Find companies:
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
34 reviews

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Net Developer (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 27, 2014
Working in Public Health is very gratifying. Very professional work Environment, you really feel your making a difference in peoples lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Attended graduate school while also working for NIOSH
Pathways Intern (Former Employee), Morgantown, WVAugust 19, 2014
My opportunity at NIOSH provided me with ample experience in occupational safety and health. The best part of working for NIOSH is that I was allowed to attend West Virginia University to earn my Master in Public Health.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was at CDC for a tenure of 9 years as an FTE.
Coordinator for Public Inquiries Department (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 18, 2014
Pros: holiday schedule of paid holidays / benefits / federal status
Cons: buyout for my job series 318
CDC was the best job I could have ever imagined, the moral was high. Work flow was always consistent and team leads were very professional and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reviewing life of students with a lower SES
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 14, 2014
I was responsible for going into Philadelphia high schools and administering Youth Risk/Behavior Surveys to the students. It was very interesting to see how staff and students acted in locations where the poverty level was high and socioeconomic status was low. I learned a great deal about the school system and it helped me write my capstone, 80 page – more... grant paper on students with PTSD. The hardest part of my job was getting the students to focus and listen to directions. It was challenging to persuade the students that even though the survey was optional that it would benefit them and future students of their school. I ultimately enjoyed gaining the experience of working with adolescents in a lower SES location. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great agency to work for!
Public Health Associate (Current Employee), Troy, MOJuly 3, 2014
The PHAP program is a wonderful program for recently graduated students who would like to pursue a career in public health. Great on-the-job training and great benefits!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security but lack of career growth in laboratory
Molecular Microbiologist (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 1, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: no career development
Although I am hesitant to write an open "review" on this page, I would be happy to discuss my experience in person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Team Work Environment
PUBLIC HEALTH ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Hillsborough, North CarolinaJune 27, 2014
The past year at as a fellow per the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has been amazing. I've met so many awesome people, and I've learned how important it is to network and build a brand. The most enjoyable part of this job is the supportive staff. The hardest part of the job was getting accustomed to the chain of command and keeping up with – more... the flow of mandated materials per the federal government. All in all this experience has been enjoyable. This opportunity allowed me to work in the field as a public health associate, and implement change in my community. I'm forever grateful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Secretary II (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 5, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: transferring from a contract position to a full time position is difficult
During my time working for CDC as a contractor was able to learn how the Federal Government work. I am hoping to gain a full time permanent with CDC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent and diverse work opportunities
SENIOR CONTRACT SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 25, 2014
Pros: always an opportunity to learn
Numerous contract activities offering diversity in procurements handled on a daily basis. Offers opportunities to learn new something different each day. Working within different environmental and research projects offered both challenges and rewards
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Transportation Assistant (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 11, 2014
Pros: benfits
Cons: nones
Not appliation
Great places
Great Benfits
Good Job Culture
Life Balances
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Culture
Research Fellow (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 15, 2014
The supervisors and co-workers are very supportive. The work is interesting and informative.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Division and learning opportunities
Senior Trainer (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 5, 2014
Enjoyed learning about the work. Great support from leadership to be creative and learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interesting workplace.
RN- Public Health Analyst and Health Specialist (Current Employee), Tempe, AZJanuary 31, 2014
I learn something new everyday and I always enjoy learning new CDC guidelines and recommendations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Support
Administrative Support (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJanuary 8, 2014
A typical day would be around a computer performing data entry and filing. My co-workers are very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very insular
Mapping Scientist / Program Analyst (Former Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 30, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: insular
It's a government job with a fair amount of obtuse overhead demands on your time. Some of the groups a very proprietary about their information and hard to work with.
It can be a hard cultural working environment if you don't have an MD or PhD even if you do have an advanced degree.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most employees are friendly and a pleasure to work with
Contractor - Program Operations Assistant (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 26, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: long hours
Most employees take full responsibility for their roles. Most positions require a heavy work load that can be done with hard work and concentration. Management is fair, coworkers are knowledgeable and skilled in their roles. The hardest part of the job is trying to finish everything in one day - not possible no matter how late you work. So balancing – more... work and personal life can be difficult. The most enjoyable part is the staff and department meetings so that it's easy to determine where your role fits into the puzzle. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Intern during undergraduate education
Student Internship (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 22, 2013
Excellent environment for any budding scientist. Awe-inspiring individuals making a difference in the world with breakthrough science investigation and research.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
TSI Contractor (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 16, 2013
this is a great agency to work for. It's exciting and rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is what it is
ORISE Fellow (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 29, 2013
Pros: ample opportunities to learn, relatively laid back atmosphere, most people love what they do
Cons: bureaucracy, hiring freeze, politics related to hiring
I spent 4 years as an ORISE Fellow at CDC immediately following grad school and it definitely was not what I expected. It wasn't horrifying, but it wasn't the great, career building/changing experience I was expecting. It was decidedly mediocre. Unfortunately, the supervisory and mentorship aspects of the fellowship was neglected. There was very little – more... planning as far as my projects were concerned and no one was really concerned with any sort of learning or career development even when I initiated discussion. I believe all of my mentors/supervisors had the best of intentions, but none of them actually knew how to be mentors or supervisors. There was never any discussion of the career or skills I had prior to starting at CDC (I worked in my field in the private sector for nearly 8 years before going to grad school) or any discussion of goals or plans I had after my fellowship. I learned the FTE application process on my own because none of my mentors or supervisors explained it to me or really had any concern about whether I found an FTE position. I also found most of the trainings and educational experiences on my own. As my fellowship closed, the only interest in my future was whether or not I was looking for a job. Several of the other ORISE Fellows I know who were hired at the same time I was have similar stories.

I think my CDC experience would have been far better in any of the other fellowships CDC offers (PMF, Associate/Senior Service, APHA, Prevention Effectiveness, etc) but ORISE Fellows are essentially contractors, not fellows. Other fellowships require a certain amount of formal guidance, training, career development, etc. This is not true for the ORISE Fellowship. It is completely dependent upon how your mentors/supervisors decide to handle your fellowship so some fellows get more direction and support, others get none. Similar things occur with teleworking agreements and time off. Some supervisors allow regular teleworking and huge amounts of time off, others would never let a fellow out of their sight for more than the 2 weeks stated in the contract with ORISE.

My advice to other older graduate students who have work experience, a traditional federal government contractor situation will offer far better pay and definitely more ownership over your projects and career than an ORISE Fellowship will. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Office of the Director (Current Employee), Atlanta, GeorgiaMarch 14, 2013
Pros: all federal holidays off
Cons: federal budget
A typical for the federal government can be summed up to BUSY.