Centerpoint Medical Center Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 19 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at Work
PBX Operator (Former Employee) –  Independence, MOOctober 12, 2015
I transfer calls to the correct department and also dispatch medical personnel to the correct area. I answer all incoming calls to the hospital
Pros
Able to work by myself
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely sucks
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Independence, MOOctober 7, 2015
The management is horrible. Its all work,work,work no time off. Tons of attitude floating around. Full of drama. Nurses are b**ches,
Was this review helpful?Yes10No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kitchen ran smoothly except when computer shut down
Kitchen Helper/Florals for Cafeteria (Former Employee) –  Independence, MOAugust 10, 2015
Did dishes for patients, cleaned, pots and pans.Enjoyed my co-workers, made some good friends along the way. Always did my very best to accomplish what was required and needed for the job, I always finished my work
Pros
free lunch, Christmas Party, Christmas gift card, gift during employee week
Cons
this year shortened days off from 9 to 7
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Dietary Manager (Former Employee) –  Independence, MOMay 19, 2015
my boss was very caring I never worked anywhere the staff was so friendly and caring our chef was so knowledgeable and helpfull Ithink the hardest part of my job was being short handed and trying to fill positions I enjoyed most lunch break as Icould have a chanceto get to know my co-workers
Pros
free lunches and my boss telling me great job
Cons
sometimes being short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes16No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work and close to home
Pharmacy tech/Buyer (Current Employee) –  Independence,MoMay 11, 2015
I started my day at 5:30. I pulled narcotics, delivered meds to surgery suites that came up and a pyxis fill, checked to make sure all items were filled accordingly and checked for expired meds. At 7:00 began to fill the pyxis for all of the hospital. At 9:00 I filled the ortho bags needed for surgery, after that I did the packaging that was needed for the day. after lunch wrapped up the final things to be done for surgery that day. Filled first doses and a small cartfill. At Centerpoint we all were as a team and if someone else needed help wiith something we jump in to do whatever is needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
OFFICE COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Independence, MOMarch 9, 2015
I enjoyed working there during my employment. They had lots of activities for their employees. I wouldn't mind working there again in the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge cultural divide between new and veteran nurses.
Registered Nurse, Leadership Team (Former Employee) –  Independence, MOFebruary 25, 2015
Brand new gorgeous facility with the latest technology being run by and staffed with veteran RN's who are resistant to change and endorse the stereotype of, nurses eat their young.
Pros
huge cafeteria discount
Cons
low starting payscale, no union representation
Was this review helpful?Yes23No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Volunteer Patient Intake, Same-Day-Surgery (Current Employee) –  Independence, MOFebruary 4, 2015
Health care professionals are caring and customer service is excellent. Patient care is excellent. Customer service is stressed. Staff works together. Management cares about the employees. Safe place to work. Volunteers are a plus and they are treated with respect. Staff is encourage to give input and there ideas are implemented when possible. Parking for staff is excellent.
Pros
great work place
Cons
more staff needed
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with.
Athletic Trainer (Current Employee) –  Independence, MOOctober 19, 2014
Athletic Trainer responsible for the care, treatment, and prevention of athletic related injuries.

Average day consists of taping and or taking athletes through their rehabilitative program before covering practices and or games for the evening. I cover a local high school so I am the only ATC on site, but I have co-workers that cover other local high schools in the area for support.
Pros
summers off
Cons
low pay, no opportunity for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer for clinical staff
Patient Access (Former Employee) –  Independence, MOJuly 25, 2014
I worked in patient access both as a staff member as well as management. While nursing and physician skill is top notch, the corporate culture is lacking if you are not clinical staff. Pay is the same, nursing paid well, support staff are quite under paid and under appreciated.
Pros
benefits to include hra and stock options, opportunity to help community
Cons
low pay, bad work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes21No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers
Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee) –  Independence, MOJanuary 28, 2014
You always worked as a team. At the end of rounds everyone checked on one another before going on break.
Pros
education
Was this review helpful?Yes23No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place
staff nurse (Former Employee) –  Independence, MONovember 8, 2013
Great supervisors. hard work but nurses are easy get along with there.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a friendly or welcoming environment
Tech (Current Employee) –  IndependenceJanuary 15, 2013
To many unfriendly ppl you would think if you work with patients and are supposed to care about ppl that some of the nurses and other techs would be friendly and welcoming to there co-workers...not so much here. The bad out weighs the good.
Pros
fast paced
Cons
better training on employee conduct with another
Was this review helpful?Yes38No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a nice place to work.
Surgical Technologist (Current Employee) –  Independence, MONovember 13, 2012
The facility is new so there are alot of "cool" technological/advance equipment!
Was this review helpful?Yes14No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, with little down time
rn (Former Employee) –  Independence, MONovember 11, 2012
a typical 12 hour shift will allow you only a 30 minute break. fast paced with lots of doctors giving orders all at once.
Pros
some co workers willing to help
Cons
very clicky staff, have to watch your back, very fast paced with few breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes27No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not employee friendly
Staff Therapist (Former Employee) –  Independence MOJuly 5, 2012
Although there are many awesome employees there is a major problem with Managment
Cons
many
Was this review helpful?Yes34No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work.
Patient Registrar (Former Employee) –  Independence, MOMay 24, 2012
Really enjoyed working in the hospital setting, the employees, and most importantly really enjoyed meeting and helping all the different, new people who would come in to the hospital each day.
Pros
patients and the other employees
Cons
unfortunately, i was unable to take scheduled vacations, due to the director constantly changing her mind.
Was this review helpful?Yes25No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Fast Pace to Work
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Independence, MOMay 9, 2012
Face to Face contact with patients. Little down time. Constant computer use and paperwork.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No9

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.6
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.4
Culture
2.6

Centerpoint Medical Center Reviews by Location