CDW Employee Reviews

Found 214 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting place
Account Executive II (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 2, 2016
Client meetings, calls, and follow ups. Learned a tremendous amount about IT. CDW very calculated so decisions were made and acted upon in a very slow manner. Underpaid per experience level and industry standards.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great compensation - Okay benefits
Administrative Assistant - Managed Services (Current Employee) –  Fitchburg, WISeptember 1, 2016
Depending on what dept you work in will determine how long you remain at CDW. Sales, from my perception is good. Other than that, you need to keep your head on a swivel and make sure you pick up on the hidden clues of the changes of the organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doesn't appreciate hard work
Senior Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 11, 2017
Limited opportunities for advancement. Political. Need to be in the right circles to move up
Pay OK and work environment corporate. Cheap for the size of the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and positive sales environment
Corporate Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 18, 2016
The sales environment at CDW was very supportive of account managers and fostered our continuous development and the growth of our business.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cdw
Senior Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Cherry Hill, NJFebruary 20, 2017
• Sell solutions that meet or exceed the customer’s expectations.
• Uncover sales opportunities
• Grow my book of Business YOY
Pros
Great Friends
Cons
not a lot of room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Culture
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Herndon, VAOctober 5, 2016
great working relationship with team

lack of management makes it difficult to understand the larger mission

Sales metrics are un-realistic

daily engagements with partners are always fun
Pros
Prizes
Cons
Sales Metrics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work culture
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Eatontown, NJAugust 9, 2016
excellent work culture and team work environment. always something going on, vendor lunches/ happy hours, company events, free vendor swag. you become great friends with the people you work with. i met some of my best friends working at CDW.
Pros
occasional free lunches
Cons
base salary is very low
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My coworkers are great!
Sr. Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Appleton, WIDecember 14, 2016
I have made great friends over the years! I know I can count on them for anything. I can call them and just talk about work or even life in general.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some people are nice and friendly
Shipper (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 13, 2017
Good environment . Helpful people. The supervision is poor . Not enough of OSHA training. Organization was also poor . Alot of people complain .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goal orientated work enviorment
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Vernon Hills, ILAugust 26, 2016
The daily goals set by manager were not overwhelming at all, which made you work to achieve those goals. Team leader guided you through your day so you can achieve your goals.
Pros
Great work atmosphere
Cons
Travel distance to get to work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very strong workplace culture and really strive to make work a good place to be
Corporate Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 23, 2016
CDW is a great company to work for, they have built a very strong culture and environment to work in. I have learned a lot of sales and business through their highly rated training program. They put you through a lot before sending you to hit the phones and start connecting with customers and clients. Management is fair for the most part and will give you every chance to succeed. Most days I am dealing/talking to customers and trying to grow more business within my accounts. The hardest part of the job is being willing to cold-call and just pick up the phone and talk to people who generally do not want to talk to you. The most enjoyable part of the job is the perks you get from vendors and the company itself, whether it be happy hours or sales prizes.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many opportunities to learn different job functions
Marketing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 25, 2016
Learned a lot during my time there however, I didn't see many people of color in upper management. Great place to start your career and grow from your experiences.
Pros
Trainings
Cons
Difficult to move around the organization
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temps are strung along
Cash Application Specialist (Current Employee) –  Vernon Hills, ILJuly 8, 2016
Work as a temp and I've been there 3yrs with no hope of being taken on board. Was told that the company can't afford to hire right now. What a load of garbage? They work you hard.
Pros
I have a job
Cons
Long hours demanding temps to work overtime when full time workers should be doing that.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Corporate Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Eatontown, NJAugust 6, 2016
Great place to work. I greatly enjoyed my time at CDW. I wish the commissions were more. However everything else about CDW was great.
Pros
Free Vendor Lunches Breakfast every Wednesday and fun events
Cons
Commission was not that high
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cdw
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Shelton, CTFebruary 15, 2017
This was a great place to work. I left for a better opportunity. I would recommend this job to someone who is just starting out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Corporate Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 5, 2016
great place with a work hard play hard mentality. alot of co-workers had very long tenures. this was the longest tenure ive had at a job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place To Work
ACCOUNT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Vernon Hills, ILMay 30, 2016
If you truly enjoy inside sales, and you are good at it, CDW is a good company to work for. Long hours, and minuscule base pay are what you can expect. Expect to make 100+ COLD calls per day, and expect to put in 12 hours to do so.
Pros
Fun atmosphere, good job security
Cons
Sales managers are unrealistic, long hours, rotating shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive sales environment
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, IL 60606June 26, 2016
CDW fosters a competitive sales environment. This provides motivation to climb leaderboards in revenue and profit. As an account manager, you essentially are a business owner with your book of business with the resources CDW provides.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teams and worklife balance
Marketing (Current Employee) –  Lincolnshire, ILAugust 17, 2016
Great company with lots of growth potential. Location is fantastic, worklife balance is very well understood and praticed amongst all levels of the organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company lacking management
Dell Data Center Partner Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 9, 2016
I was hired into a technical role and was provided with virtually no training/onboarding and was expected to figure out how to do everything on the fly. System is set up well for employees that move up from entry level account manager, but not if brought directly into a support role.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CDW. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 218 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

84%
Approve - Based on 51 ratings
Add your rating