Find companies:
CENIKOR FOUNDATION
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

CENIKOR FOUNDATION Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have the opportunity to really help people.
Community Resource Manager/Business Development (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMay 15, 2014
Pros: great pto
Cons: no flex time
Due to the affordable care act many dramatic changes are occurring on all levels of the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding work place
Night Security (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: helping people to grow
Cons: missing out on a lot of day-time activities
A typical day at work consist of working around others in a TC setting where you have the opportunity to display any and all behaviors and to hold people accountable when necessary when they display a negative behavior. My co-workers are always fun to work with because of their healthy display of humor in the work place. The hardest part of the job, – more... if any, would be the hours, but the rewards of seeing and helping people to grow is un-matched. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
tech (Former Employee), Waco, TXJanuary 30, 2014
A great team of people working to help others get back on their feet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environmet
Contact person (Current Employee), Deer Park, TXNovember 17, 2013
Pros: working in an environment i addended school for
Cons: no over time
On a typical day at Cenikor I would come into work check if their is any medication that needs to be logged in, dispose of any empty prescription bottles I begin to do room checks about midnight and walk the halls to make sure everyone is cleared off the floor. My co-workers and I would take turns picking up clients from the Hospital as needed. I enjoy – more... every aspect of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cenikor Lake Charles Must be writing there own Reviews
Clinical Staff (Former Employee), Lake CharlesJuly 28, 2013
Pros: there is none
Cons: no professionalism, no structure, and an excessive employee turnover
If you can get the clinical staff off of there back side to actually do some work instead of sitting on the back patio drinking coffee and smoking cigarettes they might actually help somebody. This facility is all about money they are just and adult daycare for the clients there is no supervision or structure there is no clinical staff on duty after – more... 5pm Monday thru Friday and NO CLINICAL STAFF AVAILABLE ON THE WEEKENDS THERE CLIENTS ARE LITERALLY ON THERE OWN FROM 5PM FRI TO 9AM MONDAY. they just sit and look at tv except for an couple of outside meetings don't waste your time or send your loved ones there for Help because they won't get it your better off going to another facility or just go out patient or just try to get clean on your own . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great company to work for, I have no bad words to say about Cenikor
Part Time Access Center Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 25, 2013
Pros: hours, pay, access to upper management.
Cons: it is what you make it, sometimes the clients can be difficult to deal with.
I have been there for 6 months, and I can tell you that it is a great place to work. The environment is conducive to getting your work done, with limited distractions. The management does not micro-manage. It really is a family like atmosphere with Cenikor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
blind leading blind
Behavioral Health Technician (Former Employee), Aquilla, TXJune 5, 2013
Pros: social services networking
Cons: incompetence, lack of safety
Limited knowledge among "management" and "skilled professionals". Due to biased practices, very limited room for advancement. Despite better candidates to lead, authority was mediated by salary and not quality care founded on expertise. Often a lot more questions than answers among "knowledged staff". Patient interests and levels of care superceeded – more... by the almighty dollar and which below average rookie would work the most for the least to leave paying clients broke, decieved, and no better off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Manager (Current Employee), Lake CharlesMay 15, 2013
Pros: great culture, benefits, advancement and educational opportunities
Cons: n/a
Cenikor makes an investment in its employees both professionally and personally. I have been given every opportunity to succeed and pushed to strive for excellence. The Benefits package is great, tuition reimbursement, Tier Development and Mentor program, bonus, yearly raise based on performance and a great team ready and willing to help. Its a large – more... foundation committed to its employees and the clients they serve. The management team at corporate is approachable, involved, and readily available to meet the needs of all staff. Lake Charles Facility has a great working environment, great management and support staff and has passion for the work they do and compassion for those they serve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Professional atmosphere.
Director (Current Employee), Lake CharlesMay 14, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: no paid holidays
A Cenikor employee must be hardworking, dedicated, and willing to go the extra mile. The work that we do is rewarding and challenging. The foundation offers a great benefits package that include 401K matching, a generous amount of PTO, & other benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So far great company and program IMO!
Rather not say. (Current Employee), Waco, TxJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: low cost $1.00 lunch, positive atmosphere, helping people, nice building to work in, co-workers. management does not tolerate employees mistreating clients.
Cons: short term program, hr very picky about time, some techs are not happy with their pay.
I've worked at the Waco inpatient facility for about 6 mos now. It just opened up in July 2012. Things were a little disorganized in the beginning and the rules seemed to change every day but that is to be expected with a new faciltiy. Now things have settled down and it's a very positive atmosphere to work in. Management is not perfect but strives – more... to work with everyone concerned in a fair manner. They truly want to help the clients in a firm, fair manner. The pay is not exceptional but is fair and the benefits are about average as far as cost, co-pay, etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company had potential, but due to poor management, it is a bad place to work.
Counselor (Former Employee), Dayton, TXNovember 25, 2012
Pros: free lunch
Cons: pto was not rewarded if you were fired unlawfully
I worked for TDCJ at the Henley unit with Cenikor. Our direct supervisor yelled at staff. She was hardly ever present. Finally, Cenikor management team got rid of her. Then Cenikor Management team deceided to lie and write up workers. The management team Human Resources lies! She makes things up when writing employees up. They fire employees for no – more... reason! When you explain that your employees write up makes no sense. The Company deems it can do what ever it wants too. They have no regard for their employees or their consumers. Maybe, Cenikor is run differently in LA. But, in Texas it is run with poor management. And the management is uncaring for their staff. They take sides of other employees. But, they do not stay on Cenikor site long enough to discern fact from fiction for themselves. They take an associates degree LCDC opinion on everything. And the funny thing is that she had the most complaints from the clientelle than any other staff member. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't work here again if I was offered a LARGE SUM of money
counselor (Former Employee), lake charles, laOctober 29, 2012
Pros: benefits
When I was first hired with this company I was extremely eager and I knew that it was a great company. I still feel that it is a great company, however, I feel that the Lake Charles facility was ran poorly by individuals who did NOT actually care about the needs of the clients. The work environment was horrible due to EXCESSIVE workplace gossip. Clinical – more... managaer abused the position to try to bully others and facility administrator did not care anything about her staff or the clients. I have watched counselors work hard for certain clients while others are not considered important. This job was constant turmoil and drama. I wished that the corporate office in Houston, TX would have intervened and really investigated the things that actually took place in that building. If you want peace of mind, a place where you actually want to make a difference, please pass Cenikor/LAKE CHARLES up. I am in no way bashing the entire company, however, Lake Charles location is not the place!!!!!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization that helps employees grow
Manager (Current Employee), Lake Charles, LaJune 19, 2012
Pros: 401k program, tution reimbursement, and pto
Cons: no paid holidays
Professional company that cares about staff and clients. Upper management is always willing to assist. In order to be sucessful at Cenikor, you must be willing and able to work hard to complete the mission.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized non-profit with high standards and accountability measures in place....If you’re ready to step up to the plate, plan to hit a home run
Community Resource Manager (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LouisianaJune 1, 2012
Pros: paid training, paid educational classes, career options, working with passionate, dedicated people
Cons: people who aren't ready to change their lives, adjusting to changes.
Working for Cenikor:
The business side of Cenikor is dedicated to education and training, they have intensive managers’ conferences that inform you of organizational growth, expectations, opportunities and policy changes. The managers collectively will have read a “call to action” book before attending that assists you in raising your professional skills – more... and performance; team decision making with action plans that are put in place and followed up after the conference. Job descriptions are in writing; your goals are written and updated monthly by you. An annual gain-sharing bonus is a benefit based on the accomplishments of the combination of your goals and those of the facility you work at. This organization is dedicated to helping individuals struggling with chronic substance abuse addiction.

The philosophical atmosphere is one that reflects “old fashion” values, you know, when people cared about life, each other and themselves, were held accountable for their actions. Respect of others and others property, getting up early in the morning so that you make good use of your day, speaking up and clearly so that others can understand you, having you shirt tucked in and pants pulled up so you look respectable and ready to get something purposeful done. Or for the ladies, clothes not too tight, so that what is noticed is your character. I could go on and on. You as an employee are an example of these standards, like going the extra mile, doing a task to assist someone else even if its not in your job description, working a little later or coming in when your not scheduled, because its what’s needed to get the job done. We refer to it as being “all in”.

Personally, you become part of the solution to the serious social issue of substance abuse. You will experience seeing individuals come into treatment who regain their self respect, reunite with family, heal physically and mentally, grow into someone they are proud to be. You will see some who aren’t ready to change and it will break your heart. You will meet graduates of the program who are living a life in recovery, some have been doing so for 10, 20, 30 years. It is uplifting, it restores your faith in people; it reminds you that people really can change, and it will confirm that no matter how many times someone has tried recovery, it is never too late.
If you’re ready to step up to the plate, plan to hit a home run! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not for everybody but I love working for Cenikor
Manager (Current Employee), HoustonMay 31, 2012
Pros: fabulous benefits, staff development, supportive in terms of professional goals
Cons: long hours at times, unreasonable demands on personal time.
Cenikor has a culture like no other company, for or non-profit, I've ever worked for. I'm dedicated to the mission of helping people change and move away from substance dependence and criminal behaviors toward productive, healthy and happy lives. I work with a great group of hard working dedicated individuals who I truly enjoy, as co-workers and friends.
Cenikor – more... promotes personal and professional growth and development and truly buys into the idea that great leaders help others become great leaders.
Cenikor expects a lot of their staff and sometimes it seems a bit unreasonable. Salaried people are expected to work long hours and to even give specific hours outside normal working hours with no additional pay and no comp. time. This is tough to swallow when it's my turn to "give away my time for free" but becomes a little more palatable when I look at the opportunities I believe I have here. Cenikor makes managers out of non-managers and executives out of managers.
I plan to retire from Cenikor and I plan to find myself in an executive role when that happens and Cenikor supports those types of goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cenikor continues to help me develop and mature as a leader and a person
Outreach Manager (Current Employee), Lake Charles, La.May 31, 2012
Pros: great health benefits, 401k, tuition reimbursement, $700 per year on discovery benefits card, tier mentoring program, yearly managers conference
Cons: long days, no paid holidays unless you use pto, no separate allowance for tires and oil changes
I was introduced to Cenikor during a time when my state was in turmoil due to cutbacks and layoffs. At first, I was unsure if I could meet the expectations of Cenikor and was somewhat fearful of the unknown; but if I wanted to continue with my career path, I knew that I would have to step into a new role with Cenikor.

This level of management was new – more... to me; and the field of public relations was something I had never seen myself doing. They allowed me the freedom to sculpt my position so I could meet the needs of referral sources, staff, and myself. There are many aspects to my job that I love but the most pleasurable is the diverse amount of people I get to meet through my outreach. It has deepened my level of commitment to my community. I have been able to have so many enriching experiences through my outreach that, at times I have to say "wow this is my life". I have never worked for an employer that has invested so much time and resources, into building a better me. They have allowed me the opportunity to discover and explore my professional abilities and provided me with trainings and programs that have promoted growth from within.

I am very fortunate to work with a team that I admire and respect foundation wide. We may not always be in agreement but Cenikor is a professional and stable place to work and grow. However, it is not for everyone. Cenikor is not for a person who has little work ethic and lacks in dedication to the Cenikor mission and goals set forth by the Cenikor leaders. A person must be willing to step outside of their scope of duties when called upon; and accept change internally and externally .Cenikor is growing and changing each day and either you change with it or get left behind, I chose to change.

As much as I enjoy my career and the work I get to do, the area that it has had a negative affect on is my time with my children and grandchildren. It can be a challenge at times to create a balance between the two. My family understands; and they take pride in the woman I am becoming so they realize that at times; sacrifices will have to be made. My family knows the importance of helping someone achieve the gift of a substance free life, so they are willing to share my time, to change the life of another. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and most definitely the greatest place I have ever worked.
Admission Manager (Current Employee), Deer ParkMay 31, 2012
Pros: mileage reimbursments
Cons: n/a
Not only has this company given me the greatest benifits but it has allowed me to meet and work with some of the most passionate people in this business. I have learned how to let go of myself and give the greatest gift to people that need the most love and attention that is needed to over come all types of barriers. The management team is awesome and – more... very accomodating to assist in success of each other. My co-workers are the best even when time gets tough and hard we strive to help each other to meet our goals. The most enjoyable part of my job is working with the leader of our facility knowing that he will assist me in all I need to complete and be a success at what I do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission driven and progressive organization that changes many lives. Positive work environment. Sometimes demanding, yet rewarding place to work.
Accounting (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 31, 2012
Work load can be demanding at times, but organization is very driven to succeed in its mission and to thrive and grow. Positive and rewarding work environment. Outstanding benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome recovery experience with people who care about people.
Program Manager II (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TexasMay 30, 2012
Pros: great benefits, great co-workers, true commitment for both client/staff, gain sharing, top rated training, management training, personal relationships, honest people.
Cons: if you are just looking for a job, you can find those anywhere. if you want a career then seek employment with cenikor foundation.
Cenikor Foundation is one of the best organization I have seen that offer long-term treatment services for substance dependence and behavior modification. The Foundation has been around for 45 years changing the lives of men and women while creating a new life for their family as well. As a Cenikor Graduate my testimony began at the doors of Cenikor – more... and now I am part of keeping these doors open for those men and women that are seeking change in thier lives. The Leadership Team here is secure about developing employees that believe in the mission and carry that mission daily while discharging your job responsibilities. Four years ago I was homeless, hopeless, unhappy and unmotivated for change. Today I am successful, clean and sober, responsible, motivated, attending college, health insurance, life insurance, dental, etc. The best part of my job is that they can't pay me enough to do what I love and that's hepling people everyday in everyway and Cenikor provides that opportunity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A well ran, professionally managed company.
clinical supervisor (Current Employee), DaytonMay 30, 2012
Pros: i have learned to be more flexible and to multitask better.
Cons: not knowing how the clients are doing after treatment.
Great benefits, wonderful opprotunities, caring management. If you really want to help the clients and learn along the way this is the place. Working in the prison was totally new for me and I have learned so much. A different challenge everyday.

About CENIKOR FOUNDATION

For more than 45 years, Cenikor Foundation has helped more than 30,000 people create an addiction-free future and regain their – Read more

CENIKOR FOUNDATION Photos