CELADON TRUCKING Employee Reviews

Found 140 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working inside and outside
Operations Manager/Orientation coordinator (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNOctober 26, 2015
Typical day would be teaching new hires about company policy and how to make more money while being an owner operator truck driver.

Teaching a safe driving and accident avoidance class, Also being a go to person for the drivers between the repair shop and the leasing office to help the drivers get on the road faster.

Also did recruiting to assist in getting more drivers for the company.
Pros
Dressed in jeans and comfy shoes. Great work hours.
Cons
Management of the Knoxville TN office lied a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
started off great
Contact Shipper/Consignee (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 12, 2015
my work day would be driving to a shipper or consignee picking up and dropping off loads i have learned how to handle a class A rig with a high center of gravity with sharp turns ect i got along with most co workers some are mean and others nice hardest part of my job was being out on the road for 4 weeks at a time and not being home enough with my family mostly ive enjoyed driving being free on the open road
Pros
being a trainer
Cons
payroll not paying
Was this review helpful?Yes15No15
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work is enjoyable
Professional Over The Road Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCOctober 9, 2015
Personal growth and develop depends on the driver need to increase their overall income. You are able to select your needed time off the road to handle work life balance.
Pros
Your able to travel around United States.
Cons
The poor weather conditions can delay you.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NO
Lease Driver (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 7, 2015
NO I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND DRIVERS TO THIS COMPANY PERIOD THE COMPANY DON'T CARE WHETER THE DRIVERS MAKE MONEY OR NOT AND IF THE DRIVER DO MAKE MONEY THEY TRY AND CONTROL HOW MUCH THE DRIVERS CAN MAKE THEY LEAVE YOU HANGING WITH HOURS ON YOUR CLOCK STOPPING YOU FROM MAKING MONEY
Pros
NONE
Cons
DISPATCH NO GOOD THEY STEAL FROM THE DRIVERS
Was this review helpful?Yes41No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pleasant
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 30, 2015
I was doing great with celadon until I switched to JB Hunt as an Owner operator. I got good mileage every 1000 dollar bonus every Quarter. the company actually very helpful with direction at that time.
Pros
good bonus
Cons
good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes17No15
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was decent
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 27, 2015
Had an overall good time here. I did my job and went home to my family. Im very grateful to have had a job here. I honestly miss driving my truck.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No15
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well maintained equipment with little down-time.
Local driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 18, 2015
A good employer with a driver friendly environment, but not a lot of time for your personal life. Willing to work with driver to maintain a good relationship with management.
Pros
good equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes21No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional, incompetent and ignorant
Owner operator-driver (Current Employee) –  IndianapolisSeptember 10, 2015
Am an owner operator (22 yrs experience) and I have been leased to celadon for 90 days. Their dispatchers, fleet managers and load planners are rude, ignorant, arrogant, unprofessional and have no clue what it takes to run a successful small business. It is Dispatch by mob, no personal service or relations, you can never talk to management and I have never felt so unappreciated in my entire career. The van freight they book is way under average revenue, and they expect your to move freight for no profit, many times where it COSTS YOU money to move it. Stay far,far away from these people!
Pros
Nice equipment
Cons
Horrible management, no freight, no money
Was this review helpful?Yes81No16
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place to Work
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 9, 2015
Worked as Receptionist for 2 weeks before I was let go. Was expected to learn over 5000 extensions within 2 days of hire. Employee who was supposed to train me was very immature & prided herself for being a mean girl - would refuse to answer any questions to help me succeed. Manager was weak and refused to help out in any way. High turnover at front desk, have been through 5 receptionists in 2 months. Other departments seem to be a better place to work but avoid front desk at all costs. Pay not worth the mental abuse.
Pros
Pay is ok
Cons
High turnover, lack of training
Was this review helpful?Yes53No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst trucking company I ever worked for
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 19, 2015
Low pay, high turnover, poor management, incompetent dispatchers and driver managers. Quite simply, the worst trucking company I ever worked for...hands down.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes72No19
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Celadon is an ok company to work for most terminals are not very clean or driver friendly
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, IndianaAugust 12, 2015
Celadon has many changes happening with them purchasing other companies Also adding to their fleet with flatbeds and refer division.
most of the terminals are not up to standard as for showers, relaxing or TV rooms. Like most companies you have good and bad DM's some will keep drivers moving and others will leave drivers stranded.
Pros
Dedicated Petsmart Pays the best
Cons
Needs better training
Was this review helpful?Yes70No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OTR
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 24, 2015
Not to bad if you want to sit a lot and take other people's loads cause they can't to do it themselves . Cause they don't know how to manage their drive time. so for that you have to give them your load that has better miles -n- pay rate -n- take their 50 mile or 25 mile pay rate -n- load. The company doesn't give you anything for taking a pay cut for doing it.
Pros
nice trucks and truck wash at headquaters
Cons
short miles and plays favortism alot
Was this review helpful?Yes63No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Class A Driver (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAJuly 23, 2015
This company was easy to work for. The job consisted of picking up overseas containers and delivering them to various states. Reason for leaving is that they eliminated my position and went to contract hire.
Was this review helpful?Yes33No21
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced but stay young
Outside Recruiter/Human Resources (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, IndianaJuly 21, 2015
This is a fun and exciting place to work but if you are over 50 years old then you will not get promoted and more then likely not fit in
They promote people that are barely out of college.
This is a great place to launch a career once your promoted and get a fancy title.
Pros
Bankers hours
Cons
dont care for drivers, they are a number
Was this review helpful?Yes48No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overtime pay
RPK 2 (Current Employee) –  Janesville, WIJuly 7, 2015
The hours are long, the weeks are long, pay is reasonable, after the overtime pay. Too much revolving door, no people to rotate with.
Pros
No life outside the job
Cons
good enough money in today's economy
Was this review helpful?Yes36No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
celadon is poor
student (Current Employee) –  gadsden alabamaJuly 6, 2015
Went to trucking school in Gadsden Alabama finished in 20 days sat at he for 4 weeks before being placed with a trainer. Your just a number low pay. And disrespectful driver advocates they don't care about you period and you'll be paying back 3 times the amount of the school DO NOT GO CELADON starts out good then you STARVE WAITING ON A TRAINER
Pros
absolutely Nome
Cons
all the above
Was this review helpful?Yes56No16
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful job with a lot of pressure
Import/Export Coordinator (Former Employee) –  laredo txJuly 2, 2015
Job requires lots of patience and can sometimes get hectic.Co-workers are not friendly, very competitive workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes31No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no regards for thier drivers
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 30, 2015
you spend a lot of time on the road with hardly any home time. the speak with you in a demeaning manner on occasion. You are not compensated well.
Was this review helpful?Yes43No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promises aren't kept, and they keep you in the dark.
Professional Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 17, 2015
They seem very secretive, almost like there's always a worrisome motive behind decisions. The wage is very low for industry standards, especially for solo company drivers. Their lease program is the biggest joke. They are literally growing too fast and don't know how to run a bigger business yet. The people whom run the company have only money in mind. They care not who they hire or keep happy as far as drivers. From day one in their driving school, until the end, I had to beg for answers and then they were always a runaround reply.
Pros
They will pay for most everything as a company driver.
Cons
You have to threaten them to even get reimbursed for anything.
Was this review helpful?Yes70No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a good place to start off
Company OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 27, 2015
Everywhere is the same when you work as a company driver. For this company they're not that bad. You can run as much as you can or willing to work. Of course the longer you stay out the more miles and the more money... This company allow to run and they treat you right... Of course depend on the dispatch.
Was this review helpful?Yes61No22

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 144 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture