Cecil College Employee Reviews

Showing all 12 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful college
Lab Technician / Biology Tutor (Former Employee) –  North East, MDOctober 2, 2015
I really found myself working here and networking with the faculty. I highly recommend this college for school or work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT EMPLOYER
ADJUNCT PROFESSOR (Former Employee) –  North East, MDJuly 15, 2015
ENJOYED MY TIME THERE. ALLOWED ME TO USE MY TALENTS IN THE TRANSPORTATION INDUSTRY, AND THE EMPLOYEES WERE VERY PROFESSIONAL.
Pros
PROFESSIONAL
Cons
NONE
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cecil College
Director (Current Employee) –  Elkton, MDSeptember 8, 2014
I have learned a great deal here at Cecil. My previous experience in my career involved teaching and this experience has been the other side of the desk, so to speak. I have learned to balance programming needs with the needs of my students. I know more about budgets and the process than I ever thought would be possible. The hardest part of this job is knowing I have no where to go within the college to grow more or be promoted. Being a small college the opportunities for growth become fewer and fewer as you move up. I have gone as far as I can go here. I love speaking to parents and students who have gotten something meaningful out of one of my programs. It makes all the hard work worth it.
Pros
flexible, family friendly schedule
Cons
small college, few full time positions
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, perfect for young math student
Mathlab Specialist (Current Employee) –  North East, MDJune 4, 2014
Must know , at least, calculus for tutoring
Responsible for important testing documents
Proctor student's test
Good hours, able to complete your own homework in down time
Friendly environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team of people reaching institutional goals
Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  North East, MDApril 7, 2014
it was a learning experience always changing and growing. Retired early to relocate to Florida
Pros
educational
Cons
growing quickly
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice college - interfering government
Adjunct Developmental (Current Employee) –  North East, MDApril 3, 2014
I love working with the students and the professional atmosphere. The only downside is that the State of Maryland is micromanaging colleges. Now the State has limited the number of credit hours an adjunct may instruct- which effectively cut my pay in half.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited
Visual Communications Lab Manager - Cecil College (Current Employee) –  MDFebruary 5, 2014
I started working for Cecil College as a work study student. I was then able to teach summer camps over the last four years. I currently work as a Lab Manager, but due to the new government regulations the hours for part time went from 29 to 6. No person can live working 6h at $9.10 per week, no matter how much you love the job.
Pros
great people, driven students
Cons
no healthcare, no hours, no fulltime
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it was a nice and friendly place to work.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  North East, MDApril 4, 2013
Education benefits offered to further education. Workshops on cultural needs to benefit center student population. Staff worked as a team to help clients get their education and needs met.. It was a joy working with the staff and students.
Pros
health benefits and retirement
Cons
budget cuts
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great second job.
Help Desk (Current Employee) –  North East, MDDecember 27, 2012
I work for Cecil College as a second job. The Director of IT is a great boss and understands that this is a second job for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Comment – January 23, 2013

Do you know the required qualifications for entry level IT/help desk? HR doesn't seem to check their email frequently enough.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
motivational and a great chance to gain knowledge of self and work relations
Job Start Classes (Current Employee) –  Elkton, MDJuly 17, 2012
This company helps to prepare one to enter the workforce again after a gap in employment. A very positive program.
Pros
to gain knowledge and resources
Cons
not a career feild
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
During the years I worked at Cecil,I enjoyed my experience and the faculty
Head Men's Basketball Coach (Former Employee) –  Northeast,MdMay 11, 2012
During a typical work day, I spent my time communicating and motivating others to achieve goals. I enjoyed my overall work experience at Cecil College.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture