Find companies:
CenterPoint Energy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
59 reviews

CenterPoint Energy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best HR Department
Senior Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Houston, TexasApril 10, 2014
Pros: flexible work hours, opportunities for cross-training and advancement, stability/longevity, decent benefits package
Cons: pay could be a little higher
CenterPoint Energy's HR department is like no other. Each function is separate, allowing employees to be masterful within an area instead of spread too thin over many areas. The team environment is great, because everyone realizes they need the entire team to function as a productive unit. Employees are treated as people inside and outside of the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a hard worker!
System Protection Coordinator (Former Employee), MinneapolisFebruary 19, 2014
I offered office support for field techs. I used Microsoft office products daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Senior ReaderIII (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: work short hours at full time pay.
Cons: sometimes work long hours in all times of weather and in dangerous areas.
Great employer for a career, a lot of hardwork but manageable. For 13 years I enjoyed being there with the supervisors and co-workers. My job was challenging sometimes but with my experience I was able to make things easier for me and the guys I supervised.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no gym no perks to reward top tier workers
field service (Former Employee), TXJanuary 29, 2014
a typical day at work was completing about 50 service calls per day.i learned to be a professional driver.i also learned to be an outstanding communicator with customers.some of the managers were awesome,but then again several managers had no peolple skills what so ever and certainly should not have been in managemeny.most of my co workers were nice – more... fun to work with,of course there was a few bad apples.the hardest thing about my job was disconnecting elderly peolple on fixed incomes electric service during hot summer months in houston.the most enjoyable part of my job was meeting with my customers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OVERALL A GOOD COMPANY
Customer Service Representative/I.T. SUPPORT (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: money
Cons: management is mean
A TYPICAL DAY THERE IS PRETTY BUSY, YOUR ALWAYS WORKING VERY NICE EMPLOYESS AND GOOD ENVIROMENT, NOTHING HARD ABOUT IT, JUST ALOT OF TRAINING, ENJOYABLE PART OF THE JOB IS YOU GOOD BONUSES EVERY YEAR AND MONTHLY PRIZES
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Gas Controller I (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 30, 2013
Great place to learn about the Natural Gas Industry... Learned several aspects of the Distribution side of Natural Gas Business....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Customer Service Representative/Cashier (Current Employee), Lake Charles, LADecember 27, 2013
Pros: good hours, holidays off
Cons: being a contract worker no benefits nor holiday pay
Holidays company feed employees. If safety is met for the quarter food is prepared for employees. Pay is good. Customers are friendly. There are some days that are busy (example: 1st, 3rd and the 15th of the month). Learned how to read orders and remove disconnect orders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
SOC Operator (Current Employee), Houston, TXNovember 22, 2013
Good company to work for. Looking for a position that utilizes my education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, productive, and fun place to work.
Associate Engineering Technician (Current Employee), Houston, TXNovember 14, 2013
A typical day would consist of meeting with customers to discuss about how they can be served from the power grid. Then we take customer's load analysis, and architectural, electrical and structural drawings for our design to create a Terms and Conditions package including drawing plans and estimates to have the customer to review and approve. I would – more... have to say the hardest part of my job is to have the new customers comply with all of the requirements needed that are needed for new services, but the most enjoyable part of the job is that I get to do my job with wonderful people and being able to learn from them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high call volume call center
Customer Accounts Representative (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCNovember 5, 2013
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: low hours.
high volume call center utilities. Fast paced environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Associate Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Houston, TexasOctober 23, 2013
250+ calls a day maybe more come in. This is a great job to have it teaches you have structure. The hardest part of the job is trying to explain the reason for a power outage, and turn around time for restoration. The most enjoyable part of the job is you meet alot of different people, company parties, and overall corral.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Enviroment
Dispatcher 1 (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAOctober 2, 2013
Pros: assisting others
Cons: relocation
Great Job to help others and an great environment to work in. The hardest thing was when we experienced outages and cold weather in different states. Very high call volume and long hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Team Lead Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: incentives
Cons: weather
great job awesome benefits responsible for 30+ employees and safety meetings
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CHALLENGING
President/COO (Former Employee), LITTLE ROCK, ARSeptember 11, 2013
Pros: the challenge
Cons: non-productive associates
I LEARNED HOW HARD CHANGE IS ON A COMPANY. THE REALLY GOOD ASSOCIATES HAVE THE CHARACTER TO FOLLOW AND SUPPORT NEW STRATEGIES. MOST STAND IN THE MIDDLE NOT WANTING TO TAKE RISKS TO JOIN IN THE EFFORT UNTIL THEY FEEL THEIR JOB IS SAFE. THEN SOME IN AFFECT HOLD TO THE OLD STRATEGY AND CULTURE AND TRY TO DESTROY THE CHANGE EFFORT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Clerical Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TX 77002August 25, 2013
Pros: high energy
busy-high energy-good atmosphere to work in - co-workers are extended family easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clearing trouble tickets and helping coustomer/co workers in various areas.
Communication/Measurement Tech (Current Employee), Henderson, TXAugust 3, 2013
My typical work day consists of logging onto a company computer, driving a company vehicle to different locations, troubleshooting issues with meters to find out why they aren't working and communicating with the customer to find if they are getting their correct measurements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assist with customer inquiries and report gas leaks
Cusotmer Service Advisor (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 22, 2013
Pros: healthcare, location, and lunches
Cons: staying away from family when mandatory
*A typical day at work would consist of assisting with member billing inquiries,and report gas leaks.
*I learned how to diffsue a upset customer with lilttle or no supervision.
*Management and co workers were great.
*The hardest part of the job was being away from family when weather was bad.
*The most enjoyable part was management always tried to make – more... the workplace comfortable and would supply pizza,snacks and drinks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at times but can also be a little boring
Fitness Specialist (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 11, 2013
Pros: working out during breaks
Cons: lack of proper supervision
The typical word day consisted of helping CenterPoint employees with their fitness needs while maintaining a clean and orderly wellness center. I learn how to create exercise programs and how to conduct myself in a corporate environment. Many of my co workers had different tasks then me even though we had the same title. It was confusing on who was – more... actually the supervisor or boss. This made working there difficult at times due to the lack of proper supervision. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping employees reach their fitness goals and being able to work out during breaks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work under low supervision
meter reader (Former Employee), texarkana tx and texarkana arJuly 1, 2013
get to work and upload your rout and as long as you know you can finish your rout in the allotted time you can take break or lunch at anytime and as long as you need
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work while it was still open
o Lead Business Representative (Former Employee), Magnolia, ARJune 13, 2013
GREAT job! Until they closed my office in exchange for hideous call centers.

1 2 3

About CenterPoint Energy

CenterPoint Energy pivots around its core operations which include power and gas distribution utilities,¬†and natural gas pipeline, – Read more

CenterPoint Energy Photos