Find companies:
CELADON TRUCKING
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
77 reviews

CELADON TRUCKING Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well established Nationwide trucking company
Semi-Trailer driver (Former Employee), Indianapolis, IN (Central terminal)September 15, 2014
Pros: good management and scheduling, good equipment, decent pay and benefits
Cons: smaller company with fewer terminals than soem other nationwide companies
On a typical day I was likely driving Interstate routes to usually distant pickup or delivery points.
I learned much of how the transportation for industry works including
the variety of industry settings from small businesses through large warehouse systems such as Walmart and Target. This also allowed me to gain increased understanding of our country's – more... roads and cities.
Co-workers were either the schedulers we would speak with by telephone usually or our fellow truck drivers we would most likely see only in our company terminals.
The hardest part is the sometimes needed deliveries during adverse weather conditions as well as the sometimes long waits for next load after a delivery.
Most enjoyable is working for a well established company that cared about its drivers as people - including providing good equipment as
well as facilitites at several terminals around the country. The driver schedulers were always available by phone contact. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
big and stablished company
International Fleet Driver Manager (Former Employee), Laredo, TXSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: no overtime and low salaries
working at Celadon is like going to school, you can learn a lot of the transportation industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Driver (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 2, 2014
Good company to work for. They have great benefits and you always running
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company to start your career with
Customer Relationship Analyst (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 2, 2014
Would not recommend this company. Management does not care about employees. They lie to you in the interview to get you to accept the job and then throw you in with minimal training. Your day consists of getting yelled at by customers for other peoples faults.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont know didnt work for co.
Class A Driver (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 22, 2014
Pros: heard it was a good company.
Cons: not hired because i didnt follow illegal order
Thought I was going to like it at Celadon. I went through 3 days of orientation and completed driving test successfully. I went to get permits and keys for truck , but was pulled out of line for another driving test. I was failed on this test and was sent home. I wouldnt block the intersection at a light on a left turn as I was ordered to do. It was – more... against the law. He said pull over you are done. He drove us all back in. I was not hired. I hit nothing . I accomplished all backing routines. I just didnt follpow this one order. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter company
Driver (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 28, 2014
Pros: starter company
Cons: low pay for miles
Drive a semi barely get to see my family, good company to start at but dorms are trashed and dirty. management can barely help. pay gets messed up or you will not get paid what you should have. best part of job is driving. hardest part is being away from my family months at a time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RE: Typical day
Operations Analyst (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 18, 2014
Pros: time off due to the shift
Cons: not enough up time out of chair, high volume of calls, long days with minimal pay
On the shift that I am on, we work a 2/2/3. 12 hour days. It is a fast paced work environment where we are tied to the phone and duel computer screens. I have learned to multi-task at a much higher level, become a stronger manager with a company/customer focus, all keeping that balanced in daily work environment. I do enjoy my co workers in my pod, – more... but on some level there are some that you cannot count upon in others areas. The hardest part of the job is sitting long periods, it causes back and leg issues, at least for myself. I also, get frustrated at the high volume of calls, like a call center environment. I enjoy making my drivers happy. If they are not happy, they are not running in a positive manner which effects company profit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Auditor
Auditor (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 5, 2014
Pros: making/meeting people all over the globe (drivers)
Cons: being let go.
Auditing over the road CDL drivers logs to make sure they were incompliance with DOT/COMPANY rules and regulations. I learned to properly read a map, idenitfy mile makers, understand/read scale, tolls, fuel, accident, etc. reciepts and tickets. Management was okay. My coworkers and I got along great. The hardest part of the job was when work slow down. – more... (to much down time) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair place to work
Company Driver/Owner-Operator, Team Driver (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INMay 27, 2014
Pros: friendly pepole working there in the repair shops and in dispatch.pay avalable on thursday.
Cons: lieing to their drivers and keeping them confused.
When I started with Celadon I started as a company driver and ended up as an owner / operator along with my wife,[we are now separated because of Celadon] who teamed with me while we there. We leased and paid off a 2008 Volvo semi and I got asked to leave, thus causing the above mentioned separation. I will admit freely that part of my leaving them – more... was my fault, however they did not try to help fix the problem either. They claimed that they were a family oriented company. That later remained to seen. It was not my fellow workers per say as much as was the overall managing
of the company. My wife and I felt that we got burned on the lease program and never made the promised revenue that they said we would make. There were several weeks, and or months that we went with getting paid.. Since then my has left them for greener pastures as I'm trying to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
saftey
Assembler/warehouse (Former Employee), Janesville, WIMay 9, 2014
Cons: was told at last min to wok overtime next day
was a very safe place to work, was not fair on polices with employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcome to world of trucking.
Trainer (Current Employee), Kernersville, NCMay 9, 2014
Pros: good miles and good home time
Cons: benefits for family alittle pricy..
Celadon is a training company. Celadon is no different from any company. They have there ups and downs. They offer great benefits and 401k plans. I'm a trainer for celadon. Home time well you go home when you want and how long you want it's up to you. I had a issue home took 2 wks to get it resolved guess what I'm still working for them, if it was another – more... company I wouldn't have a job. Celadon is patient and will work out the issue with you. You will get miles all depends how hard you want to work. You tell them run me hard well they will. I average running solo 3100 miles and run on recap every week. That's. Means you keep moving. I read all these post let me tell you there from lazy people. We have them lazy people and people wanting to work. It's up to you how you want the turn out to be. It's up to you to take care your truck. If you run a truck in the ground and blame others for your stupidity well yup your truck in shop bc you don't know how to drive. I have been driving 6 yrs as well. 6 mtns here and no complaints sometimes directions alittle off but like i said there are ups and downs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INApril 28, 2014
This was a good company to work for. Had a good relationship with my dispatcher.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for growth
Market Developer (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INApril 21, 2014
I enjoy working at Celadon. Recently they have built a driver(s) dorm/ school to encourage more people to join our company. There is also a beautiful gym and workout facility employees can use in the morning, during lunch and/or after work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
didnt make any money
driver Assistant (Former Employee), indpls, inApril 17, 2014
Cons: not enough miles
We attempted to make money at this OTR job,but they didn't give guaranteed miles. not happy with dispatchers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love playing basketball n pool
Owner/Operator (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INApril 15, 2014
i learn do ur job n do it right its always a flaw that u just may not know n u do have works that do not mind to help that calls team work help others that need it. N thats what i enjoy helping others
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dispatched after hired
Tractor Trailer Driver (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INApril 7, 2014
Pros: get the assignment so i could drive in daylight.
Cons: don't like driving after nine p.m......
The person or person(s) in charge of the dispatchers don't care how the drivers are treated when they are dispatched on loads. When the driver(s) put in for home time, the dispatcher(s) do not honor it them even when they put in for the time 3 weeks a head of time. Also I was hired to work the southeast region, but sent to work in the midwest and the – more... northern states such as IL, Oh., In., Ky., Tn., these state I wasn't told I had to drive in when I was recruited. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like driving truck for a living its ok.
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INMarch 27, 2014
Pros: good equipment, good and decent miles, decent down time
Cons: switching driver managers was the roughest part, whether they quit or the driver didnt like them.
They took alot of the Time off at home or on the road seriously to make sure no one got into trouble and tried their best to take care of their drivers, what most drivers dont understand is, these miles dont come easy, short runs made more money than the long haul loads.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
**
Driver Manager (Former Employee), Waxahachie, TXMarch 27, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: to many hours not enough compensation
answering phones and messages via as400 make sure drivers have load information and running on time to deliveries and pick ups for 100 trucks also hand out load information that was passing trough our hub to other drivers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never home
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INMarch 25, 2014
they never had you home when you put in your home time. drive from point A to point B.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a fun work place
Parts Coordinator (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INMarch 12, 2014
Pros: paid lunches
Cons: healthcare
the co-workers and management made it a great place to work.

1 2 3 4

About CELADON TRUCKING

Celadon Trucking Services, the primary subsidiary of Celadon Group, provides dry van truckload freight transportation throughout – Read more

CELADON TRUCKING Photos