Find companies:
Cedar fair
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

Cedar fair Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Doswell, VAMay 7, 2014
Management is confused all the time and pay is terrible. Lack of employee welfare.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job experience
Ticket Collector (Current Employee), Doswell, VAFebruary 7, 2014
A typical day at Cedar Fair's Kings Dominion is exciting. I have a love for helping others and making them smile, and luckily I get to exercise this trait at King's Dominion. On this job I learn responsibility, patience, communication skills and to enjoy what I do. From the little children who come to our park, to the military personnel I love and appreciate – more... them all. My job as a greeter and ticket collector is to make the experience a pleasure. It is important for me to smile and always be attentive when I am giving directions to and from each destination in our park. I overall love my job, the only reason I am looking for another one is because it is a seasonal position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Amusement Park in the World
Manager Ride Operations (Former Employee), Sandusky, OHDecember 19, 2013
Pros: 365 acre park to work outside in
Cons: 70 hour work weeks
Great company to work for, learned management skills while there for 10 years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was a new experience
Food Service Worker (Former Employee), Sandusky, OHOctober 30, 2013
Pros: our food service for staff was very afforadable and tastes great
Cons: 30 min breaks, great food
I had fun working here I never been to cedar point before. but I was glad my first time going was me working here. my co workers were from all over the world I learned new languages and new personalities. the hardest at this job was the extreme cleaning we had to do before the food credits arrived to evaluate the park. the most fun and enjoyable part – more... of this job was of course the roller coasters and the discounts we got outside of the park just cause we was respected for working at such a fast pace environment – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Made a lot of friends and met a lot of cool people.
Lifeguard (Former Employee), Sandusky, OHOctober 4, 2013
Pros: an hour lunch break
Cons: pay rate
I learned about different countries from the people i worked with
Liked all of my co-workers, we all got along
Typical day at work included figuring out a rotation between different positions at work, determining who is going on lunch at what time and how many go on lunch at a time, cleaning my area and making it look neat, making sure the lifeguards – more... are doing their jobs.
The hardest part of the job included trying to get enough people to show up to work to get breaks done at a decent time.
The most enjoyable part is working with all types of people and getting to know each and every one of them! :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for highschool and college students to gain experience
Merchandise Seasonal Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCSeptember 15, 2013
Pros: meeting new people everyday
Cons: pay- no one gets paid what they are worth
I worked at Carowinds (one of their parks in the south east) Although this was a demanding job, the experience i gained put me ahead of the competition after graduating college. It's not for everyone, but those who enjoy it, really excel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Admissions Assistant (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCAugust 2, 2013
Best part of a typical workday is being able to interact with other people, that's what I enjoy the most.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Sandusky, OHAugust 2, 2013
This was a great company to work for a seasonal job. You can work as many hours here as you like. You get three free tickets a yr for family or friends and you can go to the park any day you don't work for free.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment but unfair treatment
Games Host (Former Employee), Sandusky, OhioJuly 4, 2013
Working at Cedar Point was very fun. The problem was that either you were assigned a 12+ hour shift, or only 4 hours a day. Any excuse to take money from our checks was used. Managers and supervisors had a tendency to play favorites, giving the easier assignments and sometimes better hours to their favorite workers. Co-workers were good for the most – more... part; every group has its different personalities, so no complaints there. The hardest part of the job was standing for up to 8 hours with no break, since sometimes there weren't enough people scheduled to work. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the park guests to make sure they are enjoying themselves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work
Carowinds Associate (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJune 11, 2013
Pros: reduced pricing on meals, free entry to park before/after shifts.
Cons: the heat
Although a very hot environment being outside all the time, managing the rides and keeping the ride area clean. I learned how to keep myself and others safe in an amusement park setting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good time working, long hours, pay was ok for the work put in.
Cedar Point Ride Host (Former Employee), Sandusky, OHJune 11, 2013
Pros: meet lots of new people every day
Cons: insufficient breaks, inability to advance up the management chain.
at work i would safely operate a thrill ride while also providing excellent guest service for 8-14 hours at a time. the management was quite rude and had lots of cliques. my co-workers were irresponsible and rude to other workers. the hardest part of the job was the extreme manual labor and being on your feet in direct sunlight all hours of the day. – more... i enjoyed meeting and talking with people i met and even the guests that rode my ride. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and visit
Forklift Operator/ Warehouse Laborer (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOMay 31, 2013
Pros: fun, fast paced
Cons: wage, communication
There is always something to do at W.O.F. and i have learned a lot about amusement parks and machinery. There is a huge staff so you always meet new people. A majority of the management/ supervisors are younger.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and Meet New Friends
Costume Department (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMay 9, 2013
Pros: regular pay, friendly atmosphere, encouraged creativity.
Cons: long periods of downtime, there is alot of laundry to be done, it is required for you to work cleaning sweaty clothing
I work every halloween season for Cedar Fair at Scarowinds Halloween haunt and must say it is the greatest company i have ever worked for. I return yearly to take part in Cedar Fair's Carowinds highest earning period every Open Season in order to make the Scare season better. I have never been disappointed by the work I have done. The hardest part of – more... the Job was working into the early morning hours while waiting by for a call from Supervision for a costume repair or creating. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience but crazy long hours low pay
Traffic Host / Pet Check (Former Employee), Sandusky, OHApril 16, 2013
Pros: get in the park for free meet new people
Cons: low pay poor quality employee housing
you work lots of long hard hours but you get to meet cool people from all around the world. its interesting meeting new people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience but crazy long hours low pay
Traffic Host / Pet Check (Former Employee), Sandusky, OHApril 16, 2013
Pros: get in the park for free meet new people
Cons: low pay poor quality employee housing
you work lots of long hard hours but you get to meet cool people from all around the world. its interesting meeting new people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
Cashier (Former Employee), Mason, OHMarch 26, 2013
Pros: free access to the park when you aren't working
Cons: no benefits, pay
Its King's Island! How can you not love working in an amusement park? The work is hard, but getting to use the park whenever you want is definitely the best part. The management is not the greatest, however. You have kids in charge of kids, and usually that doesn't end well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to start in the work force
Rides Associate (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCFebruary 24, 2013
My typical day at Carowinds was amazing but also hectic. I learned the values of friends and i also learned how to deal with guests/ customers. The hardest part of the job was to make guests understand that a ride was down for certain reasons. The most enjoyable part of my job was to see the smiles on small childrens faces from all of the fun that they – more... were having during their time in the amusment park. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
American Roller Coast
Office Clerk/Team Leader (Former Employee), Sandusky, OHJanuary 19, 2013
Cedar Point is an AMAZING job. It has made me the employee i am today. we work long hours and still love coming to work everyday. You learn how to be a leader and how to train your crew.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Housekeeping Supervisor/ Hotel Maintenance (Former Employee), Sandusky, OHDecember 10, 2012
Pros: job perks
Cons: pay
Roller Coasters in my back yard, done by 4pm everyday, Employee housing, What more could you ask for?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun company, but not for everyone
Stitcher (Former Employee), Doswell, VANovember 25, 2012
The best part of working there is the people, but the work is rather mindless and repetitive. A good first job, but not something I can do forever.