microsoft Team Liaison (Current Employee) –  August, CAJuly 25, 2017
It's a great place to work. It's been top places to work in the past 3 years. The management is great and the best part of it is that you work at your own pace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MedLar Sales East Cost
Corporate Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 24, 2017
Literally looking through phone books for clients. Sales to Medium/Large clients with over 100 end users. This was very difficult to find clients when there were already 30 people prospecting on my team for the same area.
Pros
none
Cons
they talk of a big income only to never make the matrix for bonus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CDW. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 266 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.6