Celadon Trucking Employee Reviews

Found 235 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledge of transportation industry
Office Manager/Equipment Control/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Laredo, TXSeptember 5, 2016
Celadon Trucking was without a doubt the opening of doors for me to the transportation industry. As customer service, I tracked shipments, booking of freight in the AS400, answer customer's concern, and giving out rates. I was transferred to the equipment control department and later because equipment control supervisor where I supervised a total of around 7-8 employees. I got the opportunity to be office manager, dealing with Mexican carriers, taking care of payroll and supervising the damages/detention and equipment control departments, while supervising 12-15 employees.
Pros
Excellent employer, nice working environment
Cons
None that I can think off
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Driver for this company I wouldn't 'recommend for a student
Truck Driver (OTR) owner operator (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 3, 2016
I'm a owner operator my truck broke down,I ask my DM if I could do recovery until my truck was repaired he said cool they bused me to Knoxville Th from Louisville my just to get to the towing yard to find out there was no key to the truck I always have skeleton keys made but this time I didn't have one anyway I call and emailed Celadon truck recovery after waiting all day finally got a response that they were shipping a key via Usps ? Really I've been around a min all they had to do was put 20$ on my Comcast then I could have gave freighter the last 8 of the vin and got a key cut and of course I had to wait for hotel clearance pay for a cab ride if it wasn't for Cedar Bluff towing looking out for me allowing me to use their fax and giving me a ride to the hotel I would have been screwed., This company has went downhill .

Anyway yes there's more go my truck back out the shop and dropped to loads in the same day on my third load to Minnesota I left Monee ILL Petro my truck broke down at 9am called my DM and emailed them even call road maintenance to relay the load and gave them my location they drug their feet all day long I went thru all my channels when the tow man arrived I messaged called and emailed them where was the relay because the tow truck driver had to go so I had to leave with driver Because my truck was going to the shop the relay driver supposedly 19miles out never showed they never called me back to check on me they don't care about there drivers owner operators /company they lie and try to cheat you out of your time money this is a fact I have proof believe
  more... or not if your a new driver I strongly recommend you do your homework .And yes every company's has its ups and downs but Celadon is a job rest in peace Mr Russell I wish u were still around to see how these ppl are ruining your good name  less
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 2, 2016
a professionall company that always kept me working had plenty of miles if you were willing to get up and do the job good.stop asking questions
Was this review helpful?Yes9No21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A crock of chit
Owner/Operator (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 1, 2016
I was a lease purchase idiot...first check was awesome, but after that it was all down hill.Yes it truly goes down in the DM with these guys.
Pros
I got the h3lL away
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes20No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Celadon Trucking
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 31, 2016
Great miles new trucks great DMs family orientated great pay great benefits great road maintenance quilty company all around good company work for friendly environment
Pros
good company
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes15No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent people
OTR DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Kernersville, NCAugust 27, 2016
pretty unorganized fleet managers, nobody really on the same page, pay wasn't too bad actually, but i was running team. home time would be sporadic with i couldn't compromise do to being single father
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing fun
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Janesville, WIAugust 12, 2016
cold in the winter and very hot in the summer
i learned how to load and unload trucks
people are very rude
bad management
hard to work with your supervisor
favoriting co worker
Pros
free food sometime
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OTR driver
Route Driver (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 25, 2016
this place is a total nightmare.. i would not go back ever again..they Driver mangagers are the dumbest people in the world..and if you go the school dont bc if you quit the job they add 2k more to your total cost
Pros
got expereince
Cons
Bad managers, Bad Pay, morons
Was this review helpful?Yes18No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
planners can't plan
CDL A Lease operator (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 25, 2016
Planning took over load assignments and Celadon went downhill. 1900.00 pay checks to 300.00. As long as planning has the helm avoid this company. It was good when DMs had control.
Pros
none at this point
Cons
Turn off fuel cards between loads, DMs have no control, planning is horrible they try to assign loads with No money in them, small over crowded yards, paid laundry, terrible facilities, Icould go on but wwhat's the point.
Was this review helpful?Yes37No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Owner/Operator (Current Employee) –  Logansport, INJuly 20, 2016
Worst trucking company I have ever heard of. Owner will get you in debt and make sure that he keeps you there so that you can not make a living or support a family
Was this review helpful?Yes25No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A highly fast paced enviroment and somtimes stressful but that is for the most part the position I held. The perks were a cafeteria and medical bldg.
Driver Manager/Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 18, 2016
On a typical day I would get in early before my scheduled hours of 7:30am and run my board to see where my drivers were and check to see if there was any potential service failures. Then I would speak to the driver either by phone or via qualcom of their updated eta to customers and the reason of the delay so I could communicate to the Area Planner and Customer Service Rep. A lot of the management and the new hires for the Driver Manager, Area Planners, Customer Service Reps did not have any experience in the Transportation/Trucking Industry. They were for the most part just out of College or just have a college degree . That was the hardest part of the job was getting them to understand what the truck driver needs and experiences they have on the road which I had in the years I have worked in this industry and also I was at one time married to a truck driver and went on the road with him during my vacation time. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know and understand the personalities of the drivers and co-workers and of course the customers. My driver retention was awesome , I would go months without losing a driver off my board, the drivers trusted me and we were a team .
Pros
They had a full service caferteria for Breakfast, lunch and dinner for employees and drivers, they also had a medical building with a Nurse Practioner for the drivers and employees to see.
Cons
Their healtcare plans were not very good, high premiums and deductables .
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away from this company as far as you can!
Truck Driver (OTR) (Current Employee) –  TexasJuly 5, 2016
This is not a well run company. If they can find a loophole not to pay you what you're owed that's what they do. On pay stubs they make it look like they have reimbursed the driver however if you do the math yourself, at the end they will deduct what should have been a reimbursement. So you have to go through the pay stubs carefully. They don't like to pay detention pay even if you follow their rules. They will find a loophole not to pay you. When you call about your pay issues, you WILL get the run around. Whether or not it gets fixed may or may not happen. You can end up waiting several weeks after lots of arguing. Their open door policy is complete nonsense. You can never go up the chain of command. They have no idea how to schedule loads properly and regularly you will not have all the appropriate info when at consignor. They do not care about a driver's safety. Best bet is if you have an issue go to a weigh station and demand a DOT inspection. Their mechanics will claim they have done the work on your truck but really haven't. Told me they swapped my batteries however they didn't. The batteries were dirty and hadn't even been touched. No finger prints on the dirty batteries anywhere. Kinda obvious. Got run around when pointing that out to the mechanic. Don't go through the schooling through them either. The wagelock is a gimmick. Very rarely does it pay and you won't get it if your truck isn't running right. Some of what goes onto the scorecard are out of the drivers control which is what makes it difficult to earn wagelock regularly. DM's will pull a fast one and give  more... you a load they know will be late even though not the drivers fault it gets counted against you on your scorecards. Even after pointing it out to them. They will tell you they will take care of it but they don't. Loose out on a money sitting and waiting for responses, for truck to get fixed, for sitting at consignors because you don't have right info or the load was live load/unload instead of drop and hook. Night DM's have no authority so you are out of luck on nights and weekends are no better. Working for this company requires lots of arguing to get what's owed you or to get things fixed. This is not a smooth running company. Seemed like people either don't want to do their jobs or don't know how. Take your pick.  less
Pros
None
Cons
All of it
Was this review helpful?Yes41No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Celadon Trucking is an interesting place to work
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 1, 2016
I enjoy the challenges presented to me working at Celadon Trucking, and I have learned a lot about the trucking industry.
Pros
Friendly work environment
Cons
I am discovering I am not excited about the trucking industry
Was this review helpful?Yes6No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good company at all
truck driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 1, 2016
the only thing good about this company is their free lunch in orientation they screw you over on your money they screw you on the maintenance on their own vehicles i dont recommend these people to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes31No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Laredo, TXJune 20, 2016
I learned a lot everyday at Celadon, the work environment is wonderful, managers too.
I really love Celadon and working there was an awesome experience.
I considered all my coworkers my own family.
When you love your job there is no hard part of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly ran company, will take what they can get away with from you!
Lease purchase (Former Employee) –  OtrJune 20, 2016
We are lease purchase here. We work very hard to stay above water. They keep 30% of your fuel surcharge, keep most of the fuel rebates, and nickel and dime you to death. They claim lots of drop and hook, but mostly drop and look, because there is not an empty there. Then after running around searching for a trailer you have to get things fixed on it. They don't hold drivers accountable for dropping trailer with bad tires and in need of repair. You really have to watch your pay to see where you have been cheated. They took money out of my escrow account to pay for a repair that I paid with my Visa, a month has passed and still trying to get my money back. Lease purchase get mostly short, heavy, low paying loads while the good stuff gets brokered out or put on company trucks.... Also, beware of the leasing company they use (Quality) , they don't care anymore about you than Celadon!
Pros
Ummm, Im trying to think of something
Cons
Dont care, lie, and steal from you...
Was this review helpful?Yes66No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely horrendous
Over-the-road driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis IndianaJune 16, 2016
This company's drives on making a profit at drivers expense. There is almost zero on time and when you complain they figure out a way to screw you on your paychecks. I would not recommend this company to my worst enemy.
Pros
Pretty decent trucks
Cons
Very poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes42No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truck driver
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Kernersville, NCJune 16, 2016
Horrible pay and poor management lowest pay in the industry. they don't care about their drivers they only care about the load getting there on time.
Was this review helpful?Yes27No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driving for co.
Company Driver (Current Employee) –  Laredo, TXJune 13, 2016
i came back because of equipment and especially because they have battery operated apu,recruiter and first dm did the best they could to keep me busy i did not give them a chance at first but need to be patient with anything in life correct whats the sayin rome was not built in a day but they were/are great with working to see what works for you looking forward to second try
Pros
they are there for you
Cons
none at moment
Was this review helpful?Yes16No21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Tractor Trailer Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, IN 46223June 10, 2016
a typical day at work you stay out two or 3 weeks at a time , co workers were great very helpful , like all driving jobs you get to be your own boss
Was this review helpful?Yes12No19Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Celadon Trucking. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 240 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.7
Culture
2.9

CEO Approval

51%
80 ratings
Add your rating