Find companies:
Cengage Learning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
55 reviews

Cengage Learning Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place and company to work
Credit & Collections (Former Employee), Meriden, CTJune 10, 2014
Pros: benefits very good and big corporation
Cons: travel every day was over 25 miles one way
Worked at this company for 24 years. Handled accounts receivable, accounts payable, customer service, purchasing, subscription database. Great co-workers. Enjoyed working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, great management
Customer Technical Support (Current Employee), Florence, KYMay 7, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere, great management, treated like family
Cons: sometimes the hours are shortened due to work load when school is not in session
This company is such a joy to work for. Its definitely going to be hard to leave. Management treats the employees like family, and not like numbers. There are always opportunities for training and learning, and no day is ever the same. I've never worked somewhere where teamwork was so evident. Even people in other groups are always more than willing – more... to help when needed. Its going to be hard to leave, but I need to get back to my family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still going through the pain of new management and organization
Editorial Executive (Former Employee), Boston, MAApril 24, 2014
Pros: it has such enormous potential
Cons: it has become a white-man's company
Cengage was one of those publishing companies that misunderstood the digital changes that were happening in their ultimate market. As a result drastic changes were necessary and they were carried out in a brutishly efficient manner. These changes were necessary to save the company. Unfortunately after these changes Cengage has become a middle-aged white – more... man's company that is being managed through intimidation and bullying. Regardless, the company still has enormous potential. Give it a year or two to get back on its feet and I would recommend Cengage to anyone - but not now. If you are not a white male - or at least act like one, this company is not for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The manuscripts were sent to my home for review.
Copy Editor (Former Employee), job location was my home.April 23, 2014
Pros: only pro was getting to do it at home
Cons: no cons
These manuscripts were typical of the type used to create Pharmacological textbooks for students taking the Certified Medical Assistant Program.

I normally would due most of the work during the day while my children were in school. I had no co-workers to deal with or phones ringing off the hook.

When I was done with the manuscript, I would send it – more... back to the company with my corrections.

I'm sorry to say that it wasn't a really exciting type of job; not like copy editor for mystery novels.

But it was nice to see my name on the book jacket of the finished product. It was a good experience, and something I had never done before. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Market Development Manager (Current Employee), Farmington Hills, MIApril 21, 2014
Pros: good culture
Cons: low compensation, minimal work-life balance
Cengage Learning is a good place to work. Compensation could be better, but there is a good company culture. Dress code is very lax (jeans any day of the week, some people wear sweat shirts/tee shirts).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Floor Coordinator (Former Employee), Independence, KYApril 6, 2014
Pros: hours, pay, insurance, benefits, bonuses
Cons: got hot in the warehouse
perfect hours, nice pay, friendly teamplayers, great benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work. Very relaxed, casual office culture. Focused on creating innovative learning solutions for students and librarians.
Senior Content Project Manager (Former Employee), Farmington Hills, MIMarch 31, 2014
Pros: job allowed me to wear many different hats, my managers always gave me a lot of autonomy to run projects in the ways that made sense, working in editorial department allowed me opportunity to learn something new every day, whether related to contracts, negotiations, writing, editing, content focusing on literature, history, social sciences.
Cons: constantly shifting targets in terms of budgets, schedules, vision, priorities, and management made working here difficult at times; but overall, the work was very rewarding despite the occasional red tape.
Typical day at work allowed me to wear many different hats; my managers always gave me a lot of autonomy to run projects in the ways that made sense. Working in Editorial department allowed me opportunity to learn something new every day, whether related to contracts, negotiations, writing, editing, content focusing on literature, history, social sciences, – more... humanities, and so forth. Management was encouraging and positive and open to new ideas. Co-workers were always pleasant, helpful, informed, kind, and a joy to work with. Hardest part of job was dealing with budgets and difficult freelancers, vendors, and shifting schedules. Most enjoyable part was creating a product that would be used by students and librarians for learning; this was immensely rewarding for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun writing on walls
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAMarch 16, 2014
work, fun, play, work. Eat. learn. work. work hard. fun. creative. collaborative. work. fun. educate. engage. communicate. team work. team player. work. fun. hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Cost Accounting Specialist (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHFebruary 21, 2014
Processed receipt, adjustment and put-away transactions; verified return task transactions between LogPro and JDE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical job duties
Employee (Former Employee), Independence, KYFebruary 15, 2014
Work on orders and returns from customers
Precision is everything
Management good
Good group of coworkers
The long hours
Getting the orders to go to schools
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had High Hopes
Project Manager, Legal (Former Employee), Stamford, CTJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: some very nice folks there
Cons: if you are looking to move up, not the place for you
Over all some very nice, smart and hard people are working there. But if you are on part of the "in crowd" it can be very hard. I learned that no matter how good your intentions are and how hard you work and want to grow within the company, its not going to happen. No employee development and no one to turn to.

Very slow moving culture, new ideas are – more... not appreciated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company on the way out
LEARNING CONSULTANT (Former Employee), Independence, KYJanuary 22, 2014
Great company to start a career in sales because of the training and support. Company does not have a strong outlook though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Identity crisis
Anonymous (Former Employee), BostonJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: benefits, great hr team
Cons: below-market salaries, very top-heavy leadership
Cengage is struggling to move from a traditional publishing model to a digital one. At the same time, it's struggling to understand the value of its employees with digital experience, often putting them between a rock (new expectations) and a hard place (traditional publishing), even if those employees are strong advocates for the shift to digital. – more... As a result, Cengage is losing droves of talent, both voluntarily and involuntarily, because it doesn't understand the pool of talent it already has. It has also been unwilling to fund its digital systems and infrastructure, hampering the staff's ability to move quickly in the digital marketplace. Work/life balance is a real challenge also, mainly because Cengage is horribly understaffed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on department
Marketing (Former Employee), Farmington HillsSeptember 28, 2013
Pros: people, content
Cons: leadership, changing directions, constant reorgs
Lots of continuous change and reorgs makes for an unsettling work environment and distracted leadership. Depending on what department you are in-it could be a great place to work. Steer clear of marketing....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many great memories
Publishers Representative (Current Employee), Mason, OHSeptember 13, 2013
Pros: bonus checks
Cons: amazon
Coworkers are great, motivated and helpful. Different job every day and there was a lot of training and support for he changes in the industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely company undergoing industry pains
Director (Current Employee), Boston, MASeptember 11, 2013
Pros: flexible work arrangements, decent pay by publishing standards.
Cons: lots of change, difficult time in the industry.
Like every publishing company Cengage is having to make a lot of changes to fit in with the digital age. It can be a little difficult for folks, but they are trying very hard and make some great products. The new management is definitely improving things and bringing a little more logic and business savvy to the table. The work culture is great with – more... lots of nice, smart people. Definitely a good place and time for a self starter with a lot of drive to make a name for themselves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place to Work
Senior Managing Editor (Current Employee), Belmont, CASeptember 6, 2013
Pros: pleasant environment, good work/life balance
Cons: can be cutthroat, high pressure
I have worked at Cengage Learning (formerly Thomson Learning) for 11 years as of 2013. I have always found it to be a pleasant place to work. Management usually does find ways to help employees advance their careers and I have experienced some great successes during my time here, in addition to a good level of career advancement. The culture can be – more... cutthroat, but overall is positive. Most people at Cengage are very nice and passionate about what they do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average place to work
Content Digitization Project Manager (Current Employee), Farmington Hills, MIAugust 28, 2013
This is where I work. I go here every day. A typical day is quite busy. I convert thousands of titles from print to eBook
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
God Conditions to Work
Senior Sales Representative (Former Employee), Guaynabo, PRAugust 27, 2013
Pros: goods benefits
Cons: lack of management, price, resources
My days was very busy, I was working in the field. The north, and the central area, was my territory including part of northwest (Mayaguez).
My relationship with my coworker was very healthy and we cooperate as a team one and another's.

The hardest part of my job, when the end of the fiscal year is close, was very stressful, like very sales company.

The – more... most enjoyable part of my job, was when I pass my goal!!!, new costumer, closing business and when we travel to different places, to go; Conventions, National Sales, kick off, Closer Meting, Latino America. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cengage Learning
Senior Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Clifton Park, NYAugust 15, 2013
Cons: unrealistic goals
Was a great company, became an impossible place to work towards the end and now they are in bankrupcty

1 2 3

About Cengage Learning

Cengage Learning is a leading provider of innovative teaching, learning and research solutions for the academic, professional – Read more

Cengage Learning Photos