CDW Employee Reviews in United States

Found 179 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training program/grind everyday
CDW Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 24, 2016
Great training that lasts 6 months, felt close with the training class I was with and management was great. Low pay to start but get a ton of free stuff from vendors and can advance to another position fairly easily.
Pros
Good vibe, young office, advancement after a year
Cons
Low pay with bad commission percentage for first year
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, with little support from management
Field Solutions Architect (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 12, 2016
I suffered a medical incident and when I came back to work, they followed the letter of the requested accommodations but not the spirit. A few weeks after I had been back, it became clear they were no longer invested in my success. My manager refused a request to travel for training without any explanation, so I took PTO and went to training on my own dime. A few days after I returned, I was fired.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company that cares about training employees, great place to work
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Eatontown, NJFebruary 10, 2016
CDW has a great sales oriented atmosphere where they are constantly investing in their employees by constantly giving new trainings, tools and resources so that they can improve.
Pros
Management, sales trainings
Cons
It is a difficult industry to pick up and learn, you have to take the initiative to learn about technology
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, dynamic environment with exciting growth and great people to work with.
Finance Process Control Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 8, 2016
Growing organization, with exciting endeavors to improve productivity through investment in infrastructure. Great people, lots of opportunities to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work at.
Corporate Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Voorhees, NJJanuary 27, 2016
In a sales perspective, they do a great job in training their future sales representatives with excellent training tools for growth.
Pros
great work environment
Cons
expect to gain weight
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad first job
Account Manager/Sales (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 26, 2016
Success highly depends on where you are placed. Small Business highly lowers your chances of being successful. Accounts are recycled and it's easy to get burnt out.

If you get decent accounts and do well there is tons of opportunity. You can always try and move to a vendor role eventually.
Pros
Free Lunches/stuff from vendors
Cons
Success highly depends on where you are placed.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experiance
sales manager (Current Employee) –  Eatontown, NJJanuary 11, 2016
Worked Mon-Friday 730am until 5-6PM, I learned most computer selling and hardware skills here. The hardest part of the job is the management. It was a total boys club.
Pros
Great training
Cons
Uneffective Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Forklift operator in Cdw (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJanuary 10, 2016
a lot of work good experience and knowledge, great employee good with training and assisting customers. i enjoyed all the training they provide.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job to work for
Freight (Former Employee) –  Vernon Hills, ILDecember 15, 2015
work keeps you going
learned alot through the company
management is helpful
love working with co worker
there was no hard part of my job
just being at work was enjoyable
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much room for advancement
Configuration Specialist (Former Employee) –  Vernon Hills, ILDecember 2, 2015
I was a temp there and was offered a job as a full time employee, but there is no room for advancement. Management likes to make jobs harder than what they are.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2

Want to know more about CDW?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great palce to work
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Vernon Hills, ILNovember 13, 2015
This is what kick started my love for IT sales. Company treated all employees very well. You worked hard but you played hard as well!
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management doesn't care to manage
Statement of Work Drafter (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 9, 2015
Management has no desire to manage.
The VP told my team if we don't like the lack of leadership and questionable issues pertaining to pay, that we are all welcome to leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
account manager
Corporate Account Manager (Current Employee) –  NJOctober 19, 2015
CDW is a great business to start a career in, however the expectations of moving up were very misleading. I have learned a great deal in the IT world and with sales. A typical day at CDW is very repetitive, yet still with the thrills of sales.
Pros
free lunches and breakfast
Cons
movement within company
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot of office skills
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Metairie, LAOctober 1, 2015
I did learn a lot of new things since i was new in the construction industry . My coworkers were mostly helpful, some very looking for ways to get me into some trouble .
Pros
Learning and Experiencing new things
Cons
The management was awful, They never cared about us
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 29, 2015
Base pay is a little low, but other than that CDW is a phenomenal company to work for. Great benefits. Work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 24, 2015
If your looking for a career in sales this is one of the best companies to work for. Their sales training program is one of the best in the states.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CDW has a wonderful culture
Manager, Inclusion Practices (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 17, 2015
CDW is a thriving company with a rich culture. I have the privilege of driving inclusion within the organization, so that all coworkers feel valued, are able to contribute, and maximize their talents within the organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, great culture but becoming to big business
Senior Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 8, 2015
For those that are hungry to succeed, you will. I was in Sales for 13yr+ here and have nothing but great things to say about the perks and potential of the opportunities offered here. The biggest issue is that in recent years, they have created a wave of 'compensation adjustments' where the tenured people with the most sales ability were making more $ then they wanted to pay us. That gave way to a series of 'levers' that were put into place and some were clearly unattainable just so they could slight you on your commissions. Overall, if you are looking to make $100K+ in 3-5yrs, this is for you but if you are looking to make $200K+, it's going to be very tough these days.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company and the BEST COWORKERS!
Senior Consulting Engineer (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 7, 2015
CDW is a decent company. Probably better than average from the top down. It has a fairly clear mission and objectives. The salary and benefits are about average for the market. The people are exceptional. The team work is exceptional between coworkers. As a whole, the company really makes an effort to take care of its customers.
Pros
customer service
Cons
spreads their dollars and their coworkers a little too thin
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience.
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Eatontown, NJAugust 26, 2015
They provide excellent training, but unfortunately you're extremely micromanaged. You will learn a lot about the IT industry as well. There are some successful individuals, but they are far and few in between.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 183 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.6