Find companies:
CENTER FOR BEHAVIORAL HEALTH
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

CENTER FOR BEHAVIORAL HEALTH Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I highly enjoy working as an addiction counselor and working for the Center for Behavioral Health.
Addiction Counselor (Current Employee), Shreveport, LADecember 1, 2014
I work as an addiction counselor at the Center for Behavioral Health. I manage an average case load of 70 patients. A typical day would consist of individual counseling, treatment planning, discharge planning, conducting biopsychosocial assessments, and case management duties. I enjoy working with this population because I feel we offer services to – more... our patients which greatly impacts their lives and offers them the skills necessary for them to regain control of their lives. I work in a very fast-paced environment where multitasking is essential. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
patients are always great to work with
Lpn (Former Employee), shreveportOctober 16, 2014
Pros: off by 1pm everyday
Cons: early morning hours and the supervisor april gilchrist sucks!!!
i wouldn't advise no one to work for this company unless you deal with a supervisor who can't speak up for herself or the employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not reccomend
Substance abuse (Former Employee), ArizonaAugust 24, 2014
Cons: mo breaks and being micromanaged
Job not worth the little money paid. The hours are not fun to work. Agency very unorganized. The amount of paperwork is crazy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced high energy clinic with really great co-workers
Dispensing Nurse (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVMay 31, 2014
Pros: co-workers, hours, management support
Cons: hours, breaks, location
On a typical day i would assist in dispensing Methadone and Suboxone to patients who are in treatment for opioid addiction. Provide therapeutic communication to aide in the quality of care my patients received. I learned a lot about a whole new population of patients, how to approach them, what to say, what not to say. i also learned a lot about the – more... process of addiction and also withdrawls. My co-workers are amazing, very much of a team experience, all of us working together towards the same goal, patient success and patient care. the hardest part of the job was waking up so early, i would have to be at work from 4:30 am to 1:00pm, at first it was hard to get on the right sleep schedule, but i got a hang of it after a while. The most enjoyable is the relationships i have formed with my patients, a lot of them have problems with trust and feeling comfortable and i had a lot of them tell me they enjoyed my presence and care i provided. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun days
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAMarch 31, 2014
Pros: we would meet up after work at least twice a week and have lunch together!
Cons: restroom break cause i was the only one that could run the front office, it was hard for me to get someone to set for me until i finally train 3 people to do me job.
A typical work day always started for me at 4:00am and ended at 1:00pm. I learned that everyday people would come in with a different attitude some nice and some not so nice I had respect for them all. My co-workers were awesome from the first day I started and we still have a relationship even tho I am not longer employed there. I have to honestly – more... say I never had a hard part cause it was my job and I knew it had to be done. The most enjoyable part of my job were the people and I learned something new everyday while I was there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Early hours, high caseload, poor management
Counselor (Former Employee), Louisville, KYMarch 4, 2014
Pros: off work early
Cons: early hours, high caseload, poor management, job misrepresentation, money focused, poor pay
Place focuses on gaining new patients and collecting profit even when individuals are not fit for treatment. The management fails to adhere to basic ethical and legal requirements of the helping professions and shows little care or concern for its employees. High turnover rate. Poor pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great bosses
Psychiatric Intake Coordinator (Former Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 8, 2013
Pros: lunch, one hour, good management, patient advocates
Cons: did not take indigents
They genuinely cared for their clients, were well run, and followed all procedure to the tee. They helped many people in need of services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My clients are great.
Addictions Counselor (Current Employee), Fort Wayne, INSeptember 25, 2013
I work from 5am-1pm daily. My clients are great because they are voluntary and really want the help that I can provide.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Privatly owned Methadon/Suboxone treatment clinic
Drug and Alcohol Counselor Intern (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVAugust 10, 2013
A typical day would be to go in and manage a caseload of opiate dependent patients, by documenting any meeting with the patient, their treatments/dosing and to make sure that the patient was following their treatment plans.
I learned that Methadone/Suboxone in some cases may be necessary, but in my opinion isn't very affective.
Management didn't really – more... show patient care.
My co workers were very hardworking and seemed driven in their postions.
The hardest part of the job was being and Intern and having a caseload the size of two class rooms, but I tried my best.
The most enjoyable part was working in a clinical setting. It is where I decided I want to find a career in the medical field instead of in social work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, horrendous management.
Varying (Former Employee), IdahoApril 8, 2013
Pros: high pay
Cons: worst management
The only thing that kept me there was the fact that the pay was great and the job market in the area is terrible. My co-workers were amazing people and I miss them everyday but one person can only handle a certain amount of terrible management and psychological warfare on a daily basis. This would be a great company if it weren't for the fact that it – more... is run by people with no interpersonal skills. One of the top managers is the most micromanaging hypocrite I have ever met who will cry at the drop of a hat to manipulate their way out of the conversation right before turning any issue under discussion into your fault. Then, if it was a positive initiative it was miraculously their idea. The ideals are constantly differing between "you are in charge" and "you are a lowly peon" depending on what message management is trying to convey at that second. The high pay is tempting, but not worth to emotional damage it will cause. Remember, the employee is always wrong.

Note: When I state my job title is "varying" what I mean is "varying from day to day on the whim on my supervisor's mood". Seriously. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not treatment oriented, too census oriented
Staff (Former Employee), Northern NevadaDecember 6, 2012
Pros: able to gain experience
Cons: high turnover
For being an outpatient methadone clinic, the focus is not on treatment, it's more about keeping good census numbers. Management is good at a local clinic level but the company overall constantly changes expectations or policies. The company does not provide necessary resources to run a company. Staff has to supply their own computers but are required – more... to complete a large volume of paperwork. Caseloads are too large to effectively provide counseling and treatment which is why it's a position that will help you get your foot in the door but why there's also a high turnover rate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, met so many patients, fun and happy place to work.
Health Care Administration Externship (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 11, 2012
Pros: day went by fast.
Cons: short lunch
A typical day at work was signing in patients, processing payments, scheduling appointments, filing, verifying medical coverage, making patient charts,answering phones. What I learned during my 180 hours of extern: testing for drugs and pregancy test, scheduling appointments, verifying medical coverage, making patient charts. The management teams were – more... very nice and helpful and willing to train. Co-worker was very busy, very nice, helpful, fun to work with. The hardest part of the job was closing. The most enjoyable part of the job was the patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for me
LPN (Former Employee), Frankfort, KYJuly 3, 2012
Pros: salary pkg
Cons: terrible hours with little time off
I was lured in by the great salary and benefits, but after a few days I knew this was not going to work for me. I am by nature a loving and honest person. This wasn't going to be where I could be that. The upside is I had wonderful co workers, I hated leaving them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somewhat stressful...
Receptionist (Former Employee), Tucson, AZMay 27, 2012
A methadone clinic is a very intresting/hard place to work at. You really never know what type of person will walk in through the doors. Co-workers taught me alot about the program and how its helps people. I left there a better understanding and more compassion. Management not very easy to work with when they were never around or unable to get ahold – more... of them by phone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, Supportive, great team, friendly atmosphere
Clinical Manager (Former Employee), Manatee Memorial Hospital, Bradenton, FLApril 19, 2012
Pros: great pay, 3 miles from my house, 2-3 days /week; 6 hr days
Cons: they closed. i miss them all.
I was responsible for admitting, assessing, monitoring, and medical needs accomplished for 16 medically compromised geriatrics. I learned how important it is to sincerely show respect, compassion to each and every one. Offer positive feedback frequently, be approachable and personable. Management was available and also gave staff positive feedback. – more... I worked with an excellent team whom all had the common goal of insuring each client was glad to be there and would want to come back. The hardest part of the job was when the clients had to leave and advanced onto total nursing skilled facility situation. The most enjoyable was everyone made me feel so needed and verified everyday I was coming back the next day. – less